Show ratings & reviews for

1.5 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

6 People found this comment helpful

Had been on Advair for 10 yrs and gladly switched 5/2019 as my out of pocket limit was going way up under new plan. Same drugs and dosage but the delivery to the system seems less effective. With Advair I could miss a dose or be a few hours late and I wouldnâ??t even notice it. Now, I need to be really careful to take it exactly 12 hrs apart as thereâ??s no margin.Also I think I have to be more c...

Most voted negative review

2 People found this comment helpful

I find the mouth piece difficult to use. It does not seem like I am inhaling enough of the medication.

Shared reviews and ratings

Gail | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
7/25/2021
Condition: Bronchospasm Prevention with COPD
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This product is a waste of money. It simply doesn't work well.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MichaelDevlin | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/23/2021
Condition: Controller Medication for Asthma
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am using this Wixela generic 500/50 twice a day for approximately 3 months now and I dont see any difference comparing to Advair. It’s the exact same but better for my pocket, it is much cheaper

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Emmathompson | Female | Patient
7/23/2021
Condition: Controller Medication for Asthma
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Kaiser switched me from Advair onto Wixela about two years ago and I haven’t looked back since. Easy to use and doesn’t get clogged like my old one.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Diane | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/9/2021
Condition: Controller Medication for Asthma
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on Advir for a couple of years and was doing really well. Kaiser substituted Wixela for the Advir, so I had no choice but to use it. After a month or so on the Wixela, I noticed that I was short of breath on my usual walks and suffered bouts of hoarseness so extreme that I could barely talk. I got my doctor to special order the Advir for me and after only a week, I am back to feeling well again. There is no way that Wixela is the same -- not sure what they added or subtracted from the Advir formula, but it is not comparable. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/14/2021
Condition: Controller Medication for Asthma
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Absolute garbage. Can't believe it needs a prescription. Doesn't work at all. You would be better off inhaling baking powder. Going back to breo when my insurance kicks in.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Vicky | 45-54 | Patient
6/5/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Started it three months ago and have been steadily getting sicker , multiple episode of bronchitis worsening asthma cold sweats pounding heart irregular heart rate can’t walk ten ft without being out of breath . Has taken me weeks to find a dr that finally believed me that there was something wrong with the inhaler . Of course I have to now specially order another inhaler because Kaiser went all in with wixela . Worst experience I’ve ever had with an asthma medication .

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Babs | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/1/2021
Condition: Bronchospasm Prevention with COPD
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

So far it works for me in easing my ability to breathe (in cold weather).. But that's counterproductive considering the side-effects that I have to deal with: Increase of my A1C level; oral thrush, UTI, elevated liver enzymes, occasional acid-reflux with inability to swallow, facial/jaw pain (possible onset of TMJ), thighs stiff. Quite a change from six months prior. These issues I didn't even have until I started this med back in February 2021.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JohnPaul | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
5/27/2021
Condition: Controller Medication for Asthma
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

No side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Pam | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
5/10/2021
Condition: Bronchospasm Prevention with COPD
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is the 4th medication I have taken for my COPD, and is by far the best. I do not have the issues others are talking about. I was exacerbating about once every six weeks on my last medication and have not exacerbated since I started taking Wixela. Extra bonus my O2 saturation normal is up.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cindy | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/3/2021
Condition: Prevention of Bronchospasm with Chronic Bronchitis
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Kaiser switched me to Wixela after taking Dulera for years, four days of use and I am coughing, wheezing, clearing throat. Awful medication!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cynthia | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/3/2021
Condition: Prevention of Bronchospasm with Chronic Bronchitis
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have been on Dulera for years, Kaiser changed everyone over to the Wixela and four days in, started wheezing, coughing, clearing throat. Now need to use emergency inhaler that I have not used for years.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kathi | 55-64 |
4/19/2021
Condition: Controller Medication for Asthma
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Kaiser replaced my Advair which I have been on for at least 10 years. I have been using Wixela for the last 6 weeks. I gave it a good trial period. In the first two weeks I noticed a difference. Clearing my throat and coughing more. Now I’m back to using my rescue inhaler during exercise and at night. I feel chest tightness. I have not have any symptoms for years. Does not even compare to Advair. People in the testing period could not have possibly given this drug a pass in the lab. Totally disappointed and need to now fight for my Advair from KaiserRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tammi | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/18/2021
Condition: Controller Medication for Asthma
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Kaiser switched to wixila so I was forced to use it. It did not work, with advair I rarely used my emergency inhaler. With wixila I had to use it at least 5 times a day. I insisted on going back to advair, I just have to special order now. My breathing is important so I don't care the price.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cavegirl | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/14/2021
Condition: Controller Medication for Asthma
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

At urgent care. This is the third time I’ve tried Wixela instead of advair. Kept thinking it must be the same... it’s not.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Richie 3d | 75 or over | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/12/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ve been on this for 1 week and feel just awful, my original complaint was in the cold I had chest tightness, ,I feel absolutely no different.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
scooby67 | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/31/2021
Condition: Controller Medication for Asthma
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had to switch to generic Wixela because my insurance didn't want to pay for name brand Advair. Since I went on the Wixela, my asthma had gotten worse. I've been weezing and had to use my rescue inhaler. I still had some doses of Advair left from a previously filled prescription and went back on that to see if what I was experiencing was accurate. I felt much better the next day, so there is something definitely wrong with this generic formula. There is no way this is the equivalent to Advair. It needs to be pulled off the market. This is going to end up killing some people who have asthma. Reporting this medication to FDA.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
barbara | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/31/2021
Condition: Controller Medication for Asthma
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been an Advair user for two decades, and have never had issues. I used this inhaler and I found I was worse than before I used it... it did not relieve symptoms, and in fact has made me feel like my lungs were shutting down. Dramatically different than the Advair. I dont believe I'm imagining this - although I know the Wixela claims to have the exact ingredients - fluticasone propionate and salmeterol powder.But it makes me concerned as to its true efficacy.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
3/12/2021
Condition: Controller Medication for Asthma
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It is not effective. Did not control my symptoms and I feel actually made them eorsr

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kelly | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/6/2021
Condition: Controller Medication for Asthma
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Awful, doesn't work. On advair for years no issues, Dr changed me to this and I'm having asthma issues daily. Calling the FDA to file a complaint. It needs to be taken off the market!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tami | 35-44 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/6/2021
Condition: Controller Medication for Asthma
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been on Advair for years started taking this medication this month and it doesnâ??t work Iâ??m not sure if itâ??s the poor design of how the medicine disperses but it doesnâ??t work. I get tight by the time for the next dose and have had to use my rescue inhaler.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More