Show ratings & reviews for

3.2 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

14 People found this comment helpful

I was lucky enuff to come across a Docs comments on the Web who has been using this drug on his patients with a great amount of success. I followed his regimen exactly and it has worked great for me so far. Here is what I did: 1: Dosage: .5 mg. Get a pill splitter (Wal-Mart has a good one) so you can get exact, even cuts. I have the 2 mg. size tabs that I split into 4 pieces perfectly.This .5m...

Most voted negative review

7 People found this comment helpful

I've been taking 2mg every day for 6 weeks. The first week I was delighted -- 2 BMs in one week! I've suffered constipation my whole life (40 years) and this was the first med that worked -- at least it worked for that one week. I had the 3rd BM a week later; the 4th 2 weeks later, and this was only after going back to taking Mirilax every night. Same again 2 weeks later. My extreme bloating has n...

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | Patient
10/3/2022
Condition: Chronic Difficulty having a Bowel Movement
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This should not be given to people with a history of chronic migraines. One dose and with in an hour I had one of the most severe migraines I have ever had. My pain is at a 10 and none of my rescue medications is working to combat this. I will have to ride it out until this is out of my system. I will never take this medication again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Larry | 75 or over | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/16/2022
Condition: Chronic Difficulty having a Bowel Movement
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Started taking motegrity about one week ago and it has not been effective.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MRE | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/22/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Finally a medication that works. So far no side effects. I have tried every medication out there and this hands down is the BEST.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jennifer | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/19/2022
Condition: Chronic Difficulty having a Bowel Movement
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Severe headaches days after taking first pill. Terrible cramping, fatigue, chills. Never again will I take take this pill. I'll stick with my linzess.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | Patient
7/8/2022
Condition: Chronic Difficulty having a Bowel Movement
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Coming from someone who has tried so many different medications (Linzess, Amitiza, etc) this one WORKS. It takes about a week or two to get used to but once you figure out how your bowels react to it, it’s life changing. I experienced a little bit of cramping but it really makes you go regularly. No straining either. Definitely give it a shot!! I didn’t experience headaches like some others have said. This has been amazing.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
TMC2585 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/26/2022
Condition: Chronic Difficulty having a Bowel Movement
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started using this medication less than a month ago. Although it did work, I experienced every single side affect that is on the list. I am going to continue it to see how I feel in a few weeks. I have been hospitalized several times because of constipation and how bad it gets and NOTHING works for me. I am hoping that the side affects calm down a little bit so I can continue.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tina | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/23/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm a 50 year old woman that has suffered from IBS-C all my life. Recently I started taking daily Miralax (1T) and started a probiotic. Though this helped my have more frequent BM's 4-5/wk, it did nothing to help my frequent IBS pain (left lower abdomen & sever bloating). My GI doctor wanted me to try Motegrity, but honestly the "potential" side effects scared me and some of the reviews. After getting past this apprehension, I started taking 1/2 of a 2mg tablet at bedtime (as one reviewer said she had done). It's been 3.5 wks since starting the medication and I only had a ibs pain/bloat episode the first 2 days of taking the medication, which hardly had time to be effective in 2 days. Since then, no ibs pain and a daily BM (not diarrhea either). I'm so very happy I tried this medication!!! I've had no side effects either. After using all my samples, now my insurance company does not want to cover a perscription and wants me to try Linzess first prior to approval. I've tried that medication in the past without success. I'm so frustrated that now that I've found my "miracle gi pill" I may no be able to continue due to my insurance company. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Luara | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/18/2022
Condition: Chronic Difficulty having a Bowel Movement
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug works very well - complete and easy bms. The problem is it causes CRUSHING and SEVERE suicidal ideation. Like the most suffocating depression you can imagine. So - use with caution, especially if you have a history of mental illness or have reacted badly to SSRIs in the past. It is no joke. In my opinion you should let someone you trust know you are starting this drug because it is that serious.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
1/28/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I struggled with constipation all my life. After normal bowels for over a year after having my daughter I had a particularly bad time with severe nausea bloating, gas and you guessed it! Constipation. It seemed my good luck was running out and the constipation seemed to be steadily increasing. After taking the 2mg trial - it made the bloating and distention worse. Also the nausea and headache is pretty brutal. Tbh, it only worked for 3 days but each day that has progressed I went less and less. I hate meds that make you dependent on taking them, hate even more that it made my constipation worse. At this rate it's been maybe a week since my last official bowel movement and I had to take laxatives, do yoga for digestive help, and was conscious of having a balanced diet. Its like my intestines seem to have stalled out after taking this, the "mobility"/parastalsis doesnt happen without it and my stomach just doesn't know how to work normally anymore. I'm very sad about this. Skip it. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Grateful | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
9/5/2021
Condition: Chronic Difficulty having a Bowel Movement
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I originally started taking this in 2012 when I was experiencing severe smelly gas and constipation. It worked beautifully for helping me have complete, well-formed bowel movements. I no longer need it consistently as I rely on more gentle, natural treatments. But sometimes my system gets really thrown off and motegrity comes to the rescue to get me back on track. The first night whenever I go back to taking it I get a headache and insomnia. It only lasts one night and the benefits feel worth it. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tom | 75 or over | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/13/2021
Condition: Chronic Difficulty having a Bowel Movement
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug work for the constipation, but the stomach cramps and pain were excessive for days after use. Stopped taking after two weeks. Will be switching to another laxative.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Barbara | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
8/1/2020
Condition: Chronic Difficulty having a Bowel Movement
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Taking truLance And motegrity Plus dulcolax and fleet glycerin enemas in am. Sienna and MiraLAX at night. After all of this I generally fully evacuate but lots of am nausea and cramps. Since I have treatment resistant constipation and had felt ill all day every day, it’s worth it

