Show ratings & reviews for

3.0 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

2 People found this comment helpful

Today was only my second day of usage, and it has reduced my urination significantly. But I am now worried that i might be retaining urine! How can I tell?

Shared reviews and ratings

Frustrated | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/19/2022
Condition: Overactive Bladder
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The first week I took this was truly a miracle! Then the constipation I experienced was beyond AWFUL! Medication stopped working. Stuck it out for about 4 months, switched back to Myrbetriq, and the constipation is gone. Been on so many different meds and nothing really helping much anymore. Myrbetriq is better than nothing at this point.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ron | 75 or over | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/2/2022
Condition: Overactive Bladder
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication made my condition much much worse. Have stopped the drug and back to Vesicare. I do not recommend Gemtesa!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Garry | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/20/2022
Condition: Overactive Bladder
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

On the third day I experienced the same constipation that I’ve gotten from other meds. Had to stop taking and was back to normal in a day. This message is new so it isn’t covered by insurance. It costs over $500.00 per month.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Daughter | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
6/17/2022
Condition: Overactive Bladder
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My mother has been taking this medication for about 2 months. She has now experienced urine retention and was admitted to hospital because it caused acute kidney disease. She is now using a catheter and has stopped taking medication on 6/11/22. Does anyone know how long it will take before she's able to urinate again on my own? The Urologist couldn't answer that question for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anne | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/12/2022
Condition: Overactive Bladder
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was taking this med for OAB. It caused feet to swell but worse urine retention to the point that urologist wanted me to self Catherization which I refuse. I have immediately stopped this med since even on the Gemtesa site it’s mentioned the most serious side effect is urinary retention. I didn’t have this problem prior to taking Gemtesa.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anne | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/15/2022
Condition: Overactive Bladder
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Gemtessa significantly reduced urination but caused swelling in my feet. Even with taking Gemtessa daily, had major urine accidents through pads, underwear and pants. I am done with this medication.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Beka | Transgender | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/31/2022
Condition: Overactive Bladder
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I cannot tell that this medicine has slowed down my urge incontinence at all. I am SO frustrated.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jan | 65-74 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
1/26/2022
Condition: Overactive Bladder
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

When I first began using this medication, I found relief from my OAB. Now, about one year later, I think it is not working as well. My symptoms have returned and I am back to using pads and multiple layers of undies.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Gloria | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/17/2022
Condition: Needing to Urinate Immediately
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Great response on second day. I take a combination blood pressure pill with a diuretic. I’m able to find a bathroom in time and eventually stopped wearing incontinent products depending on my location.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jlow | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/13/2022
Condition: Overactive Bladder
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

While this medication did work to stop my OAB symptoms, after taking it for 2 weeks my whole body and scalp were itching. I began losing TONS of hair every day. Like handfuls of hair were suddenly falling out. As soon as I realized it was the medication, I stopped taking it and my hair loss also slowed down almost immediately. Be very careful with this medication!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Hanh Nguyen | 75 or over | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/9/2021
Condition: Overactive Bladder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After used this sample for just a week. It really help me compare with some OAB drugs I use before.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Salim | 75 or over | Male | On medication for less than 1 month |
7/2/2021
Condition: Overactive Bladder
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Today was only my second day of usage, and it has reduced my urination significantly. But I am now worried that i might be retaining urine! How can I tell?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More