Show ratings & reviews for

3.5 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

54 People found this comment helpful

I have had very good results with this medication. I am a crohn's disease patient and so also get duodenal ulcers and have had a GI hemorrhage which was also treated with pantoprazole. I am also a practical Nurse with 20yrs experience. One thing I would like to address is the comments regarding the generic versions of the medication. A generic MUST have exactly the same medicinal ingredient as...

Most voted negative review

5 People found this comment helpful

Was on this medication for (40mg 2X a day) month everything was fine and what a relief then broke out in rash on fore arms and chest, I felt terrible stopped taking it cold turkey and am trying to solve with gaviscon. Not working I don't know where else to go all this medication makes me feel ill.

Shared reviews and ratings

Jeremy | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
8/13/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Gastritis. I was diagnosed with Gastritis and ibs and celiac disease. I cut out all gluten, and changed my diet to a nothing below a ph of 5 diet (low acid, more alkaline diet). Still was having stomach bloating and burning. Was put on 40mg once a day of Pantoprazole. Started to help immediately with the bloating and burning. Within a couple weeks I started having some skin issues, ear lobes were cracking, arms were flaking and dry. But I didn’t want to stop taking it because it really helped my stomach. I could tell it was healing finally. So I asked to cut the dose. New script of 20mg a day, and I put aloe on my skin everyday and I’m good. Ear lobes are normal again, my skin is dry but after pure aloe off of Amazon it’s fine all day. I use dove soap when I shower so it dosent dry my skin to bad, and I’m making it work, I’ve tried Pepcid AC, didn’t do anything for stomach hit gave me heart palpitations. Try Nexium, made me crazy, and depressed. Pantoprazole dosent affect me mentally, and it works on my stomach. Not more bloat. I can deal with putting on lotion once a day to be able to eat again. Don’t listen to all the bad reviews, eveyone is different. Most people won’t leave a good review when a med works. They are just happy the problem is fixed and they forget about it and go back to their lives Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Regretful | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/8/2022
Condition: Excessive Production of Stomach Acid
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had basically eliminated my reflux when I bought an adjustable bed. My Dr. Wanted me to take this as a precaution against esophageal swelling. After a week of this drug I had worse reflux than I ever had. I read reviews on it and most people were having problems so I stopped taking it. A month later and I still have throat pain from acids. I'm worried it won't go away. Please consider the risks before taking this drug.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jeff | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/7/2022
Condition: Heartburn
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took Pantoprazole for almost 10 weeks. The 1st few weeks the med worked pretty good for my heartburn/gerd, but that was all of the good news. Starting around week 5 I started having bad gas, burping, constipation, nausea... along with loss of appetite. These side effects were also accompanied by anxiety, dizziness and depression that were pretty severe. I stopped the medicine 5 days ago and the anxiety and dizziness are starting to get better and my stomach is also returning to normal. NOT A GOOD MED for me!!!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mariah | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/20/2022
Condition: Increased Stomach Acid from Systemic Mastocytosis
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Run don’t walk from this. It helped my stomach but gave me sever anxiety. Feeling I can’t explain. Like I was going crazy. I took it for 8 weeks and it got worse. I felt like I was crazy. Like I wanted to scream help me. It was nuts. I stopped it on my own. Went to Zantac it was back on the market and it helped my stomach. It took about 3 weeks but each day I started feeling better and better. I would never ever take this again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Colorado | Female | Patient
6/17/2022
Condition: Medication Treatment for Healing Erosive Esophagitis
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Protonix/pantoprazole worked great. However, I noticed I started gaining weight after several months. I made excuses for the weight gain but realized I wasn't eating much and was still gaining weight. When I gained 25 lbs after being on pantoprozole after a few years I couldn't take it any more. The weight gain was out of control and made me depressed. I decided recently to get off pantoprozole and go back to pepcid ac. I have no idea how long it is going to take me to lose all this weight from taking this medication. I hope in the next 6 months I see some weight loss. Be careful taking this medication. Some doctors will swear it doesn't cause weight while googling Protonix you will find it actually does. Wish I read on this site where someone else had weight gain from this medication and how long it took to lose it after getting off of it. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mary | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
6/11/2022
Condition: Inflammation of the Esophagus with Erosion
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started pantoprazole 11 months ago for Barretts/Gerd. I was diagnosed by 2 different doctors and prescribed pantoprazole. I have experienced extreme heart palpitations, horrible nausea, liver and kidney aches and extreme high blood pressure. Not wanting my Barretts to get worse, I have stayed on the drug. Wanting a third opinion and feeling pantoprazole was making me sicker I went to San Francisco (UCSF) for a third opinion. I don't have Barretts according to UCSF. I'm furious these two small town doctors misdiagnosed me! Hence I have been slowing getting off pantoprazole. Now, one month later...I have no nausea or any other issues I had in taking pantoprazole. Please read carefully the side effects of this drug, especially if your a women over 60 years of age as far as heart palpitations. I've had two major heart tests this past year due to severe heart palpitations from this drug. As both tests showed my heart was perfect, I feel heathy for the first time in 11 months because I'm totally off pantoprazole. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Missroe | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
6/8/2022
Condition: Increased Stomach Acid from Systemic Mastocytosis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been on this medication for nearly 2 years eating whatever I want with no heartburn at all. Love it!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | Patient
4/29/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been taking this medication for years because of a hyena hernia I don't know if it's good for me or not cuz somebody tell me

