Show ratings & reviews for

3.8 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

1 People found this comment helpful

Background: Male, 58 years old. Vaccinated and double boosted. Symptoms started on Saturday July 23rd or Sunday. Test negative on Sunday night. Slept well on Sunday night. Slept horribly on Monday night with lots or hard coughing and fever. Tested positive on Tuesday morning and acquired Paxlovid by early Tuesday afternoon (Day 3 or 4 from symptom onset). By Tuesday afternoon still had fever, wa...

Most voted negative review

1 People found this comment helpful

After taking 5 day.....Rebound covid 10 days later..

Shared reviews and ratings

Matt | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/13/2022
Condition: experimental treatment for COVID-19
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Never been vaccinated. Caught Covid a year ago while delta was dominant and again early August 2022. I am in my early 50s. A bit overweight but otherwise healthy. No daily medications or health issues. This time took Paxlovid. Not a single bad experience or side effect. I had no metallic taste or any off taste ever while taking this medication and noticed improvement rather quickly after just a day. I began taking it after 1 day of being positive and I always ate something prior to taking medication though I don’t know that made any difference. I also never lost taste or smell this go around which was my first symptoms a year ago. I don’t know if that had impact on me never getting the bad metallic taste others report. I would recommend this medication given how severe my cough was the first time around. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JN | Male | Patient
8/13/2022
Condition: experimental treatment for COVID-19
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

MAKING ME FEEL LIKE I HAD NO CONTROL OVER MY BODY NOR MY MIND SOMETHING LIKE AN "OUT OF BODY" EXPERIENCE AND SOON AFTER I KIND OF CAME TO... LIKE I WAS DAYDREAMING BUT I CAME BACK TO REALITY!!! ALSO IT GAVE ME HORRIBLE "UPSET STOMACH" ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS LIKE I WAS GONNA THROW UP REAL BAD FOR ABOUT AN HOUR AND A HALF EACH TIME I TOOK A DOSE!!! HAS ANYONE ELSE HAD SUCH AS THIS HAPPEN TO THEM TO OR IS IT JUST ME?!?!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Robyn | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/13/2022
Condition: experimental treatment for COVID-19
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’m not sure when I was exposed bumpy I tested positive yesterday. This all began with some leg cramps and then vomiting with severe back pain. Then, fever, chills, headache, elevated blood pressure and heart rate. Oxygen was fluctuating between 91-95. I have had 3 doses of Paxlovid and I’m way way better. The taste- well it tastes like tonic water to me, which now I understand the grapefruit references. And I actually combat the taste with ginger ale and pickle juice lol. I saw others were using pickles too. I do still have an upset stomach but no throwing up or diarrhea. No more headache, no body aches or fever. Cough developed last night but it’s manageable and I’m hoping to see that disappear by morning God willing. Oh- but two days before I got Covid I got a horrible rash! Anyone else with a rash????? Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Knowledgeseek | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/11/2022
Condition: experimental treatment for COVID-19
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Vaccinated and boosted 43 year old female. I am overweight (although lost 25lbs this past year due to diet and exercise). Tested negative twice with at home test, but felt bad so got the PCR test and was positive. Within hours I had a fever of 102.8, throat felt like strep throat pain, bones ached like hell, headache, and nauseous. I even hard a hard time thinking. I had all of that while loaded up with Advil. Got prescribed Paxlovid same day I tested positive due to how fast I was taken down. Within hours of taking Paxlovid I felt better. I will be taking my 5th dose in a couple of hours. I think this drug saved my life. The cons: heartburn pretty bad at night. Weird taste but I am drinking a gallon of water (for real) a day, so not terrible. It's like you have a Tylenol pill stuck in your mouth. The worst for me is the acidic diarrhea. I cannot emphasize how bad it smells and how acidic it is. It makes me wonder if I will be able to continue the treatment due to the pain. I swear it is tearing me up. I am looking for signs of liver issues and don't see any thus far, but man... this acidic diarrhea is like the Gom Jabbar from the movie Dune. I hope there are no long term issues, but I can say the same thing about COVID.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Deanna | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/11/2022
Condition: experimental treatment for COVID-19
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on my 3rd day of horrible covid symptoms. These pills helped me feel better with the first day of use. However the effect of these was a horrible metallic sour taste all day and night long. Cinnamon candies help but only shortly.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Simmylee | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/11/2022
Condition: experimental treatment for COVID-19
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It gives you a poison taste all day long I've also been nauseas and unable to eat a thing until the 12 hours is up each time

