Show ratings & reviews for

3.9 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

38 People found this comment helpful

This Drug works great & has been the only one that I have found that helps me. WARNING... I was tested for a drug screen in the ER & tested POSITIVE for THC (marijuana)! I was shocked & suprised~ I do not smoke! I made them retest!!! Tested Postive a 2nd time! I found out later that Protonix can make you test positive for THC on a drug test. The bad part was my Dr that I had did not know abo...

Most voted negative review

10 People found this comment helpful

Was still experiencing acid reflux especially during the night sleeping. With that and worried about side effects over time decided to stop taking it. Experienced even more severe heartburn after stopping. Seems it altered my stomach chemistry and made things worse.

Shared reviews and ratings

Golden | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
6/18/2022
Condition: Medication Treatment for Healing Erosive Esophagitis
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Pantoprazole/Protonix works however after gaining 25lbs I recently stop taking it. Weight gain is getting out of control. I have been on PPIs for over 5 years and I noticed weight gain within a month. Went back on Pepcid. Just hope it doesn't take a long time to lose this weight. I can tell you for a fact it is the medication. Never had to worry about weight until I started taking these PPis

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
GERD sufferer | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
5/19/2022
Condition: Excessive Production of Stomach Acid
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication helps my GERD symptoms. No issues whatsoever. Used to take it when I knew I was going to have a acidic meal or alcohol. Found that consistent use is best and my doctor said it is perfectly fine to take 40mg everyday regardless of diet. I sometimes take 20mg bid just to be sure I am covered for the day so I can rest at night.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Shelly | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/9/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Not feeling well in myself at all and doesn't help I get burning feeling in my throat. And in my mouth and hurts my teeth. I have inflammation of the stomach lining and mild gastritis.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/18/2022
Condition: Condition in which Stomach Acid is Pushed Into the Esophagus
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was diagnosed with 3 peptic ulcers after an endoscopy bc I was 24/7 feeling nauseas and in pain in the upper GI . My GI doctor put me on protonix 40mg once a day 30 min before breakfast. I have been feeling even worse with constant unbearable nausea, bloating and stomach cramping ! It has increased my anxiety worse then it has been in 2 years ! It’s been over a month and after today’s episode I will no longer continue this medication! The side effects are not worth it and make the me feel like death Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Amethyst | 13-18 | Nonbinary | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/7/2021
Condition: Inflammation of the Esophagus with Erosion
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Best medication I have been on for my GERD

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
brad | 65-74 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
4/11/2021
Condition: Indigestion
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I seemed to have gained weight in my mid-section. I have not eaten anymore then before I started taking this. I think I will taper off.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
oliveira | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/25/2020
Condition: Condition in which Stomach Acid is Pushed Into the Esophagus
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

worried about side effects

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Deediego43 | 19-24 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/2/2019
Condition: Bleeding from Stomach, Esophagus or Duodenum
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took this medication along with my other blood pressure medicine and i am a medical marijuana patient and after i smoked like i usually do it triggered me to have a full on anxiety attack , i was also feeling very delusional. It was one of the worst feelings in my life . Please research before you take any medicines I wouldn’t want anyone else to feel how i felt for those two days .

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Pauly | 65-74 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/23/2019
Condition: Inflammation of the Esophagus with Erosion
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took this for two weeks only, but didnâ??t feel well. I then had the most excruciating pain in my right shoulder, so stopped it altogether. Feeling better already. Raised my bed ,and making dietary changes, so hope that helps with the acid reflux. No more medications for me !!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
RoseK | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
9/24/2018
Condition: Conditions of Excess Stomach Acid Secretion
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have now been diagnosed with scurvy. I found a lot of references to PPi’s reducing your Vit C. Do we need a warning and suggestion to get levels checked periodically?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
VET TECH | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/26/2018
Condition: Bleeding from Stomach, Esophagus or Duodenum
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This crap bloated my stomach to 3 x its normal size it was horrible and inhumane, it also made my face and hands swell and it made me have trouble breathing and made my chest and throat ache, I took this crap for only 3 days until I figured out that I must be allergic to it or something, also I had every side effect of it and not just the allergic reaction parts. This drug is dangerous period !! DO NOT TAKE IT !!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Donna | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/4/2018
Condition: Bleeding from Stomach, Esophagus or Duodenum
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Within 1 day I had a horrible reaction. My legs and feet itched so bad I had to take scalding hot showers and sleep sitting up. Nothing relieved the pain. It took two weeks after stopping the drug to be normal.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
patient on fire | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/3/2017
Condition: Heartburn
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

makes my mouth dry, got pain in my abdobmen whem i wake up in the morning

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/30/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had irritation of the stomach, hiatal hernia, and irritation of the duodenum. The 1st 4 days were great. Then for the last 6 weeks it's been either painful cramping w/ bloating or esophageal pain. I never had this much intense pain in my esophagus ever! I've lost weight which I can ill afford. I'm considering taking 1/2 to see if that helps.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/25/2017
Condition: Heartburn
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
natural believer | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
5/31/2017
Condition: Condition in which Stomach Acid is Pushed Into the Esophagus
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

With horrible acid reflux, I have been on this medicine for years, in the very beginning, for a short year or two, it seemed to help quite a bit, but then, afterward, it really didn't do anything. Then when I reached the 5th years on, it seemed to do more harm than goods. My acid reflux problem was worsen, let along all the side effects I encountered. So one day, I decided to drop it completely, and since the, my acid reflux actually got better. So this medicine alike with many conventional medicines, are just for quick short term fix. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/18/2017
Condition: Excessive Production of Stomach Acid
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started this about 2 weeks ago and iam having serve leg cramps nausea and vomiting bad sideaffects not happy

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Colleen | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
3/27/2017
Condition: Condition in which Stomach Acid is Pushed Into the Esophagus
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this for a year and it was quite effective for several months. However, the last 3 months I've had a lot of acid reflux and burning in my throat and this medication seems to have lost its effectiveness. I'm very careful what I eat so my diet is not the problem.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/23/2017
Condition: Excessive Production of Stomach Acid
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My stomach was producing excessive amounts of acid due to the diet I was on to gain muscle and weight. My stomach was literally attacking me and causing me severe pain and diarrhea. I went to my Dr and he prescribed me this medication and I'm doing much better. I still experience stomach aches from time to time, but overall they occur so much less than before. I still have a few weeks to go on it and I hope that I can get back to more normal diet for myself so I can really hit it hard in the gym again.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
11/4/2016
Condition: Condition in which Stomach Acid is Pushed Into the Esophagus
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Is it best to take protonix in the am or pm

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More