Show ratings & reviews for

3.7 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

1 People found this comment helpful

Besides the nasty metallic taste in my mouth, this saved me from the hospital and from death. I was SO incredibly sick 24 hours after COVID test and I started feeling better 24 hours after taking my first dose.

Most voted negative review

1 People found this comment helpful

I was vaccinated and 2x boosted and tested positive for Covid. Only symptoms at the time were difficulty breathing, fatigue, and dry cough. Dr prescribed Paxlovid perhaps because I was having these symptoms in spite of 3x vaccinated, plus am 61. I have had 4 days worth of meds and at least on the plus side I can take a good deep breath and cough is gone. However much as everyone else noted, mouth ...

Shared reviews and ratings

mik | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/24/2022
Condition: experimental treatment for COVID-19
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I thought i was dying with covid, Hadnt eaten for 4 days, I was so poorly, Then the hospital phoned me and had a courier bring this drug out the same day, Within 5 hours of taking it i was feeling much better 30 hours later a negative covid test, Yes your mouth feels like a baboons armpit but i honestly think this saved my life, Must say i have to laugh at other posts saying this drug should be banned, GROW UP, Govs not gunna put a multi million pound drug on the market if it doesnt work

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Marc | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/22/2022
Condition: experimental treatment for COVID-19
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After being diagnosed with Covid that morning, I received my prescription later that evening. Took my first dose at 6pm. By 7am the following day I felt great. Finished the medication and feel waaaay better. There is an aftertaste and some nausea, but plenty of water and eating before taking pills seemed to help.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
47 | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/20/2022
Condition: experimental treatment for COVID-19
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After testing positive for covid that morning, I received my prescription for paxlovid later that evening. I took my first dose around 7pm. The next morning was a complete difference. The fever and aches were gone and I felt somewhat normal. By the 2nd and 3rd day I was feeling great. I finished the mess and am feeling normal again. It does leave a strange taste, but I discovered that drinking lots of water makes it better. The pills are big, but worth taking.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sally | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/20/2022
Condition: experimental treatment for COVID-19
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm writing this to hopefully help people not freak out about this drug. Yes, you may have side effects. Yes, they may be horrid. Not sure you can know in advance, but I had anxiety over taking it. I wish I hadn't. I did get the taste in the mouth, like metallic grapefruit. Jolly Ranchers kept it at bay, as did lots of water. The dryer the mouth, the more I tasted it. I was also given an anti-nausea drug at the same time. Would I have had nausea at the same time without it? I will never know. Perhaps ask for it, as I had none whatsoever. Small cramping at night, mild, two nights. I woke up at night and if my mouth tasted weird, popped a Jolly Rancher. Worth it easily to know I was beating the #@#$ out of the virus. Will I rebound? Maybe, but that's on happening with folks not taking Pavloxid at close to the same percentages. I'll take it real easy the next few days as I have all week, to give my body the best chance to be done. Don't be afraid to try it, especially now that they are finding that Long Covid chances may drop with this drug. As my Dr. said, if you are just hating it, you can stop. So give it a shot. For me, the side effects were not the dread I expected from these reviews. May you be as fortunate. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
CL | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/19/2022
Condition: experimental treatment for COVID-19
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug is pure poison. Prescribed and started on day 3 of COVID solely due to my age. The side effect sheet that comes with Paxlovid is a joke. The nausea and diarrhea in conjunction with the worst taste I’ve ever experienced, with relief lasting only as long as the lozenge I was eating lasted. About an hour after my 4th dose I developed a couple of hives near my mouth and was noticing my voice was getting hoarse. Called my doctor and he told me to stop taking it and go to ER. It was determined that I was developing an allergic reaction but I has stopped taking it which prevented a serious reaction had I taken another dose. All of my drug side effects resolved within 24 hours and now, 2 days later, I am just dealing with cold like symptoms of COVID. I would only recommend this drug if your life is truly at risk and I encourage everyone to report their side effects to Pfizer ,or better yet, through FDA Medwatch before this drug is licenced Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/18/2022
Condition: experimental treatment for COVID-19
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took 2 doses of this medication. The taste is horrible, nothing I do helps. My stomach it turning’s and bad diarrhea, dry eyes and dry mouth. I will not be taking this anymore

