Show ratings & reviews for

3.0 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

6 People found this comment helpful

This drug has changed my life. It is finally what I needed to cure my endometriosis. Thank you thank you!! I have no side effects, no weight gain, no breakthrough bleeding. My atrocious cramps are gone. I highly highly recommend this drug. In full disclosure I did 2 shots of Depo-provera and then switched to Slynd after I could not handle the side effects of the shot. It has been wonderful for me....

Most voted negative review

1 People found this comment helpful

I was on this pill for 3 months because of my periods being so bad. I went though a pad every 30 min. The first month I took this I had a lot of bleeding and bad headaches. 2nd month my legs and arms hurt so bad I could not stand it. I looked and that was a side effect to the pill. I then started to get tingling in my face and my speech was sometimes slurred. By the third month it was getting wors...

Shared reviews and ratings

Chely | 25-34 | Female | Patient
1/31/2023
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Make sure you read the side effects before you try this birth control. Unfortunately for me it mess me up bad starting from having bad mood swings that I was fighting with my husband everyday to having bad breakouts all month long every morning I will wake up with 3-5 pimples. It was a horrible experience for me my hormones were so unbalanced it made me feel so depressed and ugly. I’m so glad I called my doctor to switch my pills this pill literally switch me to a person I didn’t knew it was sooooo crazy but I’m glad I’m now on a different pill. My old me is back and my acne is cleared thank god!!! Good luck using this pill Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | Patient
1/30/2023
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is the second birth control I’ve gone on and I’m so unhappy with it. I have been on this pill just going into 3 months. I have a history of migraines and I’ve noticed lately I’ve had a headache all day everyday. I’ve been getting nauseous and I’ve never been known for nausea. I’m not known for acne either but I have a lot more than I ever have. I’ve missed my period and I have NEVER missed one but I still have the period symtoms and of course bc of all these things making me panic I took tests which are negative. My anxiety has been HORRIBLE. I’m so emotional, frustrated, depressed. Im scared I’m gonna gain weight coming off this pill but I can not take another pill of this sh*t again!!! I want my life back. Anyone having the same sort of issues?! My doctor isn’t helpful and told me to keep taking. But I can’t do it Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ali | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/30/2023
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have uterine fibroids and suffer from heavy periods. Going through a super pad with a ultra tampon every hour. I think one cycle I went through a box of 45 ultra tampons. My doctor suggested this pill and it worked immediately and I loved it. However, it is the end of month two and I am severely depressed, very moody, and all I want to do is sleep. I don't want to get out of bed, and I did not have this issue prior to taking these meds. I really want to give this medication 4 stars. I just can't. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sophia | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/25/2023
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i took slynd for almost 3 years, and although it kept my acne under control as well as bleeding and cramps , it completely destroyed my body. i was in liver failure for months ( one of the possible side effects ) and i could barely function to do daily tasks. birth control does not “balance” your horomones, it actually just feeds you artificial horomones while shutting down our natural ones. that’s why i’ve had such a hard time coming off of it. i do not reccomend this for anyone. if you’re looking for a birth control please opt for non horomonal options. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jenn | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/9/2023
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on this birth control for over 3 month now and it has given me the worst headaches and dizziness I have ever had. I literally have a headache everyday from the time I wake up in the morning. This is the worst I have ever felt on any birth control over the years. I will not take another Slynd BC pill as of today, I am completely done with this birth control. Never again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Morgan | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/20/2022
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’m sad because I really wanted this pill to work. I was on the patch and that has estrogen and it made my mood swings crazy so I decided to switch to progesterone to see if that would help. Well it helped with the mood swings but it has given me the worst anxiety/panic attacks I have ever experienced in my life. The anxiety/panic attacks are horrible right before bed, I feel like my heart is going to stop working. I have them during the day because of the pill but they are heightened at night. I have 4 kids and I feel like I can’t take care of them because I feel crippled from the anxiety. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | Patient
11/11/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on this a week. ONE WEEK!!! And in the week, my breast feel engorged and painful. I have gained 5 pounds. I have terrible pains in my arms legs and back. Headaches. Not a fun pill. I am stopping immediately.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Zclark | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
10/28/2022
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is one of the worst birth controls. I was previously on tri-speintec, It made me horribly depressed and a sex drive in the negatives so I decided to switch. I’ve been on slynd for 2 months now and I’m already trying to switch again. I know all the reviews say to wait 3 months and it gets better, but I cannot stay on this medication anymore. The first month I got two periods and spotted the entire time between. The second month I’ve gotten two periods again, anxiety to the point I can’t leave the house, random panic attacks, and mood swings. I’m also the type of person who gets maybe 3 pimples a year. I currently have more acne on my face right now than I have ever had combined in my entire life and multiple cystic pimples. I tried to keep pushing and stay until the 3 months but it’s not worth it. I cried the other day because the Starbucks lady looked at me in the drive through. -12/10Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
LaurenAUS | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months |
10/22/2022
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i am starting to get chest ance on this pill..never had this before in my 35 years

