Show ratings & reviews for

4.0 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

22 People found this comment helpful

I used Oral Plan b after a condom break with my partner. The medication was easy to use and seemed to be very effective, since I did not become pregnant. Although I am very satisfied with it's effectiveness the side effects were a big problem for me. I experienced nausea, and headaches. The pills also changed my menstrual cycle and I spotted for several days after my cycle was done. I am also...

Most voted negative review

10 People found this comment helpful

My ex-boyfriend came inside of me after i told him not to. He said not to worry about it that i could just take plan b. I was freaking out and took the medication not even 6 hours later. I ended up becoming pregnant. So just be very cautious and not use plan b as an excuse for unprotected sex. I heard that the effectiveness rate is only about 75%. Ladies please take care of yourselves, don't let a...

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous1983 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/4/2021
Condition: Postcoital Contraception
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've taken plan b on several occasions and this one has honestly been the worst with side effects. Day after taking it for about 5 days I was super nauseous, sore breasts, horrible acne, tired, metallic taste in mouth, white (not yeast) discharge, mood/emotional swings. I took this the day after and I was ovulating and it worked. Last time I did that and it didnt because i waited till the 3rd day to take it and his swimmers and my egg were quick. The side effects this time were just brutal and I'm def getting on birth control now. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Latoya smith | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
9/3/2021
Condition: Postcoital Contraception
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took this and it made my bones and muscles grow. It messed up my nervous system. Thanks a lot for creating a dangerous pill.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ishta | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/5/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took a Plan B on June 3rd and was expecting my period on June 27th. However, on that day I had unprotected sex but didn't take any pill. My period is now 8 days late and I have been having symptoms since the week before my period. I am still having cramps and now sore boobs. I didn't take any pregnancy tests. Can you please share some insight on this? Thank you!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
K | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/9/2021
Condition: Postcoital Contraception
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’m going to keep this short. I took one for the first time in November 2020. It worked, the only side effect was dizziness and bad cramps when my period came. The second time was in February 2020. This time it scared me because I got my period a few days later than expected and it came with terrible cramps. After my period stopped I was light bleeding for a week. I would wear a pantyliner. But that was abnormal for my body. Now every time I get my period I have cramps which I never had before. And it last 6 days instead of 4. So im saying it changed my body. I’m not taking this again lol.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
K | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/9/2021
Condition: Postcoital Contraception
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’m going to keep this short. I took one for the first time in November 2020. It worked, the only side effect was dizziness and bad cramps when my period came. The second time was in February 2020. This time it scared me because I got my period a few days later than expected and it came with terrible cramps. After my period stopped I was light bleeding for a week. I would wear a pantyliner. But that was abnormal for my body. Now every time I get my period I have cramps which I never had before. And it last 6 days instead of 4. So im saying it changed my body. I’m not taking this again lol.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Marina T | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/14/2021
Condition: Postcoital Contraception
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Hi there! I am writing this review because I feel like I need to. Due to the awful, painful and unbearable mental and emotional side effects some of us are unlucky to experience with hormonal birth control, and including the copper IUD, I am not on any form of birth control except for condoms alongside tracking my cycle. It has been going well for the two years I have been using this method until one night, the condom broke without either of us realizing until it was far too late! The worst part was is that it happened on the exact day of predicted ovulation and there wasn't a "pullout" or anything, I was completely unprotected at the time of finishing! This happened at about 12:45AM. When we realized what had happened, I nearly cried as we do not want to conceive now or in our future. So, of course I stayed up late thinking of options "just in case" and reading reviews on plan B's effectiveness during ovulation to see that some sites say it only works by prolonging ovulation while others say it can prevent a fertilized egg from attaching to the uterine wall, etc. I was a mixed bag of emotions due to the uncertainty and also for the concern I have taking the synthetic hormone in Plan B. All local pharmacies in my area open at 9AM. I went and purchased Plan B right when they opened, took it completely at 9:15AM. I called three women's health clinics in my area and talked to two different pharmacists and a doctor about my concerns of what had happened and they all reassured me I would be fine. Still, like most of us in this situation, the worry lingered. I experienced many side effects like "fizzling" cramps, mood swings, bloat, basically PMS symptoms for a while which felt a little "extra". I spent roughly $50 on 10 pregnancy tests as I do show pregnancy symptoms early every time I have conceived. I waited until 4 days before my expected period to arrive, taking three tests in that time, all negative creating some sort of relief. I took a test the day of my expected period to arrive, also negative and another one the second day, then two more the third day. All negative, but I was experiencing pregnancy symptoms and now severe PMS symptoms. FINALLY this morning my period came four days later than the expected date (I am regular to the date). I am so relieved and I understand what you might be going through right now. You're most likely feeling how I was feeling - absolutely terrified, concerned for my future and emotionally confused. Plan B works! If my circumstances relate to your situation, take the pill AS SOON AS POSSIBLE! I am very fertile and need to be as careful as humanly possible so this experience was the worst thing that could happen to me at this time. It almost seemed fated, you know? How could the condom completely break during the exact ovulation prediction date?! Of course it would, right? Amid everything else going on in the world at this time and the personal things my family and I are trying to accomplish, throw a pregnancy scare in the midst! LOL Anyways, I hope reading this has made you feel a little more secure and you get the relief you need in the next coming weeks. Take care and try not to let your mind race! - I know that is a lot harder to do when you're in it... P.S. My period is a lot heavier than it normally starts so that might be expected for you as well. Who knows, we are all different. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ro | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/8/2021
Condition: Postcoital Contraception
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I needed to use this day after pill because I didn't use protection with my husband. I am still breastfeeding, with a 10 months old baby. I used less than 12 hours later. I got pregnant... So take care, girls if you don't want to get pregnant use a contraceptive or another method. Very disappointed. Expensive medication. Doesn't work...

