Show ratings & reviews for

2.9 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

3 People found this comment helpful

I am a long time ( 20+ yrs) insomniac. Having tried every OTC, Medical Device and Rx for my issue, I was anxious to try the new DORA drugs. These drugs ( Belsomra and Dayvigo) work entirely different than the Z drugs and Benzo's. They stop the arousal or wakefullness neurotransmitters that are keeping so many of us awake. These drugs don't put you to sleep they allow you to sleep on your own accor...

Most voted negative review

1 People found this comment helpful

I've had problems sleeping for years and have tried almost everything OTC. The doctor has prescribed different meds and since this came out it was suggested I try it and see if it would work any better. Dayvigo 5mg once at night. 1st night I take it and it just felt like my brain and body were telling me to go to sleep. It did pretty good at first but during the day I felt kinda depressed but brus...

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/5/2022
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have struggled with my insomnia since I was 11 and over the years I’ve taken so many different medications to help and as usual over time they all stopped working. Was given Dayvigo to take and within 30-45 minutes of taking it I was hugging sir Johnny and up all night throwing up. High not recommend it. Tried to take a few different times thinking I may have had a bug but it was indeed the medication.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
J.A. | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/23/2022
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Finally something that works!!! I dont dread night time anymore. I do not experience the heavy side effects of other sedatives like slowness, feeling hungover, brain fog, lack of motivation, loss of interest, etc. Normally I can only sleep in 2-3 hour intervals with racing thoughts or I can still hear everything in my environment because Im in such a light stage of sleep. With Dayvigo, in the first time in years I am sleeping 7.5 hours and waking up feeling rested. I can think clearly upon waking and go on about my day without sluggishness. If you are coming off hypnotics I advise you to **wean off and let them get out of your system first** before passing on Dayvigo. A lot of these 1 star reviews sound like ambien withdrawal, not Dayvigo side effects! Dont forget ambien has a major dependency risk, which is why it stops working for a lot of people no matter the dose. This includes me! I do not experience nightmares or sleep paralysis from Dayvigo. It doesnt make me feel impaired when I take it, nor does it feel like Im being forced against my will to be knocked out. It feels gradual and NATURAL (amazing) that both my mind and body are tired and want to go to bed. I was nervous at first trying a new medication on the market, until I learned Dayvigo is different. Unlike hypnotics that are formulated to knock us out with sleep chemicals, Dayvigo calms down our neurotransmitters that are responsible for alertness and being awake. 8 prescriptions, several years, and a lot of torturous, sleepless nights later - I am practically beside myself something finally works, and without all the side effects. Please try it! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Hank Thib | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/19/2022
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My Psychiatrist prescribed this medication because nothing else has worked for me (benzos, melatonine, valerian, etc.), but I was very hesitant to try it because of negative reviews that related side effects I have experienced with several sleep/antidepressant medications. I have been suffering for 5 years from a severe treatment resistant depression with PTSD, CPTSD and dysthimia. I have had chronic sleeping problems for several years and no medication has helped aside from Zolpidem 5mg which only helps me falling asleep. My best nights were 2 blocks of more or less 3 hours of bad sleep waking up unrested, sad, depressed and anxious. Out of desperation I decided last night to give Dayvigo 5mg a try and it actually worked. I have had my first 7 hours of sleep in a very long time with only 3 minor/very short awakenings. Fell asleep withing 15 min. after taking the pill, took one Zolpidem 5mg in the middle of the night, fell back to sleep right away and slept another 3 hours. No dreams, no dizziness upon awakening, no side affect. I usually cry when I get out of bed, very anxious, but I only cried once this morning and no anxiety, which is quite exceptional. Will definitely try it again.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
James | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/12/2022
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The pill is absorbed very quickly, the average time for effect has been 15-30 minutes. You can resist it like other medications but eventually you will want to let it take you to sleep. No side effects listed other than an excellent sleep; also no brain fog or zone outs throughout the day.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
YS | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/5/2022
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Horrible drug, I have sleep insomnia and was taking zopiclone 7.5 mg, my body got used to it and started to be less effective. My doctor prescribed DayVigo 10 mg to replace it. I tried it one night and it was the worst night I had in my life. I felt totally wrong my heart was racing, all my body sensations were wrong, I felt I was in a terrible nightmare, I rate it 1 because there is no 0 or negative rating. I am writing this review hoping to help others avoid my horrible experience.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
TampaPBJ | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/26/2021
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Longtime 10+ years) user of Ambien 12.5mg ER. Rheumatologist suggested trying Dayvigo. He gave me a sample package. He suggested 5 mg to start and go to 10 if needed. First night was not good, no help falling asleep or staying asleep. Second night was slightly better at staying asleep (6hours), but did not help getting to sleep.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
B.Williams | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/26/2021
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've had problems sleeping for years and have tried almost everything OTC. The doctor has prescribed different meds and since this came out it was suggested I try it and see if it would work any better. Dayvigo 5mg once at night. 1st night I take it and it just felt like my brain and body were telling me to go to sleep. It did pretty good at first but during the day I felt kinda depressed but brushed it off and just thought maybe I had to let it work into my system. Sadly after awhile I'm lucky if I get a couple of hours of sleep at night. I was honestly looking forward to not taking anything that made me feel doped up.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/25/2021
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been having insomnia for about 3 weeks and was prescribed Dayvigo. First night. I fell asleep around 9p and woke up at 11:30p. Helped with getting you to sleep, didn't help keep you asleep. No side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Connie JM | 65-74 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/28/2021
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After only 2 nights of trying this medication at the lowest dose I could not tolerate the side effects. It did help me get to sleep however at 4 am both times I awoke in a manic/panic attack. Headache, blurred vision, shaking and unable to calm down. I thought I was losing it. Called the nurse line and was told not to continue with this medication.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/27/2020
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am a long time ( 20+ yrs) insomniac. Having tried every OTC, Medical Device and Rx for my issue, I was anxious to try the new DORA drugs. These drugs ( Belsomra and Dayvigo) work entirely different than the Z drugs and Benzo's. They stop the arousal or wakefullness neurotransmitters that are keeping so many of us awake. These drugs don't put you to sleep they allow you to sleep on your own accord. I had been using Belsomra for 2-3 years with pretty good efficacy. Not like being drugged with a Benzo but enough help to get 7 hours or more or less decent sleep.Belsomra is very $$ and Dayvigo is about 1/3 less $$ so I was anxious to see how it fared against Belsomra. I had been using 30 mg of Belsorma so I tried 10 mg of Dayvigo ( the free coupon is for 10 tablets of 5 mg) and can report it is more effective at keeping me asleep than the Belsomra after 2 nights trial use. It had been my experience, abruptly stopping the hypnotics and trying one of the new DORA drugs will be very frustrating. Your brain is still craving the GABA influence of the Z drugs or Benzo. One must totally eliminate or wash out the effects of these drugs before getting any type of positive results from these new Dual Orexin Receptor Antagonists, in my opinion. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Always Tired | 35-44 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/17/2020
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Iâ??ve taken 10 mg for 11 days and Iâ??m not sleeping any better. I havenâ??t felt any side effects other then maybe a headache but I think that may be unrelated.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More