Show ratings & reviews for

3.4 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

62 People found this comment helpful

I've been taking depakote for 9 months and it has some what helped my mood swings, but it has really improved my concentration and anxiety problems. Depakote combined with adequate nutrition and exercise is the ultimate treatment for my bipolar dis order.People need to realize that medication alone will not provide them the best results. The worst thing about the depakote for me, is occasionally I...

Most voted negative review

9 People found this comment helpful

I hate this horrid medication.

Shared reviews and ratings

Maz2021 | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
9/30/2021
Condition: Bipolar I Disorder with Most Recent Episode Mixed
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It's been 5 years know and depokote has done nothing for me! I was on Lithium and I lost my Dr for reason not associated with me, I was off my meds for 6 months a long time I had a mass on my neck so I just didn't care I thought I would die anyway. That was surgically removed, know I am on depokote I was out in the hospital for almost 2 weeks didn't help me at all in the beginning but I gave it time 5 years is long enough. I need my lithium back.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
11/28/2020
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

One of the longest working medications for me. Slight hair loss. 750mg per day with 40mg paroxetine.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Schizoaffective life 23 | 25-34 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/26/2020
Condition: Rapid Cycle Manic-Depression
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medicine was given to me to help my rapid cycling bipolar episodes. When it was first given to me I was given a micro dose and felt no effect. Got off it but ended up in the hospital where it was prescribed at a much higher dose in addition to an anti psychotic. Despite high expectations for this being able to help with rapid cycling I have seen myself flip from that depression back to mania in a month. Will be discussing the with my doctor but think this is an important story to tell and keep in mind.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Adora27 | 65-74 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
5/17/2020
Condition: Petit Mal Epilepsy with Multiple Seizure Types
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am shaking so bad, I cannot do anything. I lost 25 pounds, since we are on lockdown. I am having dizzy spells, that I never had before. Whenever I go out, the public all notices how badly I am shaking. I took phenobarbital, for 66 years, because I was such a nervous person. Then, my doctor switched me to depakote.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Joanne | 65-74 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
2/18/2020
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on this medication for a number of years. It seems to really suppress my personality, especially in the winter. I wonder if it is time to try a different one,

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Clemmie | 55-64 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
1/8/2020
Condition: Migraine Prevention
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been suffering from morning headaches every day for 2.5 months.This resulted in taking my maxalt/rizatriptan every day to stop the pain and prevent full blown migraine from kicking in. Then I started having side effects from the maxalt since I was taking it so often. I have used maxalt for over 20 years for occasional migraine prevention. Taking it every day concerned me. My neuro PA tried several treatments for me, and the last time I saw him prescribed depakote. I took one (250 mg) pill at bedtime since it can cause drowsiness. He advised I work up to one pill in the morning and one at night once my body adjusted to it. THE NEXT MORNING after my first pill, I woke up headache-free. I have only had to take maxalt twice in the last month; probably because I drank alcohol a few times which can sometimes lead to a headache. They were not morning headaches. I am thrilled with this drug! No more 3-4am headaches waking me up requiring me to medicate. I never upped my dose to the am pill one since it seems to be working with just one at night. I'm going to go back to review my progress with my PA. I am not crazy about the side effects I have read about, but so far I haven't noticed anything but some back pain. I'm curious how long I will be on this drug. For me, at this time, it has been very effective in giving me my head back pain-free. I'm a fan.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
5/22/2019
Condition: Migraine Prevention
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took this for several years. Not sure it helped at all. I have Tinnitus now

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/19/2019
Condition: Bipolar I Disorder with Most Recent Episode Mixed
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication almost killed me. I had involuntary body ticks that were horrible. I barley could walk and talk. I also had a speech impermanent. Couldn't communicate with anyone for almost 6mo. Dont take this

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/15/2019
Condition: Bipolar I Disorder with Most Recent Episode Mixed
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I found Depakote did not help me. After an increase in the dose, I started to experience horrible palpitations that stopped, when I my doctor had me stop the drug.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
4/12/2019
Condition: Migraine Prevention
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had migraines for over 37 years. I have tried every preventive and abortive medications throughout the years known to man. Most of them had really bad side effects while others had no effect at all in preventing my migraines. My Neurologist decided to try me on Depakote about 9 months ago. I started slow with 500mg per day. Now I am taking 625mg per day. It has helped a lot with less migraines a month. But the last few months my hair started falling out by the handfuls and my legs have had some pain in them. I have an appointment with my doctor next week so I will see what he has to say. I don't want to go bald but this medication does help. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
5/23/2018
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Take the warnings about diabetes seriously. It did not work,I was dosed massively. Gained 50 lbs

