Show ratings & reviews for

3.9 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

1 People found this comment helpful

really helped my symptoms and quickly however gave me a horrible taste in my mouth, vaginal yeast infection

Most voted negative review

1 People found this comment helpful

I have just read the reviews and I was so glad to hear that quite a few people had posted about the taste issue. I have recently tested positive for COVID and my dr. prescribed this medication for me. The pills make the back of my tongue feel like liver bile has cemented itself to it and there's nothing I can do to get this putrid taste out of my mouth. I tried everthing, but nothing worked.I am...

Shared reviews and ratings

Concerned Patie | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
6/29/2022
Condition: experimental treatment for COVID-19
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My mom and I were taking paxlovid simultaneously and she has had a positive experience with it (She is considered high risk). I, however, had horrible side effects. I was experiencing the metallic taste in my mouth, severe dizziness, blurred vision and sudden waves of high temperature and sweats. I'm on day 4 and I can't wait for this treatment to be over. It did cure the COVID symptoms but the severe dizziness and blurred vision made this treatment unbelievably uncomfortable.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
NormaM | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/29/2022
Condition: experimental treatment for COVID-19
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication was a nightmare!!! My doctor prescribed this to me due to a bad experience with Covid the first time around. After two full days of taking the medication I begin to experience heart palpitations, headaches and a horrible taste in my mouth. On the third day after taking my medication in the morning I began to experience rapid heart rate dizziness, headache, blurred vision. I’ve never had issues with my blood pressure and have always been pretty healthy. Upon checking my blood pressure at home it was way higher than normal and began rising by the hour. Ended up in ER with BP almost 200!! Was admitted for 2 days to regulate my BP. My doctor believes it was caused by the Paxlovid. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Happy | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/29/2022
Condition: experimental treatment for COVID-19
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Felt noticeably better the second day of the medicine, and even better than that by day three (other than the fatigue). I do have that bitter taste, and just I’m hoping that it will get better when I’m done with the five day course of Paxlovid.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sandy S. | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/29/2022
Condition: experimental treatment for COVID-19
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have lung issues and for about two months have been experiencing a very tight chest with lots of mucous and congestion, shortness of breath, etc. I tested positive for Covid on Monday and was also told I have pneumonia. I began taking this drug and after just one dose, my breathing increased significantly. I am able to take very deep breaths both in and out and feel better after taking just one dose of Paxlovid than I have felt in months. To me, it is a miracle drug! What an improvement!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ang UK | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/29/2022
Condition: experimental treatment for COVID-19
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking Paxlovid on day 4 after a postive Covid test- I have MS. I was very unwell with a high fever, razor blade sore throat, aches and productive cough. Within 24 hours my sore throat and fever disappeared and day by day my other symptoms improved too. I did experience a metallic taste & mild nausea but this was totally manageable with fruit sweets. I’ve recovered very quickly and attribute this to Paxlovid. Thank you science !

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Some guy | 25-34 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/29/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I experienced the same weird mouth taste that everyone mentioned but the reason I stoped taking it was the fact that I had diarrhea ALL DAY for the first two days of taking it. So much for staying hydrated while sick! I stopped after day 3 kick started the same symptoms again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lib | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/28/2022
Condition: experimental treatment for COVID-19
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After one day of use I was 50% better. By day 4 only slight congestion and fatigue. The bad taste comes and goes. I'd definitely say it was a game changer for me as I felt I was getting seriously ill.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
TriniRedz | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/28/2022
Condition: experimental treatment for COVID-19
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I don’t know who I am more mad at, myself or the person who gave me COVID. I went to the dentist and the technician did not wear his mask properly I can’t believe after all this time and being hyper vigilant I would test positive. I tested positive on June 26 I am mildly overweight and on one pic for pre-diabetes. The first day or so I felt like I had allergies and thought I could handle things until later that evening when my head hurt so bad I thought it would split. Day 2- runny nose, coughing, body aches was prescribed PAXLOVID. I admit I’m on the fence- Pfizer is making millions in profits off of human suffering but I digress. I am triple boosted but didn’t want to take any chances so I went with it. First dose no issue but man- that evening dose and that metallic taste!! I rather slide down a razor blade than do this again. I will admit I do feel better but my goodness that taste is awful, it comes on so subtle that by the time you realize what’s going on you want to scape your tongue with a hunter’s knife. I can’t stress enough how nasty this stuff tastes and oh yeah it’s not fun running to the bathroom. But all in all for the million people who died I wish they had this on the table so let me stop being a baby and c’mon…Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/28/2022
Condition: experimental treatment for COVID-19
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