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Brittany | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/23/2022
Condition: Condition in which Stomach Acid is Pushed Into the Esophagus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

If your like me and dead the reviews don’t, obviously a lot of people who had bad experiences which is a small amount. Super helpful. I’ve been on the medication for under a month and absolutely no issues at all. Literally within the second day I had no acid reflux no heartburn. 10/10 recommend

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
W | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/11/2022
Condition: Heartburn
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is the worst drug I've ever taken. It's caused me ongoing stomach pain, extreme joint pain feeling like I had just run a marathon, fatigue, extreme anxiety and depression, brain fog, loss of concentration and lightheadedness.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
LilyC | 55-64 | Female | Patient
4/11/2022
Condition: Condition in which Stomach Acid is Pushed Into the Esophagus
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Originally prescribed 40mg delayer release for GERD. Wanted me to take it days on end for yrs. PPI's are not meant for yrs. I had reaction (in my 60's w progressive M.S. & seizures). This med gave me severe vertigo, hives, stomach swelling. Throw out closet. Then was put on Famotidine for yrs. Ended up in E.D. with intestinal bleed. Famotidine can cause colitis & Pantoprazole can cause C-Diff intestinal bleed. I am appalled in E.D. they actually put this in my I.V. drip w/o asking me and for what? I wasn't in there for heartburn. I had G.I. bleed. I got immediately sicker. I didn't know until 2 weeks later they put it in my I.V. Do not allow Drs to take control of your meds when they don't even ask you what you can and can't take.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kidney stone | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/7/2022
Condition: Condition in which Stomach Acid is Pushed Into the Esophagus
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have taken Pantoprazole 40mg for two years. Worked great for stomach acid. However, recently diagnosed with a 4mm kidney stone caused by the long term use. Stopped using Pantoprazole.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sean | 19-24 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/18/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

2 psychiatric stays, Panic attacks and a suicide attempt from this med. I was put on this med for mild gastritis. I already had mild anxiety. Nothing like this though. I was hospitalized for a panic attack that I thought was the fault of esotalipram but it was the pantoprazole. I have been having severe anxiety since then and have had TWO stays to a psych ward because of the amount of anxiety and suicidal thoughts this med has given me. I was perfectly functioning before. Run far away from this drugRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
FJB | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
3/7/2022
Condition: Medication Treatment for Healing Erosive Esophagitis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on Pantoprazole 20mg for almost 2 years and it works terrifically! I can eat whatever I want, whenever I want without experiencing any acid reflux! The only side effect from the medication that I noticed is a little insomnia here and there, but nothing that I can’t tolerate.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
FJB | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
2/7/2022
Condition: Inflammation of the Esophagus with Erosion
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been on Pantoprazole 20mg 2x daily for a little over a year now for an eroded esophagus and GERD. This medication works great!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jc | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/18/2021
Condition: Increased Stomach Acid from Systemic Mastocytosis
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I only used one 40mg tablet, it feels like if I been poised, I ilusinate like n person on bad drugs, I never take any meds from any one, that want to help me, pls remove this product of the market, it will killed pasients

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
katie | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/31/2021
Condition: Medication Treatment for Healing Erosive Esophagitis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have a hiatal hernia and have been taking generic Protonix for several years. I haven't had any side effects. It helps my heartburn, I watch what I eat, nothing that would give me heartburn which is only a few foods.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Edi Fairchild | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/5/2021
Condition: Medication Treatment for Healing Erosive Esophagitis
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Helped decrease acid reflux but made me miserable. It gave me insomnia and is still making my hair fall out even after not taking it for 30 days. My hair continues to fall out at an alarming rate every time i touch it or try to comb it. How long will it take to stop falling out? My hair is already fine but at this point I think I'll have to go get a couple of wigs or a hat just to go out in public. I am very disappointed this side effect was not toward the top of the list. Had to dig deep to uncover it.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Vicki Wendt | 75 or over | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/7/2021
Condition: Increased Stomach Acid from Systemic Mastocytosis
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Didn't reduce my stomach acid..to prevent an ulcer. Still having stomach pain. I had another generic that worked very well.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/20/2021
Condition: eosinophilic inflammation of the esophagus
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Works well, no real side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More