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/15/2017
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've tried almost every drug out there over the last couple years and depakote was the only drug that has kept me stable.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
5/14/2017
Condition: Bipolar Disorder in Remission
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

On for 18 years, low to no side effects and effective - for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
John doe | 25-34 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
4/18/2017
Condition: Bipolar I Disorder with Most Recent Episode Mixed
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

For me it seemed to cause drowsiness to where it was very difficult to wake up in the mornings. I have gained at least 60 lbs in the 7 years I've been taking it. Caused a tremor. And if you miss a dose or 2 the bipolar side effects are going to strike hard after a couple of weeks. Would not recommend for someone in my circumstances.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mesaarizona | 45-54 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
1/26/2017
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This makes you really not care at all. I mentioned to my Psych, MD that I would take a few extra any time I knew I was going to be under stress or in an irritating environment self medicating. He switched me to Latuda and I have been going down on this. I feel 10X more alive no more drooling no more numb emotions I actually feel like myself

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
1/17/2017
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have been on Depakote oral dose for over 25yrs. Now take750mg.at bedtime. I'd like to know if anyone has had elevated ammonia levels from this med. Have to take lactulose 2xweek to evacuate ammonia in stool.....not pleasant. This rx. is working. Unable to reduce Depakote level without feeling "on edge". Also, hand tremor is quite noticeable. Any suggestions to bring down ammonia level would be appreciated.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
bruce | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/28/2016
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

this pill FOR ME caused suicidal thoughts 3 weeks after I started it --- PLUS worse depression -- anxiety - stree etc A HORRIBLE PILL for mild depression. There are so many pills that are much better and highly rated.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jan | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/11/2016
Condition: Bipolar I Disorder with Most Recent Episode Mixed
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My Psychiatrist (Resident) started me on 500mg of Depakote. At first, I had bad nausea, bad "hang-over" feeling in the morning. Then very severe side effects started after about a week: dizziness, could not walk a straight line (people thought I was drunk), Felt like bugs were crawling on me, extreme tiredness most of the day, needed a cup of strong coffee about every 2 hours just to stay awake at work}, couldn't remember simple things, like how to spell simple words or how to write easy sentences. Almost lost my job because the side effects were effecting my work. I quit taking Depakote on my own, by tapering off of it for about 5 days. Do NOT stop taking this drug cold turkey! The withdrawal side effects are very bad. Worst drug I have ever taken in my life and I have taken many drugs in the years I have dealt with bipolar disorder. This drug should be banned in America: it is banned in many other countries.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
migrainenomore | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/9/2016
Condition: Migraine Prevention
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It'd be hard for me to be more satisfied with this medication. I have suffered from Migraine for 20 years until I started a 250mg twice daily dose of Depakote. Despite getting them twice monthly, I have not had a Migraine headache since. I have also had no unsatisfactory side-effects from this medication. The two "side-effects" I *have* experienced have been a dramatic reduction in the amount of anxiety I experience and a strange effect that has made consuming alcohol unenjoyable. My alcohol consumption prior to Depakote was very occasional but alcohol generally made me feel more relaxed or had a positive effect on my mood. While taking Depakote, if I drink enough to feel the effects of alcohol (about a half of a glass of wine), it is accompanied by minor depression. I no longer consume any alcohol as a result and since I wasn't much of a drinker to begin with, this has been totally acceptable. I used to get Migraine episodes twice monthy, peeking in September and April at sometimes weekly. Episodes would last for about 3-days of intense pain, with aura and nausea followed by one day of listlessness (though no emotional depression). I have not had one single episode since starting this medication and have been taking it for two years without incident. This medication -- costing under $5/month -- has *completely* changed my life, reducing my anxiety not just by the medications direct effects but the indirect effect of not having to worry if I'll have a sudden, unexpected, horrible pain in my skull. I couldn't be more grateful.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
9/18/2016
Condition: Petit Mal Epilepsy with Multiple Seizure Types
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm happy that I don't have seizures and all, but for something that happens maybe 2-3 times a year, I wish I were on something not so strong. I think the biggest cause of my weight gain is that I don't have energy. When I was on a lower dosage, 500mg/day, I had a lot more energy. I had issues with nausea for the first couple weeks of the new dosage, 1,000mg/day, and I'm still sleeping 10-12 hours a night. I just hope I get used to it soon and I can start doing karate classes again without feeling like I'm going to fall asleep as soon as I get home. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More