As a Pharmacist, I found the efficacy of the product rather questionable. It seems that it did not shorten my covid sick days at all. Clinically, i was very disappointed. My wife chose to not take it and she had the same expected outcome in terms of sick days. The metallic taste was bad, but I could tolerate it and understand it as a necessary side effect if the product proved efficacious, but again it did not in my individual case despite me being fully compliant and taking the drug well w/in the 5 day window. Hopefully I was an outlier, but I found the drug virtually ineffective. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female |
6/27/2022
Condition: experimental treatment for COVID-19
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Started one day after testing positive. All my symptoms improved. That awful taste everyone writes about is so true, it’s almost makes it unbearable. I’m on my third day and feeling I need to stop. It wakes me up with the horrible dry mouth at 3:00 am ruining my sleep. Having to keep a mint in my mouth at all times. No other side effects. I’m concerned about the rebound effect to go through this for five days only to possibly have symptoms return? It may be better just to go through it without this medication. Asked my Dr. about it and he says never heard about a bad taste!? This medication is experimental and for me personally triple vaccinated I don’t think it’s worth it. I’ll be stopping and hoping for the best. Just let it run it’s course. But for high risk it could be worth it. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mrs. N | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/27/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have just read the reviews and I was so glad to hear that quite a few people had posted about the taste issue. I have recently tested positive for COVID and my dr. prescribed this medication for me. The pills make the back of my tongue feel like liver bile has cemented itself to it and there's nothing I can do to get this putrid taste out of my mouth. I tried everthing, but nothing worked.I am over 70 years old and could truly benefit from the medication, but am unable to tolerate the taste. I found that it also produces a lot of gas.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Texasmom | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/26/2022
Condition: experimental treatment for COVID-19
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Bad taste and gas. Other than that it works. I had fever for one day then I haven’t again since taking this. This is my second time with Covid. I did the infusion the first time so this treatment is different.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
6/26/2022
Condition: experimental treatment for COVID-19
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Slight metallic taste. No other side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mariah | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/25/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Personally, I have seen no change in my symptoms. The worst part about taking this medicine is the taste that it brings. It is the worst taste I’ve had in my mouth, and it won’t go away. You know that “Yuck Spray” you put on your dogs paw to keep them from licking it? That’s what this tastes like, CONSTANTLY. There is no break. You can’t eat anything, swallow your spit, or even chew gum to get rid of it. I want to stop taking the meds and suffer through COVID, but my dr said I should push through it. I am constantly miserable. DO NOT TAKE IT UNLESS YOU ABSOLUTELY NEED TO. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Debra | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/25/2022
Condition: experimental treatment for COVID-19
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was not told this was an experiment drug. I was given changes to some of my regular drugs or just can't take and they were removed. Then I could only taste metal in my mouth all the time and with dry mouthno matterhowmuchwater i drank. My blood pressure was so high that even after finishing the medication my blood pressure is elevated. Oh to add the joy day 6 and I was still testing positive.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Av8r Doug | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/23/2022
Condition: experimental treatment for COVID-19
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Monday 4pm: felt "off" and tested positive (wife and son had tested positive in the days prior and had begun Paxlovid treatment also, so i was testing daily). Called provider. First dose taken at 6pm. The next 24 hours were pure hell. Put me on my keester hard. Never had a cold or flu that flattened me like that. Fever from hell, body aches, dizzy, total head fog. Tuesday: 80% of the prior day but was able to notice some improvement. Still a bit of hot/cold, body aches (back, knees, hips, elbows). Wednesday: Woke up and felt good enough to field some phone calls and emails for work. Pretty tired that afternoon but much better. Head clearing nicely. Thursday (as i'm writing this): Felt like i never had the virus. No issues at all. Maybe a little tired but slept well. Two more days of the medication to take but amazing progress and improvement! Side effects: That nasty taste a couple hours after each dose. Hard candy, gum, or orange juice really helps! Some mild to moderate lower intestinal cramping yesterday and today. Can't tell if it was the virus damage or the Paxlovid. Overall extremely happy. My wife and son followed the exact same scenario and results.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anna | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/23/2022
Condition: experimental treatment for COVID-19
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The taste/smell it causes is disgusting. No matter what I tried to eat/drink, it didn't go away. I tool my third dose this morning and will discontinue as I have been experiencing extreme nausea ans stomach pain. I'm am a 25 yr old female with bo underlying conditions so I don't see why I was prescribed this vile medication. I had both the Moderna shots so that also tells I did not need it. Pfizer needs to recall this stuff until they come up with something that was not rushed and doesn't cause so many side affects that outweigh the benefits. I'll take my chances and take o er the counter meds to finish getting better. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/22/2022
Condition: experimental treatment for COVID-19
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

