Show ratings & reviews for

3.6 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

8 People found this comment helpful

I have been so sick from a bacterial infection and strep throat.The coughing was pure torture.I couldn't sleep or eat.My P.A. prescribed Tessalon for my It's like a miracle,the coughing has stopped,but I do feel like I'm drunk,and it's difficult to concentrate,it's hard to walk a straight line.But that's the only side effect.If this happened again,I will be asking for this.I love it

Most voted negative review

1 People found this comment helpful

I took 200 mg 3 hours later no relief. I had high hopes but did not work for me. Unfortunately, the codeine cough syrup works the best so far.

Shared reviews and ratings

JenM | 25-34 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/30/2018
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I almost died because of this prescription. Mostly Dr. error, but beside the point. This medication is paralytic and if taken with other meds that have a sedative side effect, DO NOT TAKE.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dhc | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/28/2018
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication does absolutely nothing for my cough. Also it has not made me drowsy like other people have posted.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Caredd86 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/25/2018
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug did nothing for me at all. I took a 200mg dosage and within an hour took a second. Didn't touch my cough at all. The breathing treatments they gave me at the hospital def. Worked better.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
James Douglas | 65-74 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
5/25/2017
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had an acid reflux situation to the extent I had uncontrollable coughing. I went to a walk-in ER and the doctor discovered by X-ray that I had cracked four ribs from the coughing. He prescribed Tessalon 200 mg. Subsequent use has been very effective in ending the coughing.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dentwell | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/19/2017
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Totally ineffective, was given this med in ER. Coughed all night, no sleep and I think this med gave me a headache on top of everything else.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Gwyndalyn | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/31/2017
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Actually made me cough more.. I had to stop taking it.It did however make me sleepy which was a good thing... I was able to rest.... This Pill DID help my Mom when it was prescribed to her for which I am very grateful.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/29/2016
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MEM | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/1/2016
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Unfortunately, this does nothing for me. OTC cough syrup is just as effective for daytime relief. Cough syrup with codeine is the only rx that gives me nighttime relief.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/18/2015
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Dr gave me this medication to stop my cough from bronchitis and sinusitis. WORKS GREAT! Doesn't make me tired. I was finally able to sleep

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tony | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/17/2015
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Worthless

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/8/2015
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

this medication seems to make my cough worse. I do have copd

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MikeCO1977 | 35-44 | Male | Patient
12/31/2014
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

While on this prescription I have experienced no change or difference. However Tussionex (hydrocodone and chlorpheniramine) ® Pennkinetic® definitely does help and work.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/3/2014
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After 3 days of the taking this at 200mg I continued to cough & even worse! Very disappointed!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
coughy | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/5/2014
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

3x/day for 3 days with upper respiratory problems. Not only did I continue coughing during the day, but at night the frequency and intensity increased frighteningly. Huge disappointment.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/7/2014
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Coughed even harder. Used two days/nights, very ineffective. Called doctor for promethazine-codeine.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
tlc | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/12/2014
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medicine did not work at all for me. It made me cough violently and no sleep at all.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ChrisIce | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/7/2014
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took 200 mg 3 hours later no relief. I had high hopes but did not work for me. Unfortunately, the codeine cough syrup works the best so far.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
maryf | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/28/2013
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

They work GREAT!!! My first one stopped the cough!Seasonal sinus infection/post nasal drip, nagging, embarrassing, nonproductive cough spasms! Horrible! Nothing works but Tussionex, but that's too strong except at night! The new NP at my Dr's was about to prescribe codeine cough syrup (doesn't work). When I mentioned 'spasms', her face lit up and she asked if I'd ever tried Tessalon Perles. I had, probably 10 years ago, but thought they were off the market, forgot about them! Basically, they anesthetize cough reflex. Don't know why they aren't prescribed more. My husband remembers asking for them once, and his Dr. gave codeine instead! These are non-narcotic. Minimal side effects. Guess it depends on the type of cough, but this is a miracle drug for me!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mike | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/3/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I just came out of the hospital (4 Days) with some rather severe COPD issues. I was given this twice a day and it worked wonderful. I will use it again if needed.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sdf patient | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/17/2013
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication had an EXACT opposite effect than what it was prescribed for. It made me cough VIOLENTLY, so much so that I almost vomited a few times. Was supposed to suppress my cough so I could rest. I got NO SLEEP.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More