Show ratings & reviews for

3.5 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

24 People found this comment helpful

I am 30 years old and I was prescribed Tamiflu after being diagnosed with the flu. I felt better within a few hours of taking it. I was amazed. I was really sick and was worried that I may have to be hospitalized. I had been running a high fever and could hardly breathe. The only downside were the side effects. They were pretty bad. It left a terrible taste in my mouth and made everything I ate a...

Most voted negative review

7 People found this comment helpful

My daughter was given tamiflu for early treatment of the flu. She took 3 doses and had to hospitalized due to her liver function test being almost triple the normal and she had a very depressed white blood cell count. the leaflet they give in the package does not say anything about these side affects but the Roche laboratories website for tamiflu has them listed adviseing that they did not find th...

Shared reviews and ratings

Tamiflu is gross | 7-12 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/17/2020
Condition: The Flu
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Every time I get the Flu, my mouth tastes like Tamiflu.Not once have I gotten the Flu and right after taking the medicine, I throw up.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kay kay | 65-74 | On medication for less than 1 month |
3/19/2020
Condition: The Flu
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

HAPPY - it worked for me! I doubted that I had flu, but had a headache that reminded me of an ear infection headache (result of previous swine flu in 2009). Didn't make the connection to the flu. Thought my runny nose and upper back pain was from sweeping the garage the day before. Had no ear infection with this one. Didn't think I had the flu. On way home, I recalled the story of the 40yr old teacher that died because she didn't fill it. I spent the $109 and it made a huge difference after 1 pill. I had the headache, although a lessor version, for about 5 days. But, I felt better with each pill. It stopped the replicating of the virus. I learned later that it doesn't work for all flu. I did get a rash and itching over my back from Tamiflu, despite being on an antihistamine. Dr. later told me that I should still take it, if needed again. People should read up about the drugs available like this one. Also have read that NOT to take any version of ibuprofen or aspirin, as it may prevent Tamiflu from working, or make flu worse.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
AB | 35-44 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/11/2020
Condition: The Flu
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was diagnosed with flu 2 days after having symptoms and was prescribed Tamiflu by the urgent care dr. I took the evening dose and went to sleep and woke up feeling significantly better. i didn't have any issues until the 4th day when I started getting migraines (which I never had before) and felt nauseous throughout the day. It's been a full day since i completed the 5 days treatment and I'm still experiencing the headaches and nausea off and on. I like the fact that it knocked out the flu symptoms overnight (literally) but I don't know if these side effects are worth it. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 7-12 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/7/2020
Condition: The Flu
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My 9 year old daughter came down with flu on Tuesday afternoon, fever spiked to 104.4 on Motrin by Wednesday at 1pm. Had a positive flu test and tamiflu by 2pm. By 7pm, the redness was already starting to drain from her face, and she woke up the next morning with no fever. Can’t say enough about how much of a relief it was.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jenny | 25-34 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/29/2020
Condition: The Flu
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am 15 weeks pregnant and came down with the flu. Rapid swab test came back negative by the doctor said sheâ??s certain itâ??s the flu as I was displaying every symptom and felt like I was dying. I was very hesitant when she prescribed Tamiflu as I am very wary of taking any type of drug while pregnant. She assured me the benefit would outweigh the risk, and I definitely did not want to have to go to the hospital or harm the baby with fever. I took the first dose and went to sleep for a few hours. Within that time, my fever was gone and I felt like I could actually stand up. The next day I felt so much better, I went from thinking I was dying to feeling mildly ill. Iâ??m on day three and still no side effects. I make sure to eat before I take it. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Don | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/22/2020
Condition: The Flu
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had been running a low grade temperature and a cough. I was prescribed Tamaflu. After the 2nd does my fever has broke. I still have a cough but am feeling better. I just wasn't feeling better without it. The ibuprofen wasn't working. I have had no adverse side effects so far.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ashmbur | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/19/2020
Condition: The Flu
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was better within about 3 days of taking this. No side effects at all. It worked like a charm. I would recommend it to ANYONE. Thankful for this drug being available! The flu is awful!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
txcornbread | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/19/2020
Condition: The Flu
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took this as soon as I started feeling sick and running a fever. I was still miserable for 2 days, but by day 3, fever had subsided and started feeling MUCH better. It's day 5 now and I can't even tell I was even sick. Great medicine, but I am also fortunate I caught my flu early on.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Say_no_to_Tamiflu | 3-6 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/19/2020
Condition: The Flu
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Upon the recommendation of our pediatrician, I gave this to my 4-year old daughter who tested positive for the flu. She wasn't drinking nor eating much, and I was concerned about dehydration. I was able to get her to eat and drink a small amount at about 1:30pm. We started the first dose of Tamiflu a few hours later at 4:30pm. Within 2 hours of taking the first dose (around 6:15) she vomited everything she had for lunch and the medicine, too. I had her drink just a few more sips of water thereafter, and she vomited it right back up. We immediately stopped giving her the medication as per the recommendation online if there are any adverse reactions. However, she only could drink a very small amount of water through the night. She woke up feeling better in the morning in any case, so it's a good thing we didn't have to give this to her for another 5 days. This medication is extremely expensive ($211, although only $50 copay with our insurance), and I would request a refund if I could. (Are the pediatricians trained to say we should all take this? It's horrible and could CAUSE death from the flu!) If you are at all concerned about dehydration, I do NOT recommend this medication since it makes things WORSE not better.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
orlandocfi | 35-44 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/16/2020
Condition: The Flu
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Started Tamiflu about 14 hours after onset of severe flu symptoms. Had a rough subsequent 12 hours but started to improve. The following day, most of my symptoms were gone, but I could feel just a hint of sickness. I am sorry to read so many horrible experiences of other people, but it worked well for me. Only side effects I can think of would be a mild dizziness on day 4 and some body itchiness on day 3.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous |
2/15/2020
Condition: The Flu
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Horrible medication it made me vomit each time I took. Makes your stomach upset. This drug is no good

