Show ratings & reviews for

3.8 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

45 People found this comment helpful

This drug has literally saved my life. (and the lives of my family). I was down on myself and treated others badly. I had anger issues and was very unhappy and I didn't know why. This drug has made my mood swings go away and I feel more in control. I am now a very happy person and can deal with everyday life and the challenges it brings. I have a son with ADHD and I am now more patient with hi...

Most voted negative review

12 People found this comment helpful

I just started this drug an hour ago (20mg) and I noticed my jaws starting to hurt and a slight headache. I'm falling asleep reading the reviews. I was feeling fine just before taking the medication. I hope I sleep tonight. Is this just happening to me?

Shared reviews and ratings

Sabine | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/31/2022
Condition: Panic Disorder
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i started taking prozac 23 days ago..... and to be honest the first week was super hard, i suffered from nausea, dizziness, flu like symptoms and i wasn't able to get out of bed..... now after 23 days i can tell that i feel much better ..... this medication literally helped me get through my panic and anxiety disorder

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Michelle | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/28/2022
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

So far so good! I have been on it for 23 days. I am taking 40mg.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kayla | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/20/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

NOT FOR PEOPLE WHO HAVE PANIC ATTACKS. I put my reason for taking this medication as depression but it was actually anxiety. I have medication anxiety in addition to a mild panic disorder (1-2 panic attacks a month) at the time, and i say at the time because taking this medication caused my mild panic disorder to become a full-blown panic disorder (3-4 panic attacks per week that were way more intense than before) after taking the first and only dose i ever took. in addition to my GAD & panic disorder, i have medication anxiety. i had tried lexapro before this medication & got just about every side effect possible after the first dose which made my medication anxiety worse. to deal with the anxiety of trying this medication for the first time, i got the smallest dose possible, and CUT IT IN HALF. about 45 minutes after taking it i was hit with a sickening wave of anxiety that caused the longest lasting anxiety attack i’ve ever had, about 3 hours. i threw up multiple times and was completely unable to get food down. the anxiety exhausted me until i could nap and that would help to reset me for awhile, but eventually i would have another anxiety attack once i woke up. this went on for 3 days & i had extremely heightened anxiety for weeks afterward where i struggled to even go on car rides without having a panic attack (i found out later that fluoxetine can last up to a month in your system after you take it). i started to feel somewhat normal after that, but the damage on my psyche was done & i now understood i was not safe from these horrible anxiety attacks in my own room, hence now having a full-blown panic disorder. i definitely think that my existing anxiety enhanced the side effects of this medication, but the medication definitely played a significant part in it because im on a different medication now & didn’t have nearly the same effects despite having more anxiety about taking it. i purposely avoided looking at side effects before i tried it to avoid my anxiety creating the side effects i read, but i did find out heightened anxiety is a side effect of this medication after recovering from trying it. so unbelievably not worth it if you are wanting something to help with panic attacks: talk to your doctor about buspirone or Buspar if you have medication anxiety & panic attacks, steer VERY clear of this horrible medication.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Robert McGovern | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/27/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took this for a few weeks about 20 years ago, and it was the worst experience in my life. I was suffering with depression (still am), and was prescribed this drug to help. Within 2 weeks of taking it, it unlocked what I can best describe as a darker version of myself. Less caring, rough and menacing. I felt like I was watching myself do things that I couldn’t stop or control. One particular incident made me come off the tablets immediately because I did not like the person Fluoxetine had turned me into. It put me off trying other antidepressants for 20 years. (I have just started taking a different one) So while I am in the 45-54 bracket now, I was in the 19-24 bracket back then. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Fluoxitine | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/20/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Thanks for the suicide thoughts and voices in my head never will I ever touch fluoxitine ever

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/20/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I just started to take Prozac. The first 4 days I was sleepy and dizzy! On the fifth day I got indigestion and heart burn. I am sure it’s a side effect! Question is does it pass , or is it here to stay! I feel so sick on it! I’m willing to give it a try and stay longer, but I hope it will pass. I did not know it had to be taken at the same time everyday. Can anyone tell me if this has happened to them and does it pass !!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sadness | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
6/3/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have tried most antidepressants and others haven't agreed with me, only fluoxetine, the first week I felt a bit tired, but after that I had no negative symptoms what so ever , I never gained no weight, it really made me a calm person and feel like a normal person, I look forward to things now, I'm more confident since taking these. Only on 20mg aswell for now not upped it in the 2 years I've been taking them, which is good.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ace | 13-18 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/3/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have anxiety, depression, and ocd and this medicine has made living so much easier I feel normal