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mitchell | 13-18 | Female |
4/29/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took plan b the second day of my fertile window according to an app i have. I have taken plan b twice before but this time i experienced brown spotting and other symptoms which made me think i was pregnant. I looked up most of my symptoms and all said preagnancy related. I first started spotting which i thought it was implantation. I was bloated for a couple weeks then a week before my period i had mild cramps. I finallyngotnmy period which was 2 days after. Don't stress it works!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | Female | Patient
4/27/2021
Condition: Postcoital Contraception
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

So I had unprotected (on march14) sex 3 days after my period, and my bf said he didn’t finish inside me but I know he did. So maybe like 12 hours later that same day I took a plan b and I was ok... 5 days after that (March 19) I started spotting and it didn’t stop for like 4 days. I’ve had terrible cramps in my lower back as well as itchy/ swollen boobs. My period is also over 3 weeks late. Around week 2 of my period being late I took two pregnancy test which both came out negative, however I still have yet to get my period and April is almost over???????Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
LTT | 25-34 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/2/2020
Condition: Postcoital Contraception
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took the morning after pill on 11/18/20 and it was during my fertile window according to CLUE. I started to feel breast tenderness and cramps like never before. I knew for sure I was pregnant. On 11/25/20 I started spotting, which stopped after 2 day. At that point I knew I was probably pregnant. Then on 12/1/20 I started my period but this time itâ??s extremely painful cramps. I already have ruff periods due to endometriosis, but the pill made it worse. However, Iâ??ll this pain over pregnancy right now. So Iâ??m happy to report the pill worked for me.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
AJ | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/29/2020
Condition: Postcoital Contraception
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