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Barbara | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
8/1/2020
Condition: Chronic Difficulty having a Bowel Movement
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Taking truLance And motegrity Plus dulcolax and fleet glycerin enemas in am. Sienna and MiraLAX at night. After all of this I generally fully evacuate but lots of am nausea and cramps. Since I have treatment resistant constipation and had felt ill all day every day, it’s worth it

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Frustrated | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/22/2020
Condition: Chronic Difficulty having a Bowel Movement
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Gave me deadly Diarrhea with horrible dehydration. 1 of the most horrible laxatives I have ever taken.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Harry | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/6/2020
Condition: Chronic Difficulty having a Bowel Movement
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was lucky enuff to come across a Docs comments on the Web who has been using this drug on his patients with a great amount of success. I followed his regimen exactly and it has worked great for me so far. Here is what I did: 1: Dosage: .5 mg. Get a pill splitter (Wal-Mart has a good one) so you can get exact, even cuts. I have the 2 mg. size tabs that I split into 4 pieces perfectly.This .5mg dose not only works great but the side effects have been minimal. I have a slight headache the next day. Just slight, not a big deal. That has been my only side effect. I have great motility again and have a complete, smooth BM which I haven't had in years. 2. Only take on an empty stomach before bed and at least 4 hours minimum since you last ate anything. this is key, VERY important. 3. For best effectiveness try to get 12-13 hours before you eat again. 4. This is a VERY powerful drug and I have found that you don't have to take it everyday. Right now I've had good success with every other day. 5. Don't be afraid to experiment. If, after a few days .5 mg.doesn't appear to be working try 1 mg. But from what I have read and from my experience .5 mg. works very well for the majority. Good luck.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/2/2020
Condition: Chronic Difficulty having a Bowel Movement
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Initially was somewhat helpful but became ineffective over a few weeks. Caused severe headache for me, as well as suicidal thoughts.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
poopy | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/10/2019
Condition: Chronic Difficulty having a Bowel Movement
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Made me incredibly ill just a couple hours after first dose, insomnia, sweats, muscle spasms, nausea, etc. Had BM the next morning, and everyday after... so it works- still hoping I'll adjust

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
festusdog | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/30/2019
Condition: Chronic Difficulty having a Bowel Movement
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Daily use for 7 weeks. A little results for first 10 days, but NO results since and VERY severe gas, bloating, abdominal pain from this. Not going to refill for 3rd time. Hence, did not work for me at all.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mlapi | 19-24 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/24/2019
Condition: Chronic Difficulty having a Bowel Movement
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After taking linzess for 2 years, it finally became ineffective. My doctor sent me home with a sample of this and trulance. After mediocre results from the trulance I moved on to this. The first night it took it I woke from a dead sleep drenched in sweat and in so much pain I was afraid I was going to have to go to the hospital. It was so painful that I was sure my appendix had ruptured or something as major as that. I also had an awful headache that I canâ??t shake. Itâ??s been 24 hours since Iâ??ve taken it and Iâ??m still so bloated and in so much pain any time I eat. Iâ??ve never felt any pain like this before and pray I never do again! I know this sounds extremely dramatic but it gave me some comfort to see reviews that showed symptoms like mine werenâ??t uncommon. Hopefully Iâ??ll be â??recoveredâ?? in the next few day. Yikes. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
es | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/29/2019
Condition: Chronic Difficulty having a Bowel Movement
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Causes extreme and I mean extreme excessive gas! Its so uncomfortable! Does not work that great.. I would not recommend at all.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More