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Babs8989 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/28/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

These tablets changed my life. Before I was depressed, was in hospital, bad anxiety attacks, missing work, couldn’t laugh. tried sertraline no joy, citalopram, seroxat and nothing worked. These gave me a bad stomach for 3 days, after 1 month I noticed that my emotions were all still there, I’m exactly the same person but just…..have a buffer against panick and anxiety/low mood I used to experience, I no longer feel like I’m going to die every day, and when I get bad news it doesn’t floor me. Im no longer irritable and I’m a lot more patient than I was before - highly recommend :) Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Luawayne | Transgender | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/11/2021
Condition: Posttraumatic Stress Syndrome
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am just starting.. Although a little weary as I don't do anti deps. My main concern is weight gain.. Prescribed 29 mg one a day zydud flyoxetine? Feedback would be greatly appreciated

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/24/2021
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is going to be a long post, but I really hope that anyone thinking about taking this medication who is scared to start will read it the whole way through. I am a therapist, and I have Generalized Anxiety Disorder, and some OCD tendencies, like listing, checking, and intense intrusive thoughts about harm, health, and safety. I have had anxiety since as early as I can remember but it wasn’t until my 20s that it really started to interfere with my life. Even as a therapist I had stigma about taking meds, and fears that it would dull my personality, or dull my creativity, or dull the positive emotions I feel. I was scared it would fundamentally change me and my sensitivities to life, which can be a source of pain but also a source of joy. I started on 10mg, and had a hard time for a month, I experienced insomnia, intense moments of anxiety, fogginess, fatigue, and mild dizziness. Then I had a few great weeks on 10mg. I decided to up the dose to 20mg, and I actually experienced a hard time for about 5 weeks while I adjusted. I kept wanting to throw in the towel and go back to 10mg but something kept me waiting to see if things would feel better. During the five weeks adjusting to 20mg I experienced fogginess, fatigue, dizziness, mild disorientation, and anxiety. I really just didn’t feel like myself and it was scary and really hard. After 5 weeks everything changed. I now feel like I have been given a huge gift, kind of like I have been given a version of my life I didn’t know I could have. I can lay on the couch and feel safe in my body and safe in my mind instead of worrying what catastrophe could be lurking around the corner. I can go to sleep at night excited to sleep instead of fearing it will be an insomnia night. I can turn off the stove and check that it is off once instead of keeping going back to check over and over while my body gets all tight with anxiety. I can hug my people and animals I love without immediately feeling a pang of anticipatory grief that one day I will lose them. I can lay on my deck and look at the sky and trees and feel the breeze on my face and feel grateful for my life, instead of immediately looking for a problem or thinking about a worst case scenario situation that could rob me of my happiness and contentment. I am someone who is deeply committed to doing my own inner work and I have worked for years and years on my head. I have journaled, I have become a therapist, I have been in therapy for years, I have learned to meditate, I have done anxiety workbooks, read self help books, learned about the mind body connection, learned how to really take care of myself from resting, to exercising, to learning yoga etc, taken courses on anxiety, and the list could go on and on. I didn’t want that to stop on Prozac, and that was one my fears about taking this medication. I did not want to completely lose the highs and lows of life, I wanted to keep doing my inner work, but I also did not want to have to work so hard just to function sometimes. I can say now that Prozac does not diminish my inner work at all, instead it facilitates it. I still see my habitual response to a peaceful moment is to look for a problem, but now I have some distance on that pattern and I can see it without immediately getting lost in fear thoughts. The distance allows me to work with fear thoughts rather than just getting hooked. This medication allows me to notice when I am happy and safe, and trust those moments and enjoy them, without fear crashing in and ruining it. I have spent so much of my life thinking about darkness, pain, and fear. This medication has allowed me to notice peace, happiness, and contentment, and connect to the love in my life without the fear of loss ruining a moment. I still feel all the subtle changes in moods and emotions that I always did, but when it is around something irrational I can see what is happening in my mind and work with it, rather than getting swallRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
9/13/2021
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i started this medication over a year ago (coming up two years) i recently had come off a drug that had not worked for me so i was referred to a psychiatrist after my gps recommendations were not working for me. I was being treated for PTSD, bulimia nervosa, anxiety and major depressive disorder. However as this SSRI took 3 weeks to a month to start fully working, it worked. I am much happier and it has stopped my negative thoughts. Although this drug has given me side effects such as weight loss, feeling numb, and very decreased sex drive. I am coming off SSRIs soon, but i will definitely say it saved my life.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jane Berg | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/16/2021
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication was a godsend for me. The only real side effects for me was that it somewhat blunted my emotions and it really lowered my sex drive, but other than that, it was great --no weight gain, no nausea, no dizziness, no anxiety, etc. Then after 3.5 years, it suddenly stopped working for me. Pretty upsetting for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
3050 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
6/17/2021
Condition: Obsessive Compulsive Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

