Show ratings & reviews for

4.4 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

35 People found this comment helpful

I have been taking this drug for almost one month and its been working well. Only question I have is my appetite has increased dramatically and I am constipated. Since it is the only new med I have been taking I can only attribute the side effects to this med. The upside for me, my heart is beating stronger than before, which I take is good.

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
12/7/2021
Condition: Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was on Tikosyn for 10+ years. All "was' fine until I was given IV Zofran for nausea. After 2 minutes receiving Zofran I went into respiratory arrest and then full cardiac arrest! Be very careful when getting prescriptions. There are "many" drugs that interact with Tikosyn. Zofran is definitely one!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lady Jean | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
2/24/2021
Condition: Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've taken this for over three years and it has kept my heart in normal rhythm. It does interfere with some other medications, and I am careful to check with my pharmacist when any new drug is ordered. I also regret this is so expensive (I am thankful for my insurance coverage).

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jbwhale | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/7/2020
Condition: Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Dofetilide returned my heart to normal rhythmn, for which I am very grateful. It does, however, have negative interaction with several other drugs. Be careful when using OTC meds, especially cold meds, and make sure your pharmacist knows, when filling a new prescription, to check for possible interactions.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Padawan | 65-74 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/22/2019
Condition: Prevention of Recurrent Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After two ablations, MAZE and Standard, this drug is working very well for me. I've gone from constant AFib to no AFib when I'm on time taking this and remember the Potassium Supplement (Very Important). Cardiologist does not want to perform a third ablation attempt (too much scarring) and suggests I'll take this drug from now on. I sure hope it works long term for me. For now I enjoy a normal life with the hope that significant advances in Ablations can happen in the future. They are very close to curing AFib. My second ablation looked like it cured me, but 4 months after the procedure, Constant AFib returned however it was without symptoms except on the EKG. The drug is excellent, and most folks can be cured with two ablations; I'm just a tough case and not a normal AFib patient.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Yelko37 | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/11/2018
Condition: Atrial Flutter
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Since I am taken this medicine I had almost all side effects. The doctor stopped the medicine three times. Now I am taken it since 4/23 and have no side effects except that I am always tired and want to sleep.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
saucon | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
10/7/2017
Condition: Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

side effects

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
rg | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
2/1/2016
Condition: Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have used this drug since 2009

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
handyandy | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/11/2015
Condition: Prevention of Recurrent Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

sometimes would start mild fibrillation that would subside within an hour or so

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bob | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
8/17/2014
Condition: Atrial Flutter
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
TorontoAFIBguy | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/6/2014
Condition: Atrial Fibrillation Electrically Shocked to Normal Rhythm
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

3 days in hospital at uptake Dec 2011. Was in permanent aFib before; electrocardioversion on day 3 of uptake into NSR and have been in NSR since. Downside has been side effects which include trembling, feeling of electricity coursing through my body, skipped heartbeats when Potassium is not optimal. Also "balloon head" from early awakening until mid-day. Recall exam in June 2014 will tell if my heart has shrunk - if so I am going to request catheter ablation to get my life back. Not sure at this point if the cure was better than the ailment. Time will tell.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
wa48lk48er | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/4/2011
Condition: Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i have been taking this for three year and i am fine.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mac daddy | On medication for 1 to 6 months |
8/22/2010
Condition: Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
esdfloors1 | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
2/27/2009
Condition: Atrial Fibrillation Electrically Shocked to Normal Rhythm
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been in normal rhythm now for over 5 years. This worked for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
[email protected] | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/25/2009
Condition: Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this drug for almost one month and its been working well. Only question I have is my appetite has increased dramatically and I am constipated. Since it is the only new med I have been taking I can only attribute the side effects to this med. The upside for me, my heart is beating stronger than before, which I take is good.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
cmt1315 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/24/2007
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was passing out 6-7 times a day. Tried multiple medications that never worked. Been on tikosyn for 2 years. Renewed my quality of life.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More