Show ratings & reviews for

3.6 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

38 People found this comment helpful

I was diagnoses with an hiatal hernia which causes occasional heartburn especially lying down. I did not want to continue on the various 24hr acid reducer perscriptions because of side effects etc. I felt that I just needed to protect my esophagus from acid damage at night. I am happy to say that after 10 years of nightly use and a follow up endoscopy, my esophagus is VERY healthy!

Most voted negative review

3 People found this comment helpful

it has not work for me It gave me heart palpatitions

Shared reviews and ratings

Fiona | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/16/2022
Condition: Condition in which Stomach Acid is Pushed Into the Esophagus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking 20 mgs at bedtime to prevent GERD cough which had me clearing my throat and coughing throughout the day and, at times, at night. Taking this has decreased my coughing and throat clearing by about 90%. Happy with it so far. Have been doing this for a few weeks.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Captain Lar | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/29/2022
Condition: Indigestion
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed Pepcid two months ago for Stage 1 GERD. (I also had a clear Endoscopy a week ago.) I figured if it was prescribed it has to be good. I have not felt like myself since I started this stuff. I finally searched the side effects. No wonder I am feeling lousy... heart palpitations, dry mouth, diarrhea, muscle aches, much less stamina in the gym and bedroom, etc... As of today, I am done with it. Hopefully I get back to my old self.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Meggie | 35-44 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/2/2021
Condition: Prevent Indigestion
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on Pantoprazole for years. Doctor all of a sudden wants me to change to pepcid. It doesn't last the day. I have had days with all day heartburn where I then have to grab the tums or I feel terrible. I have been at work and had throw up almost come up. I tell my doctor that it's not working, so she tells me to go see my gastro doctor. The earliest he had open was 2 months away. My primary doctor is obviously fine with me suffering. The prescription brand is no better then the OTC brand. I have gastritis. I would not recommended this product as a preventative. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Reflux case | 65-74 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/22/2020
Condition: Heartburn
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Pepcid does not work for me as well as Zantac, which is now off the market. Pepcid gives me flu-like symptoms: chest pressure, feverish, body aches, much fatigue

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
WannaHelpOthers | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/30/2020
Condition: Heartburn
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I tried taking the pill after I felt the heartburn which is the wrong way to use this pill. You need to take it before you eat foods that give you heartburn as described in this article and then it works perfectly. Make sure you drink 8oz of water with it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jc | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/24/2020
Condition: Heartburn
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I basically was prescribed this for GERD. I wish I had never taken this medication. I'm depressed, filled with anxiety and my upper body hurts in the muscles. Mostly my arms, mostly the LEFT with tingling which scares me!! I'm still belching and having heartburn anyway. This is like a nightmare. :(

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Archie | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/20/2019
Condition: Heartburn
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I see quite a few people online have experienced heart palpitations. I had very bad palpitations when taking Pepcid ac Extra Strength. So bad that they’d wake me up in the night and I’d have to walk around for a good hour for them to fully go away!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Skeeter | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/7/2018
Condition: Condition in which Stomach Acid is Pushed Into the Esophagus
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed generic Pepcid 40 MG by my doctor (one tablet twice a day). In the third week of therapy, I became very depressed. It felt like a black dark sphere had entered my brain. I am never depressed. Basically, depression is just not me. I discontinued the medication and within a month all symptoms of depression were gone.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bettea | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
5/25/2015
Condition: Inflammation of Esophagus from Backflow of Stomach Acid
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After having an Endoscopy, I was diagnosed with Esophagitis, a condition that can lead to Esophageal cancer. I was prescribed a Proton Pump Inhibitor (PPI). After researching that they have potentially serious side effects of bone loss in older adults, causing hip fractures and teeth falling out due to jaw bone loss, I requested another option. My Doctor prescribed Pepcid. I began taking Pepcid (famotidine) 20 mg., once per day, 30 minutes before bed. It worked great, I can buy it over the counter and it is not expensive. Try this first before a PPI, and good luck!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
11/23/2014
Condition: Condition in which Stomach Acid is Pushed Into the Esophagus
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have taken 10 mg Generic Famotidine tablets prior to bed as needed for 6 months to control GERD. Recently, I find that I experience heart palpitations and shortness of breath 1 hour after oral administration.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Handytim | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/18/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Had to go to ER for analyptic shock due to ingesting half a dose of new multi-vitamin supplement that had spirulina in it...they stabilized me w/ IV w/ Benadrl and Pepcid, explaining that Pepcid is an also a histamine 2 blocker(news to Me) Its beeen a slow recovery but most swelling to my face in gone, and Ive taken both drugs by mouth for 10 days now, along antibiotic and a short dose of prednisone