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Urbansuburban | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/10/2022
Condition: experimental treatment for COVID-19
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Taking the pills has seemed to have changed course for my Covid. My extreme lethargy and pounding headaches were finally relieved. The one jarring side effect I noticed upon starting is the severely foul taste in your mouth that lingers. What I found helped relieve this awful taste was taking the pills immediately after I ate a starchy meal like pizza or sandwich. I found most relief when taking pills after eating a bowl of cream of rice made with milk (I didn't notice the taste until about 7 hours later, which was a win for me). I'm on day 3 and the taste is noticeably less, I haven't had to suck on mints all day long like day 1! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
A person just you | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/10/2022
Condition: experimental treatment for COVID-19
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm a 41/yr old female. I have mild seasonal asthma but I am obese. Originally I thought I was having my normal allergies with itchy eyes, scratchy throat, sneezing alot... unfortunately that was just the beginning.. two days later I found put that I was exposed to covid. I got tested that Thursday didn't get my results back until that Saturday. By then I was getting worse.. the wheezing, sneezing, itching eyes but now the fever which then I knew was NOT allergies but something else. Well the pcr test came back Negative ?? but I was feeling bad and was in fact getting worse. (The last time I caught covid was 2.5 years ago I ended up in the hospital for 8 days!!!) So I scheduled an appointment for Monday. However that Saturday night i developed body pain i've never had before.. it was soo bad i had to take prescribed medication that i had left over from a surgery that i never had to freaking use!! Im thankful that i had it put up instead of throwing it way (i hate wasting things). None of the OTC pain meds helped with the pain. However, I still did not expect the rapid test to come back positive on monday but it did. (Thought i had the flu for the 1st time) That explained EVERYTHING smh. I was prescribed Paxlovid started taking it the same day i found out i was actually positive... I'm currently on day 3.. I will say that right from the start like 2 or so hours after taking it i had the most horrible taste in my mouth! It tastes like copper/metal/grapefruit rinds mixed up in one! My mouth later was so dry that the akin on my lips was peeling ?? when I woke on day 3 of the meds.. all of this even though I drink a gallon of water daily!! I'm also urinating a lot more day/night which is highly annoying because I'm already tired. I had a little diarrhea but not much..... BUT I do feel the difference that this med has made. My nose is no longer all clogged up, I'm not sneezing, no fevers, no itchy watery eyes. I still have some body aches but they are not as severe as before and I do still have a cough but it's no where near as bad when I first caught covid. I'm no longer wheezing but I'm still short of breath some (I just use my rescue inhaler when that happens) I've also noticed that I get sleepy a few hours after taking this medication. No skin rashes. No other issues with this med. I actually do feel better but still not completely well. Hopefully this changes by day 5 but so far my only complaint is the horrible horrible taste... otherwise I'm greatful that im not back in the hospital with this crap.. especially now with all the staffing shortages in the medical field. Thank you to whoever created this drug! It's kept me out the hospital ?? yay me!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Wen | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/10/2022
Condition: experimental treatment for COVID-19
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took this because of underlying medical issues Metallic taste horrible but seemed better when took on empty stomach and cinnamon candy. Had problems with blurry vision and drugged feeling Covid symptoms improved after about 4 doses but maybe would of anyway Just helps keep from getting seriously ill and out of hospital I guess Hopefully no long term side effects

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nancy | 75 or over | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/10/2022
Condition: experimental treatment for COVID-19
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took 1st dose in the evening. Within minutes a horrible metallic taste developed in my mouth and lingered for hours. I simply could not tolerate that taste dor 9 more doses, and chose to discontinue use.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ken | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/10/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Taste was awful like everyone said, I ate some Jewels spicy wingets to alter the taste, Seems like it offset the bad taste. Maybe it has something to do with the the spicy heat of the wing..

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Oscar Cediel | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/9/2022
Condition: experimental treatment for COVID-19
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Give me confidence. The symptoms didn’t improve quickly but in two days I started to feel better. I can’t certify how much this drug help me but it’s better than nothing. I had three vaccines before. The bitter taste at the beginning of the treatment is not too bad. I don’t have side effects until now. I want to thank our government to deliver the treatment without cost and the well organized healthcare system to deliver the dozes.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Theresa | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/9/2022
Condition: experimental treatment for COVID-19
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am day three into taking paxlovid. My first symptoms were sore throat that developed into a severe headache. I tested negative for two days then the third day with a fever I tested positive. I have some comorbidities so getting paxlovid was a mission. Within 24 hours I could feel relief in my throat and congestions. Yes the bad taste is pronounced but I’ll deal with it and I heard dill pickles is a solution…going to give it a try. Paxlovid a game changer. Hoping for no rebound.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Transgender | Patient
8/9/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was positive of COVID , I started taking this medicine right away, horrible after taste, but is worth it, I got better after second day if taking this medicine, only after 3 days of taking this medicine, I felt my heart raising, shortness of breath, tingling on my right arm, both arms, tingling sensation, after almost 4 days after taking the medicine, sweats, and fatigue