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Buggg | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/15/2022
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

What they won’t tell you, is that Slynd worsens IBS and increases colon cancer if that’s something in your genes already. Slynd made me lose the most ridiculous amount of weight, made me super sick, super miserable!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Slinda issues | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/11/2022
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Hi, I wondered if anyone can shed some light on the slinda pill. I am currently 2 weeks into my second packet, I was put on this pill for extremely heavy awful periods, losing large clots and being on for 2-3 weeks at a time, it taking over my life. Scans have shown nothing apart from a thick uterine lining. The pill has been awful and I’m wondering if I should discontinue it. Since take it I was light spotting for the month until the placebo pill, day 2 I started heavy, it’s been heavy and horrible for 3 weeks now. For about 2 weeks it stops in the evening and through the night, starts about an hour after I wake up, painful and I lose clots again. It eases by early evening and same happens the next day. This pill causes pain though, I take it at 7pm every evening. Is this normal? Or should I say, is my body adjusting to it and could it work if I stick to it or is this a sign it’s not right for me? I’m just really stuck, doctors havnt been great. Thanks Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mhann | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/14/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Prescribed for endometriosis and fibroids. Only took for 15 days. Side effects immediately trouble sleeping, then anxiety, mood swings and feeling like my heart was going to explode. Was waking with a resting heart rate of 100 bpm, anxiety out the roof and struggling to function. Once I stopped I bleed for over two weeks, then two weeks later bleed again. My heart rate slowed in 24 hours but longer before it felt back to normal other symptoms lessoned over a few weeks.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cake chic | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
9/2/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had been on Yaz for 11 years to prevent acne- it worked wonderfully and I had no side effects. My doctor retired and my new doctor refused to let me take Yaz and put me on Slynd. It has been 10 months and I am still not back to normal. This medication is awful!!! My OCD worsened, I started losing hair, I felt like I was holding weight all the time because it affected my digestion, and my acne came back with avengence. I went for a second opinion and the new doctor was extremely angry the other doctor put me on Slynd. For all the lawsuits against Yaz, it was for the progesterone portion of the pill- Slynd has double the amount of progesterone as Yaz- so double the risk of something bad happening. Slynd may help some people but it did nothing but mess up my entire system. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cam | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
8/20/2022
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medicine has changed my life for the better. I’ve been on various types of birth control, and they always seemed to do nothing when it comes to reducing bleeding or cramping. Other brands also give me migraines. SLYND has completely taken away my painful periods and all of the bleeding. I have been in SLYND for 8 months, and I have no major side effects. The migraines are non existent. I’ve only changed weight about 5 lbs which is good. I think my eyes might be more sensitive to light, but I also work 8 hours in a dark building which is new. I don’t have much of a sex drive, but that is also normal for birth controls.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
bunnywab | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/4/2022
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ve been on birth control for a few years now, with the main purpose of making my periods more manageable- they came every 3 weeks, were extremely painful & heavy to the point of anemia, and lasted over a week. None of the combination pills I used to take ever helped. Though I had a month of spotting on slynd, and an additional one of vaginal dryness and sexual discomfort, these symptoms have resolved. I encourage others to power through and give this med a chance. I have the lightest periods I have ever had, likely not even filling 1 menstrual cup throughout the few days it now lasts. Not to mention it is estrogen free and drospirenone has anti-androgenic properties - read: less chance for blood clots & androgenic hair loss ladies! I’m hoping this is my forever pill! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ana | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