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Donttakethis | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/15/2020
Condition: The Flu
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I stayed taking Tamiflu for flu and it helped me in first few dose, but the side affects were awful.I have been lightheaded and dizzy almost falling down whenever I tried walking and getting up. I have had a headache for 4 days now, nauseous, insomnia has set in and when I take my gabapentin at bed time, i am awake all night. I think next time I will look into other options before taking this drug. I have chosen to stop taking it with 2days left. I will take my chances.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tarplondyn | 25-34 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/14/2020
Condition: The Flu
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have used tamiflu 2 separate times, a few years apart. The first time was maybe prophylactically and this last time I definitely had the flu and I was miserable. The muscle pain was intense!! When I walked tears would stream down my cheeks even though I wasnâ??t actually crying. I had never experienced that before. Anyways - the flu. Ouch. I was blessed and got my prescription within a few hours of becoming ill. And within a few hours of taking Tamiflu I was probably 50% more comfortable. Everything calmed down. I spent 2 full days in bed. And the 3rd day I was half in half out. Today is my 4th day and I canâ??t tell I had the flu! Whoo! I did not have any side effects either time I took Tamiflu. I generally react well to medications. I do wonder if Tamiflu some mild insomnia with Obnoxiously repetitive dreams each time I drifted off. The dreams werenâ??t bad, but I remember waking up annoyed over and over. It was very strange. But Iâ??ll take weird dreams over the flu any day!!!!! Also my husband and 3 little kiddos also took Tamiflu and all of us were completely fine. No side effects (besides my dreams - maybe). I would recommend Tamiflu to anyone and if the flu hits again - we will all be taking it again. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tamiflu saved me | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/12/2020
Condition: The Flu
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Diagnosed with influenza on 2nd day of symptoms, began Tamiflu, and after two days felt like myself again. This medication is wonderful!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/1/2020
Condition: The Flu
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have not had the flu in 25 years. This is my first time taking Tamiflu and it has saved my life. Within 24 hours I am feeling much better.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
chazculva | 65-74 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/31/2020
Condition: The Flu
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After just one hour on this junk, it felt like someone was closing off my breathing at the neck. Felt like my esophagus had been narrowed to a small opening, making it difficult to breathe. Also experienced very dry mouth. DO NOT TAKE THIS. SUFFER WITH THE FLU. YOU WILL FEEL MUCH BETTER WITHOUT IT!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
No tamiflu | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/22/2020
Condition: The Flu
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Dr prescribed me tamiflu and took my first pill. After couple of hrs I felt so dizzy. I just thought that its because of my flu. Next day i felt a bit better and took my second pill. After a couple of hrs I felt so dizzy, my hands shaking, and my face was so pale. I was really tempted to dial 911 as i feel like i am going to have a stroke. I was crying and praying to the Lord not to take me yet. I will not continue to finish these drugs and will just finish my antibiotics

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Asanchez1020 | 35-44 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/21/2020
Condition: The Flu
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm a healthy 37 year old woman other t hff en being treated for flu B with Tamiflu today. I have only taken one dose and just had a very strange major depressing flashback with crying and tons of negative thoughts. I am NOT depressed person. I immediately took to the internet to find out I'm not the only one to suffer these strange side effects of Tamiflu. I feel so much better after the one dose and I won't take another because I think this will only get worse. I was able to "snap out of it" because, like I said, this not like me at all! Be careful with this drug! Please knoe: all 3 of my kids had to take this too and none reported any side effects except slight stomach pain. What I had experienced was really REALLY weird.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/7/2020
Condition: The Flu
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I experienced absolutely terrible side effects from Tamiflu. I would have rather had the flu for months than take Tamiflu. After taking 4 pills (2 pills twice a day), I started experiencing pins and needles in both my legs, which eventually led to numbness, and then to muscle pain and full on leg spasms. I also experienced insomnia, extreme anxiety, and a decline in mental "awareness". I thought I had conversations that never happened and had some very disturbing intrusive thoughts. I didn't sleep for 4 nights straight and I've never had a problem sleeping before. During the 4 days after stopping taking the tamiflu, I couldn't eat as well, due to the extreme anxiety. I originally thought this was just all the flu, but my doctor said this was actually all side effects from taking Tamiflu. More than a week later after stopping tamiflu, I'm still dealing with all the above issues, particularly the anxiety and insomnia. Doctor thinks it could be a month until I'm back to normal.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
LShaw | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/6/2020
Condition: The Flu
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have nothing bad to say about this drug. This is my second time being prescribed this medication and it once again working wonderfully for me. Within 48 hours I was up and around with minor flu symptoms. I am on day-4 of a 5-day dose ... and no side effects at all.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More