Show ratings & reviews for

2.7 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

9 People found this comment helpful

I have only been using this product for a little over a month. I am very satisfied and have not experienced any of the side effects others have reported. I have recently been treated with breast cancer and my oncologist has recommended supplements of calcium and vitamin D.

Most voted negative review

8 People found this comment helpful

I'm trying to do some research on why this has happened, but am not finding any answers. Might just be me. I started taking the Multi-vitamin chew daily and from the second day, I started feeling achey and flu-like symptoms, just the body pain part and the wierd feeling you get.. so I stopped taking it. Then I started taking the Calcium chew for my Spondylosis and Scoliosis and it did the same ...

Shared reviews and ratings

Margana | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
8/26/2021
Condition: Post-Menopausal Osteoporosis Prevention
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have stage 4 metastatic breast cancer and must be on specific chemo drugs for the rest of my life to keep the cancer from eating my bones and killing me painfully. I have had 4 bone scans in the past year and it is clear that the calcium supplement I relied on, Viactiv chews, is not helping me at all. I chew two a day and thought the bone loss would be at a minimum. Turns out that calcium carbonate that is in Viactiv is the worst/cheapest calcium supplement and is not absorbed into your bones and teeth. My scan was so bad that they had a nutritionist contact me for a teleconference appointment and they told me I was essentially eating chocolate antacid this whole time. Now I am on a proper calcium regimen with red algae calcium (highly absorbed by the bones) with Vitamin K1 K2 (MenaQ7) D3 (from lichen) and Cissus Quadrangularis along with other minerals that chemo drugs have stripped from me. Viactiv is yummy but worthless if you have bone loss. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MammaMia | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/13/2021
Condition: Post-Menopausal Osteoporosis Prevention
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was encouraged by the fact that Viactive has vitamin K, to counteract low blood calcium and other negative symptoms. However I've noticed Viactive gives me knee pain and stomach discomfort (constipation-like). Viactive seems to have the ideal formulation but it causes negative symptoms in some people like me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Happy | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/6/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Obgyn said I needed more calcium to prevent osteoporosis. Every time I take viactiv, I am awakened in the middle of the night with severe shoulder or hip pain. I stop taking viactiv and no pain. I start up again, pain in hip and/or shoulder joints when sleeping. I only take viactiv with food.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Liz | 35-44 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/17/2020
Condition: Low Amount of Calcium in the Blood
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took this supplement for a week and a half. Two chewable a day. I noticed a headache after a few days, but thought nothing of it. Three days ago though, I started having severe body/ muscle pain (like the flu), hot flashes, and night sweats. The muscle pain is especially severe at night. Also, Iâ??m 44 years old and have never had a hot flash so I donâ??t think this is perimenopause. The bad thing about this whole experience is that the Covid 19 virus has been going around Illinois, and weâ??ve been on lockdown for almost three months. I was terrified that I had the Corona virus until I read these posts today. I havenâ??t been anywhere since the shelter in place began, my husband keeps reminding me this. But still, this has been a terrifying and painful experience. I stopped taking Viactiv three days ago, but Iâ??m still having these awful symptoms. Iâ??m hoping it just takes some time to get out of your body? Never again will I take this and I caution all of you, if you develop any of these symptoms, stop taking Viactiv immediately.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dee0514 | 35-44 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/6/2018
Condition: Vitamin D Deficiency
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm taking the generic Viactiv because they had caramel chews and Viactiv only had chocolate. They seem to work as any cuts I had seemed to heal fast as they weren't healing at all before but I'm having extreme fatigue and muscle an bonepain and fast heartbeat. I've been taking these about 2 weeks now and I'm probably going to stop I can't stand the fatigue or pain anymore

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
REVIEWER | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
7/8/2016
Condition: Osteoporosis
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