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ZR | 35-44 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/8/2022
Condition: experimental treatment for COVID-19
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have asthma which was very intense immediately when I got COVID and was able to get Paxlovid on day 5, I actually started feeling like my fever broke an hour before starting the pill. The first night I couldn’t sleep after taking Paxlovid, had heart palpitations and gas pains and had diarrhea the next morning. I hadn’t had any stomach issues previous with my COVID symptoms. After that the nausea improved and only one more loose stool. I experienced bitter/metallic/grapefruit rind taste but it wasn’t terrible. After 2 doses I was up and about after 3 days in bed, but I’m not sure if that was due to the Paxlovid or not since I started feeling better prior. Finished the course this morning, unfortunately still testing positive but I feel fine, just a few lingering cold like symptoms and some tiredness. I’m glad there is something to take for piece of mind, but it does feel like serious medicine, and I’m honestly not sure if I felt different than if I hadn’t taken it. Grateful to be improving. Sending everyone love who is reading this, COVID is intense, wild to finally get it after 2.5 years of trying to avoid, masking, vaccines, etc. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/8/2022
Condition: experimental treatment for COVID-19
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started Paxlovid two days after my COVID-19 diagnosis. My husband started it before I did without any side effects and experienced great results. It was a different story for me; the bitter metallic taste would not go away, and I developed a severe sore throat the following day that felt as though my throat was on fire. It was excruciatingly painful to swallow, sleep, eat, or talk due to hoarseness. I sent a message to the MD who prescribed it but never heard back. I carefully read the fine print about side effects and allergic reactions. Difficulty swallowing and hoarseness were two of several adverse reactions listed with a warning to discontinue the medication. After stopping the medication, I felt immediately better and was able to swallow and eat again. The "normal" COVID symptoms are miserable but tolerable after Paxlovid adverse reactions.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JoyM | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/8/2022
Condition: experimental treatment for COVID-19
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The only drawback is that it leaves a awful aftertaste in your mouth that you can’t get rid of regardless of how much you’re brushing your teeth or even brushing your tongue and palate. It’s like waking up with bad breath from a long night of drinking.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Annie | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month |
8/8/2022
Condition: experimental treatment for COVID-19
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My husband picked up the Paxlovid for me early morning day 4 of my COVID, but I wasn't going to use it based on the reviews I had read. I had all the COVID symptoms except fatigue, and decided I would just ride it out. But late afternoon on day 4, I started getting pains in my chest and my fever spiked. Since I am prone to getting pneumonia, and the pain I was feeling was similar to how I feel when I'm starting to get pneumpnia, I decided to take the Paxlovid. All my symptoms were gone within 24 to 36 hours. I had none of the negative side affects from taking the pills except the bad taste which was bearable. The bad taste came 90 minutes after taking each pill and subsided after 7 or 8 hrs. I took the pills at 9am and 9 pm, so I didn't have that bad taste at breakfast or at a 6:30pm dinner. Within 2 days of finishing the five days of taking the pills, a couple of my symptoms (sneezing and runny nose) came back, but not anywhere near as severe as before. My 72 yr old husband got COVID soon after and took the Paxlovid within 2 days, he said he could barely taste a metallic taste. He is a smoker, so that could possibly have something to do with why he didn't have the awful taste. His symptoms went away within a day and never got as bad as mine had been. He did not get any relapse of symptoms when he finished his five days of pills. Overall, we both had a positive experience with taking the Paxlovid. The scary part of getting COVID is not knowing if your symptoms will get worse and end you up on the hospital, so we are thankful. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DavidB | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/8/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was exposed to COVID 7/31, the next day I started showing symptoms,8/1. I even tested negative. By Tuesday morning 8/2 I had an excruciating headache and a cough. That same night symptoms got worse and had to go to the ER. Even though my sypmtoms were "mild" I was still prescribed Paxlovid. I was able to get my medication till the next morning and my headache had gotten worse. I received my meds on 8/3 about 10am. By 5pm the same day my cough was almost gone and I could breathe way better. I was still pretty fatigued and my head was splitting. The next day I was better 8/6. Finally able to get out of bed headache was gone but still tired. All sypmtoms were gone just a slight cough.Took my last dose yesterday and I feel almost like myself but I did experience heart racing and some anxiety. HORRIBLE TASTE in my mouth, grapes do really work, chicken soup doesn't!! Other than that, it was a life saver! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/7/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I feel grateful I had the opportunity to use this medication. The drawback was the horrible taste however I was able to successfully counteract this by chewing chewies.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More