Show ratings & reviews for

3.0 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

13 People found this comment helpful

Lost 5 kg while on this drug for the last 3 months. Although I am quite sleepy while on this drug, this is the first antipsychotic that I lost weight on after trying risperidone,olanzapine,abilify,Zoloft,vraylar

Most voted negative review

5 People found this comment helpful

I experienced severe restlessness, tardive dyskinesia and insomnia within 2 weeks of using Captyla. I recommend everyone be aware of how dangerous this drug is. I had to be hospitalized and now I’m left with over a $8,000 bill. Shame on the FDA.

Shared reviews and ratings

Liv | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/6/2021
Condition: Schizophrenia
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The main psychotic symptom I experience is paranoia. I have cycled through 9 different antipsychotics until I was finally prescribed Caplyta. Past drugs caused extreme weight gain without overeating (40 lbs), major sedation, restlessness, tongue swelling (allergic reaction), akathisia, tardive dyskinesia, impulsiveness, compulsiveness, and terrifying depersonalization & derealization. On Caplyta I experienced extreme sedation and difficulty being productive in the beginning. After 2 months, the sedation went away then I could get tasks done and wake up early. After 5 months I lost 13 lbs swithout trying. My paranoia is minimized and manageable. This drug is one simple pill that must be taken once a day with the only minor inconvenience of having to be taken with food.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Liv | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/6/2021
Condition: Schizophrenia
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The main psychotic symptom I experience is paranoia. I have cycled through 9 different antipsychotics until I was finally prescribed Caplyta. Past drugs caused extreme weight gain without overeating (40 lbs), major sedation, restlessness, tongue swelling (allergic reaction), akathisia, tardive dyskinesia, impulsiveness, compulsiveness, and terrifying depersonalization & derealization. On Caplyta I experienced extreme sedation and difficulty being productive in the beginning. After 2 months, the sedation went away then I could get tasks done and wake up early. After 5 months I lost 13 lbs swithout trying. My paranoia is minimized and manageable. This drug is one simple pill that must be taken once a day with the only minor inconvenience of having to be taken with food.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Liv | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/6/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is the only antipsychotic medication that has worked for me without causing weight gain, and actually allowing me to begin losing weight! Background: The only psychotic symptoms I experience outside of my very past history of depression and anxiety, is paranoia. And my paranoia can also sometimes escalate to experiencing delusions if it gets out of control without me doing any reality testing. I also sometimes struggle with impulsiveness, compulsiveness, and grandiosity. I'm fortunate not to experience hallucinations (tactile, auditory, or visual) or anger. I don't have a confirmed diagnosis outside of "psychosis", but my psychiatrist has listed bipolar disorder, schizoaffective disorder, and schizophrenia as possibilities. I have tried several antipsychotic medications from Haldol, Seroquel, Geodon, Zyprexa, Latuda, Risperadone, Abilify, Vraylar, and Rexulti. All of these drugs have caused extreme weight gain, along with other horrible side effects like extreme sedation, restlessness, allergic reactions manifested in the form of dystonia, akathisia, tardive dyskinesia, impulsiveness, compulsiveness, terrifying depersonalization & derealization. Some of these side effects required the additions of more medications, leading to long daily pill ceremonies on top of allergy medications, multivitamin, and supplements I take from day to day. Additionally, some side effects had no cure and required quitting the drug. I felt helpless bespecially because no antipsychotic totally cured my paranoia and I've basically trialed almost all available atypical antipsychotics available to me! And the added frustrations that antipsychotic mean no grapefruit consumption and that they interact with so many other prescription medications making treatment of other health conditions difficult! My goals in medicine treatment are no weight gain, taking just one pill, taking that pill once day and not multiple times a day, and that the medication eliminate my paranoia or minimizes it (allowing me to reality test and live in reality). This goal of no weight gain has proven to be impossible with all past antipsychotic drugs. When trialing medications for the first time years ago, I went from having a healthy BMI at a weight of 105lbs (5 feet tall, 19 year old adult female) to my cholesterol levels rapidly increasing and weight reaching 135lbs and constantly looking puffy & bloated without overeating and despite eventually making strict lifestyle changes to both my diet & exercise routine. I ended up giving up on medications and pursued therapy alone for a year and went back down to 118lbs. I returned to medication when the pandemic hit. Upon trialing medications again my weight shot back up to 142 lbs despite not overeating. I experienced all the side effects listed above while trialing the medications above (trialing again). Until I finally was introduced to the new drug: Caplya also know as Lumateperone. Caplyta experience: When I first started Caplyta I experienced extreme sedation and difficulty being productive. As a student this was difficult for me because I would sleep all day and not begin assignments until late in the afternoon. I quit this medication once before due to this, but I trialed it again because it was the only antipsychotic where studies said weight loss was possible. After 2 months on Caplyta, the sedation went away and I was able to get tasks done and wake up early. After 5 months on this medication I went from being 142 lbs to being 129 lbs, and I'm still on the decline. I've lost 13 of the 37 lbs I gained without changing my diet or exercise habits. I hope to reach my baseline weight from years ago or at least 110-115 lbs. My cholesterol level is also on the decline! Keep in mind I've done all this while having a healthy relationship with food and my body where I don't reflect on it everyday. I just try to follow the basic recommended principles like enjoying things in moderation, consuming whole foods and balanced Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ShelbyMedic | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/15/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took his medication two nights ago for my first time and I’ve had severe postural dizziness ever since. I was hoping it would go away after the first day with sleeping all night but I just woke up and feel even worse. Not sure when this will go away, very scared