8/1/2022
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I decided to change my birth control to a pill after having bad side effects with the Paraguard IUD. I’ve been on Slynd for about a year now and I have not complained of anything. I have been cramping less, helped with my anxiety as well. And I like that if it give you a 24 hour if you miss your pill. Yes like any birth control I have noticed just a slight weigh gain but nothing too drastic. I am overall happy with this birth control!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Luna111 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/31/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I really wanted Slynd to work for me and kind of writing this review bc i couldnt find stories like mine so i wanted to put mine out. I tried to take it for menstrual pain and a bit frustrated with the adjustment period and not sure if to continue or not. Took it for a few weeks at first a few months ago and got a cyst. Thing is I had an ultrasound and CT right before starting it for the menstrual pain and was told I didn’t have a cyst. Bc of the menstrual pain I was stuck in limbo for a few months wanting to help myself but feeling stuck. So i started to take it again about 5ish weeks ago but after my period the first week, spotted purple (not normal for me) the second week, then by week 4 i had very painful and heavy breakthrough bleeding (also not normal for me i have a lot of menstrual pain but thank god 5-6 week cycles). On top of that after the first week I started getting migraines nearly every 3 days, and a headache on the other days. After the first week also so nauseous that I took a pregnancy test and it was negative. So yeah suffering a lot and not sure if I want to continue through the “adjustment period”. Frustrated bc even if it gets better and I stay on it then there’s no knowing if it’ll get worse again and I’ll just have to tell myself “just get through it” again so how is that a way to live. Women deserve better I hate how birth control isn’t even tested for a lot of the things its used for, but bc “better research isn’t there this is the best we’ve got”. Idk make it make sense. I’d rather have 3 weeks a cycle where I’m in moderate-severe pain and enjoy my 2-3 “good weeks” right now than have to deal with mild-moderate-severe issues roulette EVERY day. I hope this helps at least someone I was told I shouldn’t be having “estrogen side effects” but I am. Kind of turned into a vent so at least it helped me feel better. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
7/29/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Overall I have had a very positive experience with this pill. This is my first time taking contraceptives, and I only have one negative side effect; all others have drastically improved my life. Pros: periods improved. By this, I mean I no longer have debilitating periods! Before taking this pill I could not function from the cramping and back pain I had. No more daily migraines! My headaches are non existent now while on this pill which is another life changer for me. No more mood changes. Before slynd, I would get extremely sad the week leading up to my period. Now, I am my normal, happy self while taking it. No weight gain or acne either. I have been on this pill for 8 months now. Cons- I essentially get 2 periods/ month now. Before this pill, my cycles, although insanely painful, were very regular and I would have a light period for about 3 days. Now with slynd, I bleed heavier and for 3-4 days every two weeks. I am now having to figure out if it’s worth it to continue taking it. Love all the positives I have experienced, but the heavier, more frequent bleeding is honestly getting pretty annoying. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JP2345 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/28/2022
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was prescribed slynd for post party’s birth control while breastfeeding. I gained so much weight on it I stopped taking it. I was on birth control for 15 years before this and never experience the weight gain like I did with this pill. HORRIBLE!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jr | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/25/2022
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ve been on the mini pill for a while but once I start having breakthrough bleeding my doctor recommended slynd I know it was a newer progesterone only pill I think it’s a little higher up in progesterone which help to stop the bleeding completely my moods fine I can’t say that I’ve put any weight on from it and I don’t get headaches or anything I feel great my mood is stable and I could at least say that and it works

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More