So when we were put into lockdown round 2 in England I was working on my own in the office, overtime, through breaks, hour train and back it was highly stressful especially at 20 and other factors in my personal life led to a massive mental breakdown. I had depression, ocd and anxiety in the past quite badly as a teen so I thought if I could get myself out of that I could get myself out of anything my brain challenged me to. Not the case. This time it hit me like a tonne of bricks. Overnight I went from a normal happy, all though stressed individual to an absolute wreck. I eat less then 100 calories a day on the days I could get something down. Physically shaking from the second I woke up to the second I went to sleep I was written out of work by my dr. On the days I didn’t have nightmares I’d wake up in the early morning heart racing body shaking and no matter what I tried it did not stop. Meditation, herbal remedies, teas, video therapy…nothing. I was adamant I didn’t want to take any medication as all the times in the past I had got through it on my own and so I didn’t want to give in but after only a month of the same intrusive thoughts, racing heart, nausea that couldn’t be stopped I reluctantly gave in. Best decision I ever made I truly believe I would still be ill if I hadn’t taken anything. I remember going through this and other review websites for hours on end reading good reviews wishing this was all I needed. After 2 weeks I had seen a tiny amount of improvement however I had been told by family members who take this medication they felt much better after 2 weeks so I was at a point wondering if it would work. It does. after 2 weeks my heart wasn’t pounding out of my chest. After 4 the intrusive thoughts started to quieten and now I don’t hear them at all. I know you’re thinking 4 weeks! I can’t live like this for that long but you can and you will nothing lasts forever and this too shall pass!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
VA Baddie | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/5/2021
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I began on fluoxetine again about a year ago (20mg) and that dosage was fabulous until about 4 weeks ago. I began to have some more intense depressive symptoms and asked my psychiatrist if it would be ok at up my dosage to get me over the hump. She approved 40mg; I chose to begin at 30mg. Didn't help much for the 2 weeks I used it. I just upped my dose to 40mg and am going to ride this out for a month or so to give it time to fully get into my system. I have a feeling that this might be my necessary dose for a while. I've gained about 15lbs from my lowest weight during COVID; still down about 40lbs total from my highest weight so that has been a good thing. Will update in a few more weeks. Praying for really good results!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
VD | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/14/2021
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Prozac (fluoxetine) is a wonder drug for me! It massively helped in treating my anxiety & panic attacks. I started taking 10 mg and was titrated up to 40 mg without any negative side effects. For the first time in my life, things feel more manageable, and I'm enjoying everyday activities. Hopefully, this review helps someone else out there.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
VD | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/12/2021
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Prozac (fluoxetine) is a wonder drug for me! It massively helped in treating my anxiety & panic attacks. I started taking 10 mg and was titrated up to 40 mg without any negative side effects. For the first time in my life, things feel more manageable, and I'm enjoying everyday activities. Hopefully, this review helps someone else out there.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
VD | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/9/2021
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Prozac (fluoxetine) is a wonder drug for me! It massively helped in treating my anxiety & panic attacks. I started taking 10 mg and was titrated up to 40 mg without any negative side effects. For the first time in my life, things feels more manageable, and I'm enjoying everyday activities. Hopefully, this review helps someone else out there.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/12/2021
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug is HORRIBLE! It messes with your brain to the point where you can go crazy! I received a time release medication, a week time release and all I wanted was to get it OUT of my system, and had 6 days to go! DONâ??T TAKE THIS DRUG!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dagney | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/3/2020
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took 3 weeks to become fully effective. Mood was much improved, thinking was clear and unexpected benefit weight loss.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More