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
smokey76 | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/13/2021
Condition: Schizophrenia
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Gave it two weeks I was hoping the side effects would go away but they only got worse. Nausea, diarrhea, vomiting, restlessness, fatigue. It made my schizoaffective disorder somehow worse, I know this because my symptoms are usually stable. I started pacing around the house and my "paranoid senses" were heightened. Therapy seems to help a lot more along with medicine. Therapists give you the tools and skills to deal with most episodes you will have.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nicole | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/13/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had every not life threatening side affect under the sun. Couldn’t function for 24hours. Never taking again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
SurfMan | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/24/2020
Condition: Schizophrenia
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After four years and as many different prescriptions, a 30+ Lb weight gain, and blood glucose & cholesterol levels off the charts, my Dr. prescribed the new drug, Caplyta. It's been five weeks and I've lost 2 Lb. In addition, my sleep, sex-drive, and well-being are feeling restored to a level I’d nearly forgotten and haven't been at since my mid-20s. Looking forward to the follow-up bloodwork in two months

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/17/2020
Condition: Schizophrenia
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Lost 5 kg while on this drug for the last 3 months. Although I am quite sleepy while on this drug, this is the first antipsychotic that I lost weight on after trying risperidone,olanzapine,abilify,Zoloft,vraylar

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Maxine | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/13/2020
Condition: Schizophrenia
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have a history of chronic psychosis. This medication amplified my hallucinations and depressive symptoms so much so that I had to place myself in inpatient care. This drug is dangerous. I am happy to have not ended my life. Praise the light that I am alright.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/13/2020
Condition: Schizophrenia
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

No side effect at all other than some sleepiness. Makes me sleep well at night actually

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Opus66 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/8/2020
Condition: Schizophrenia
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I experienced severe restlessness, tardive dyskinesia and insomnia within 2 weeks of using Captyla. I recommend everyone be aware of how dangerous this drug is. I had to be hospitalized and now I’m left with over a $8,000 bill. Shame on the FDA.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/23/2020
Condition: Schizophrenia
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Just took first dose and haven't had any severe side effects like I did with Vraylar. I only took one vraylar one time and had the worst akathisia plus stiff muscles and fluctuating body temp. So far, with this drug I have mild nausea and very little akathisia with some sleepiness. I just hope the next few doses dont cause worsening side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/23/2020
Condition: Schizophrenia
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Don't have any restlessness or severe side effects. Just some nauseous which go away after a while

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Joshua | 25-34 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/16/2020
Condition: Schizophrenia
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Clears my thoughts/channels like nothing else, but I may have to take an antidepressant because I feel a depressive aspect.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/31/2020
Condition: Schizophrenia
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/21/2020
Condition: Schizophrenia
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was looking forward to this medication coming out because of the positive safety profile. I have been on many different antipsychotics and my response to this medication was by far the worst of all the others I have tried. I only took one dose because the distress I was in was unbearable. Three hours after I took it, the hell started. I suddenly felt very hot, yet I was shivering. It was a similar feeling to having a fever. I felt nauseous. I was compulsively drinking cup after cup of water because I just felt like I needed it and the nurse literally had to cut me off because she was scared I would have water toxicity. I severe restless leg, but it was in my arms as well. That was probably the worst part. I was up all night and couldnâ??t sleep even after I was given an Ativan. I also felt very suddenly depressed and hopeless and was sobbing. This is a terrible medication. I feel like part of the problem is that it comes in only one dose, so you canâ??t slowly titrate up and give your body time to get used to it. Itâ??s a capsule, so you canâ??t cut it. Either way, I do not recommend this medication at all. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mac234 | 35-44 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/16/2020
Condition: Schizophrenia
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The drugs makes me feel delusional. I also have paranoid thoughts on this medication, I am constantly fearful of people, events. I have tried all of the other medications for schizophrenia bipolar type. I don't understand how long am I to wait until one comes out that will make my mind not suffer. I cry out to God every night, and I am a weirdo during the day, I was once a happy teenager who is now suffering with sixteen years of schizophrenia and bipolar that made me do horrible and disgusting things to myself, which alienated me from my loves ones and friends. I have college degree and career degrees, and I do not know whether it is better to live or die for eight years as I am afraid of both and care less for either.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Gerom | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/30/2020
Condition: Schizophrenia
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I participated in the trial and they wouldn’t let me exit even though I tried over 5 times because my results were so bad. This probably didn’t just happen to me. The drug doesn’t work and Sharon Mates is now rich.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More