*error in first review* Backstory: This was my second time taking Plan B. My first time was 5+ years ago and I did not have any side effects. This 2nd time it was my first day of my fertile window, November 3rd (according to the Clue app) and the condom broke. We instantly stopped and my boyfriend did NOT finish in me. The next day, I took Plan B to be safe. Also, my normal cycle is around 24-25 days... I know, sad. Side Effects: 4 days later I had mild cramping. 5 days later I started spotting, which 1 full day and instantly made me worry it was implantation bleeding. More cramping, bloating, constipation/or diarrhea, nausea, mood swings, tender + itchy breasts, itching down there, swelling down there, no sex drive, exhaustion, frequent urination, loss of appetite, sadness, confusion, and basically just complete agony followed for the next 12 days, which brought me to my expected PMS start date, November 13th and continued but lessened as the month went by. My period was supposed to start November 20th but I am currently on my 9th day of missed period, so I still haven't started. On my 8th day of missed period I actually took two negative pregnancy tests. Today, the 9th day, I discovered I had developed a yeast infection (probably caused from taking Plan B, as many others have also shared) and that is why I had so much swelling + itching + frequent urination. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
AJ | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/29/2020
Condition: Postcoital Contraception
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Backstory: This was my second time taking Plan B. My first time was 5+ years ago and I did not have any side effects. This 2nd time it was my first day of my fertile window, November 3rd (according to the Clue app) and the condom broke. We instantly stopped and my boyfriend did NOT finish in me. The next day, I took Plan B to be safe. Also, my normal cycle is around 24-25 days... I know, sad. Side Effects: 4 days later I had mild cramping. 5 days later I started spotting, which 1 full day and instantly made me worry it was implantation bleeding. More cramping, bloating, constipation/or diarrhea, nausea, mood swings, tender + itchy breasts, itching down there, swelling down there, no sex drive, exhaustion, frequent urination, loss of appetite, sadness, confusion, and basically just complete agony followed for the next 12 days, which brought me to my expected period start date, November 13th and continued but lessened as the month went by. I am currently on my 9th day of missed period, so I still haven't started. On my 8th day of missed period I actually took two negative pregnancy tests. Today, the 9th day, I discovered I had developed a yeast infection (probably caused from taking Plan B, as many others have also shared) and that is why I had so much swelling + itching + frequent urination. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Almost50 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/8/2020
Condition: Postcoital Contraception
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm almost 50 and have regular periods until last month. I took a plan b on Aug 15 which I have never taken before. It was the day after my period had ended but I wanted to be safe. About a week later I bled for a few days but since then I have had absolutely nothing. Could it have knocked me into menopause? Oh and I've had 3 negative pregnancy tests.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Alana | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/17/2020
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took this pill the morning after an accident. Didn’t work! I’m pregnant!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Snaaa | 13-18 | Patient
5/27/2020
Condition: Postcoital Contraception
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took a plan b 70 hours after I had unprotected sex on the 22nd of April and was expecting my period 2 weeks layer. A week later I was spotting and got super freaked out because I thought it was implantation bleeding.. after experiencing tender breast, a missed period, and uncertainty with me being pregnant or not, I took a pregnancy test 2 weeks later and it came as negative. My cycle was 43 days long and my period came 2 weeks late. the plan b works but I really hate how it made me feel

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
PrayingMyPeriodComes | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/5/2020
Condition: Postcoital Contraception
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

So I had sex the day I started my ovulation timeframe and the day after this timeframe. The first was protected. The second time wasnâ??t. I took a text 9 days after and 11 days after. Both came back negative. My period was supposed to start yesterday, which would be day 13. I took the plan B because I had unprotected sex again on day 8. Took it around 60 hours post sex. Freaking out cause I havenâ??t received my period and there are too many unknown variables right now. My breast were tender. Now they seem slightly bigger. No bleeding as of right now. Slight cramping, nothing major. Iâ??m trying to stay calm. Iâ??m hoping my period comes tomorrow but regardless I will take another test in a week. I will update this with the outcome to help anyone else experiencing this.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bless this mess | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/22/2020
Condition: Postcoital Contraception
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After having the condom come off, i took plan b the next day. I was supposed to have my period the day I took it, but I was late a few days. My period was brown at first and then became normal. Overall I’m very happy to not have a unplanned pregnancy.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sashagreen | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/16/2020
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Decided to write a review just in case another girl is freaking out over a late period! I took plan b later in my cycle, around the last 2 weeks. My period was 8 days late!! I just got it today and I am so relieved. I was super nauseous, had back aches, headaches and was dizzy. I thought I was pregnant, but it was just the plan b symptoms. Everyone has a different body, so don’t freak if your plan b symptoms last a long time. I was freaking out because apparently plan b symptoms are only supposed to last for “24 hours.” My symptoms lasted almost 2 weeks!! Do not freak out if your period is late and you have pregnancy symptoms. Your body is just reacting to the huge dose of hormones. I hope someone finds in relief in my review! <3Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lucy | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/2/2020
Condition: Postcoital Contraception
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It works! I’ve used the Plan B pill many times and it has never failed me!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Yoootitit | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/6/2019
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took the pill about 3 weeks ago. Got my period a few days after taking it..and have been bleeding for about 10 days. Is it normal to be bleeding this much? Usually I get a heavy period for a week but this bleeding has been light but for 10 days.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More