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Blanche | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/22/2013
Condition: Inflammation of the Esophagus with Erosion
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Just diagnosed with this so far so good. must take it two times a day for 8wks.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
abdellah | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/22/2013
Condition: Excessive Production of Stomach Acid
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

ulcer stomach

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
11/26/2012
Condition: Condition in which Stomach Acid is Pushed Into the Esophagus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

presure in the epigastric region it is,this leads to elevation of the diaphragm, and secondary displacement of the heart causing stimulation of the vagus nerve and a variety of cardiac symptoms, e.g. arrhythmia, sinus bradycardia, Causes my heart to race very fast. As long as I take atleast one or two pepcid's a day, I don't have this problem. I did have a cardiac ablation to stop the heart beats from going over 200 bpms, but I still have the bumping up of the gas that bumpts up my heart beat, I can feel it when it does it and I take a pepcid when it starts. They had given it to me in IV at the emergency room one time to stop the problem. I do not take more that 10mg at a time though.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Flo | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/3/2011
Condition: Treatment to Prevent Heartburn
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This med is great to take at nite for heartburn ( I have a 40 mg perscription - generic ) . But I can't take for daytime - it makes me too dizzy and headache thru-out the day.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bob | 75 or over | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/20/2011
Condition: Heartburn
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Eliminated symptoms and allowed me to sleep. One tablet in the morning and one at night. don't forget to drink a full glass of water after swallowing chewable tablet. May need additional tablet at bedtime if acid reflux or indigestion is active. No negative reactions. No bad side effects. Great product for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/30/2011
Condition: Heartburn
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication worked, but the skin problems developed were horrible. A rash on the thighs, back and chest and leg swelling twice the normal size. The skin is black and pebbly, and I had to be put on antibiotics to get rid of the secondary infection. Not a safe product as far as I am concerned.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Granny | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
2/11/2010
Condition: Indigestion
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

First off my granddaughter was told by her kidney doctor to take Pepcid.It worked for her so I was using Rolida"s and still having trouble.Started using Pepcid and it works right off.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
lee | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
1/27/2010
Condition: Heartburn
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was diagnoses with an hiatal hernia which causes occasional heartburn especially lying down. I did not want to continue on the various 24hr acid reducer perscriptions because of side effects etc. I felt that I just needed to protect my esophagus from acid damage at night. I am happy to say that after 10 years of nightly use and a follow up endoscopy, my esophagus is VERY healthy!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
vineseeker | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
11/12/2009
Condition: Condition in which Stomach Acid is Pushed Into the Esophagus
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have been dealing with acid reflux for over a year, longer but not consistent like now. Tried Prilosec, Nexium, Zantac, digestive enzymes, alkaline diet, alkaline water, Aciphex, Tums, etc. What I did not like about Pepcid was that after a couple of months I developed breathing problems and heart palpitations. These symptoms required that I sleep sitting up along with the return of acid reflux. I refused to increase the dosage from 10 mg to 20 mg. As I would be dozing off each evening I would suddenly awaken by what felt like I stopped breathing and my heart stopped beating. It became very scary. Two days ago I decided to stop the Pepcid altogether and the breathing has become less laborious. Last night I only awoke to one episode of sudden (seemingly) heart failure. However, I do experience the acidic stomach and will try Prevacid next. Some of the reviews on it are somewhat promising. The Prilosec made me jittery and dizzy. As did most of the PPI's. Here's hoping the Prevacid, although a PPI, will be different. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More