If you are getting a metallic taste be sure to eat watermelon, grapes, or something like this after you take your dose and I noticed it prevented a metallic taste. Took me until day 3 to figure this out!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/21/2022
Condition: experimental treatment for COVID-19
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Bitter taste in the mouth and then in 6 th and 7th had symtons all again . Then just took cough and congestion meds . Lots of tea and rest

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
253Mom | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/21/2022
Condition: experimental treatment for COVID-19
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm Pfizer Vaxed x3. I tested positive for COVID probably about 3-5 days after exposure. I had been previously dealing with Allergies and Bronchitis the last 3 weeks. What tipped the hat was I had begun to use my inhaler more when i should have been getting better. I had tested 2x a day for the better part of 3 weeks. So, when I tested for COVID I was a little worried. I had a constant headache by day 2, nausea, chest pressure, runny eyes, sore throat and a cough. I was put on Plaxlovid, Fluticasone, 50mg Prednisone & my 2 asthma inhalers. I really feel it helped lighten the symptoms. I have had more energy than most of the people I know who have had COVID. The nausea went away by day 2 and the headaches got more tolerable. I never got a fever BUT I did have my body temperature drop to 96.0 with major body sweats every day and more so at night. After day 3 of taking this medication my body temp finally started to reach the mid 96 and by day 4 I was finally into the low 97s. This morning I have finally reached 97.7. My lungs still feel like they are on fire and my Prednisone stopped 2 days ago. When taking the Paxlovid, you may get a metallic taste that does not seem to go away. I lost my taste and smell but could still only taste that metal flavor and I swear that is all I could smell at times too. I used Ricola Cool Relief Icy Menthol drops. They did triple duty, taking away the metal flavor and clearing my sinuses while making my chest feel better too. Body aches and fatigue are and have been minimal/bearable. The brain fog is real and I have had to stop what I was doing and rest throughout the day. No vomiting but the other digestive issues have been pretty prevalent the entire time, I make sure to drink lots of fluids (mostly juices, sparkling waters, vitamin enhanced flavor waters and my daily chai tea). The pills are conveniently packed in easy to push out splinter packs that are color coded (yellow/blue) for day and night time use. The pills themselves are on the larger side and not coated. I had to take each one individually with water in my mouth first, tilt my head back and throw the pill as far to the back of my throat as I could. I made sure to drink lots of water between pills as they do not tend to go down easily and I felt them getting stuck. Overall, I would say this medication did help me and had very minimal side effect. Compared to having no treatment and getting COVID, I think this medication kept me out of the hospital and safer. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More