MY CALCIUM LEVELS ARE BETTER....BUT DON'T RELAY ONLY ON THIS, MY DIET IS HEALTHY

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Daisy | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/15/2015
Condition: Osteoporosis
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started this medication because my Dr. told me to for Osteoporosis. After taking it for a week and following the directions for 2 chews per day. I started getting terrible flu like symptoms, and terrible body aching. I generally felt horrible, like not myself. Also had some constipation. But the biggest problem was the total body aches & pains.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
OgrandmaO | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
8/27/2013
Condition: Osteoporosis
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had taken Viactiv for many years with no ill-effects. Then over time, I developed Pseudogout (calcium crystals, not uric acid)and could not pinpoint why I had such intense flareups, never never suspecting it could be the Viactiv. Then my podiatrist suggested, that although he is not a chemist, maybe flareups are related to the amount of calcium I take (was only taking one per day). I thought I'd give it a try and stopped taking the viactiv for a couple of months. Slowly the symptoms disappeared. Then one day I thought I was feeling pretty well and took a viactiv supplement. THE DIFFERENCE WAS DRAMATIC! Within about an hour, I had pain, swelling and flareup of the pseudogout site (ankle) which lasted for a couple of days. That is all I needed to convince me. No more viactiv for me! It is a good product but absolutely does not work with my chemistry!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
acs727 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/6/2013
Condition: Post-Menopausal Osteoporosis Prevention
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I realized, today, that the way I have been feeling all week is connected with the fact that, recently, I began taking Viactiv. Each morning, I’ve awakened to a slight headache. My throat began hurting this week and I thought I was getting a throat infection. Today, I awoke with severe indigestion. After being in bed all morning and most of the afternoon and taking pain pills, antacids, and digestive enzymes, I pondered if my problems might be associated with Viactiv. I, therefore, checked the packaging but it contained no warning or side effects. I therefore decided to research it on the Internet. Although I am relieved to learn why I have been feeling so lousy, all week, I am disappointed that I had to learn of these side effects from the Internet and not Viactiv. I am stopping this supplement immediately.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Caregiver
6/3/2013
Condition: Post-Menopausal Osteoporosis Prevention
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

easy to use,no trouble swalling, tasty

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lady5 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/4/2013
Condition: Prevention of a Low Amount of Calcium in the Blood
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am concerned that Viactive has Glycerine, a laxative, in it and it creates overly soft stool when I take 2 per day. The glycerine is no doubt added to the product to nullify the constipating effects of calcium. But can it be safe to be taking laxative every day?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/9/2010
Condition: Post-Menopausal Osteoporosis Prevention
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have taken this med only a short time but noticed headaches and really bad leg pain and cramping. It took me some time to realize the connection. I have also experienced fatigue. I plan to stop the med to see if I feel better but I'm confident it is the cause.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/6/2010
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started to take Viactiv because my physician told me I should increase my amount of calcium. The problem I noticed is the constant headache, I noticed every day I would take a tablet I would experience the headache so I decided to stop. I am not sure if happens to everybody but just in case pay attention and see if you have the same reaction.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/8/2010
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have only been using this product for a little over a month. I am very satisfied and have not experienced any of the side effects others have reported. I have recently been treated with breast cancer and my oncologist has recommended supplements of calcium and vitamin D.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/7/2010
Condition: Post-Menopausal Osteoporosis Prevention
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i also have flu like symptoms, plus spotting, i will stop taking these easy to chew and see what happens

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sue | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/3/2010
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My Dr suggested I take Viactiv and I have taken it for a week now. I experienced bad leg pain that affected my walking and very tired. I had loose stools and a lot of gas, then diarrhea. I wondered if it could be the Viactiv and started looking for information. I will not continue taking it after reading so many negative comments about it. I would think the label should include possible side effects. Thank goodness for the internet.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jt | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years |
4/10/2009
Condition: Prevention of a Low Amount of Calcium in the Blood
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been taking this chew for a couple of years, in the last year I have been very tired and have experienced periods of weakness, along with GI symptoms. My doctor found out I was taking this and told me to immediately stop because of its horrible ingredients. I have felt like a new person since I stopped taking Viactiv. I now have increased energy and less GI issues. I can't believe I've been suffering this long from taking this supplement. I have also talked to others who have taken this chew and they too experienced ill side effects. DO NOT TAKE THIS SUPPLEMENT!!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/28/2009
Condition: Osteoporosis
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have not taken Viactiv long enough to rate its effectiveness. I am reporting my experience in relation to possible allergic reaction. For the last 3 or 4 days after taking it for 2 weeks, I noticed getting a rash on both cheeks as well as flushing of my face, and a flare-up of shortness of breath and wheezing. (I have aspirin & NSAIDs-sensitive asthma.) Nothing else new was taken within this time. I suspect the fault lies with an additive, as "natural and artifical flavors" are listed.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous |
2/20/2008
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm trying to do some research on why this has happened, but am not finding any answers. Might just be me. I started taking the Multi-vitamin chew daily and from the second day, I started feeling achey and flu-like symptoms, just the body pain part and the wierd feeling you get.. so I stopped taking it. Then I started taking the Calcium chew for my Spondylosis and Scoliosis and it did the same thing. I have a hard time taking pills, so the chew was a perfect solution for me since you have to take these every day. But, I can't take them because it makes me feel horrible, the body aches are too much. Does anyone else have these problems I wonder...Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More