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lori | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/10/2022
Condition: experimental treatment for COVID-19
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took two doses and had constant diarrhea. Cannot sleep. The taste in your mouth is like sulfur and diesel fluid. Stopped taking after talking to my primary care physician. Will not be able to continue taking for five days with constant diarrhea.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Caregiver | 75 or over | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
11/9/2022
Condition: experimental treatment for COVID-19
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Throat swelling and inability to swallow. Lasted for 48 hours after the med was stopped on day 2.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Deborah | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/9/2022
Condition: experimental treatment for COVID-19
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’m 66 and landed in the hospital with Long Covid double pneumonia last February. I haven’t been back to work since. I tested positive again in late October and decided to try Paxlovid on day 5 of symptoms. Yes there is an awful metallic taste during the 5 days that you’re taking it, aches and diarrhea the first day but these are signs that it’s working. Ever day I felt better and my cough and congestion slowly diminished. If I get Covid again I will most certainly take Paxlovid.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
CovidMagnet | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/6/2022
Condition: experimental treatment for COVID-19
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had 3 full moderna vaccines + the Pfizer covalent booster. I also had covid in January 2022, which progressed and was pretty severe for a period of 14 days. I began having symptoms in late Ocotber 2022, but did not test positive until day 4. It was worsening each day, from cough and body aches, to vomiting to fever and facial pain. Staying awake was a challenge. Within hours of the first dose of paxlovid, I was dramatically improved, able to get out of bed and carry on my normal activities, at home of course. I am on Day 4 of dosing and still have mild cold-like symptoms, but I am very much improved. The side effects have been sour stomach (which might be covid) and the nasty "mouth monster" - a taste that won't stop and actually wakes me up all night long. But I will take it over the severe covid symtpoms. It feels rather miraculous. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Paxlovid | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/5/2022
Condition: experimental treatment for COVID-19
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Within an hour of taking the medicine my fatigue was gone. To avoid the nausea of paxloviD EAT LOTS OF BREAD.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Gaurav | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/4/2022
Condition: experimental treatment for COVID-19
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I tested positive for COVID, 2 days after returning from overseas. It started with scratchy throat, constant headache and very low fever, did a self test at home and results came positive with a dark T line. My doctor put me on Paxlovid because of my high risk, I take BP medications and I have elevated liver enzymes due to NAFLD. Since it was already late afternoon when my prescription was ready, I waited until evening to start my first dose after dinner so I could time it right. But just before taking my first dose, I passed out while eating dinner. I started sweating heavily, and no one knew since I was isolated in my room. in a few minutes I woke up and measured my bp had dropped to 77/55. I called my wife and asked her to bring me a Gatorade ASAP. That helped. and I took my first dose of 3 Paxlovid tablets. The same night had a horrible cough, lungs were making crinkling sound, my symptoms were getting worst progressing towards pneumonia. I elevated my head and slept. After taking second dose I felt a little better as day progressed. 4th dose I was feeling much better only fatigue. Now I only have 2 days left and I already feel like I am Covid free. Just occasional dry cough. I think Paxlovid did wonders for me. I would just get a bitter tongue few minutes after having my dose but it would gradually go away and return after another dose. I would scrape my tongue and drink honey lemon tea. Other than bitter tongue, I did not get any other side effects as others have reported. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ken | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/2/2022
Condition: experimental treatment for COVID-19
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

With regard to the suppression of Covid symptoms, I have to say that it has worked. I am a 74 year old male. Two Moderna jabs and a booster. I am overweight, but have good lungs and relatively good health. I've avoided Covid until I tested positive around 10/26/22. I've been taking D3 (5000 iu) for years. Seemed to be a mild case. No lung involvement. Achy joints, nose and throat involvement like a moderate cold. Slight fever, the worst was 100.2º. Called my physician to report in. They recommended Paxlovid. Got my blood test to check my kidney or liver function. I was good enough to take the med. Started it on 10/28/22. By 10/30 I could tell I was better. Fever had gone. Still some aches that went away by 10/31. So, it did it's job for me. I was hardly on death's door, but who knows how it would have progressed. I've heard of people who had a mild disease for days and than WHAM!!. Did a home test for Covid on 10/31 and it was negative. OK Why the low rating on satisfaction? The horrific taste in my mouth 24/7 as soon as I started taking it. That resulted in mild nausea, "queasiness" is the best way to express it for nearly 6 days now. I never vomited, but all I could think about was getting through taking this stuff so I could quit. I usually don't react badly to medicines. I don't have a touchy stomach, but this stuff was the worst pharmacological experience I've ever had. Because I'm not a quitter, I toughed it out, but it was not fun. I've been done for over a day now, but the taste is still there but milder. The queasy feeling has not fully left either. I can eat and the food tastes good, but my stomach is not happy. One way I combated the taste was to pop hard candy or grapes which temporarily blocked the horrible taste.But that got old. I've had two friends die from Covid (not the Omicron variation) when they couldn't get off the respirator in the hospital. I can't imagine how bad struggling to breathe would be. Stomach upset and taste are small concerns compared to that, but I'm sure glad I'm done. Yuck!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kerry | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/2/2022
Condition: experimental treatment for COVID-19
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I contracted Covid after traveling, and tested positive 4 days later (at home antigen test). My doctor prescribed Paxlovid and I began taking it that same day. I had started feeling pretty bad and had a fever that could not be eliminated by Ibuprofen. With my first dose of Paxlovid my Covid symptoms began to improve and I was able to get the fever under control after my second dose. The 3 tablets were pretty large but I was able to swallow with a lot of water. The only side effect I had was the bad - correction: really bad - taste which lasted throughout the 5 days of the medication. I was impressed with how quickly and well this medication worked in reversing my Covid symptoms. My one recommendation would be to pick up a box or two of cinnamon Altoids along with your box of Paxlovid to tame that really bad taste.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
James b | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/2/2022
Condition: experimental treatment for COVID-19
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

1st off I started off with a male case of covid was worried about getting pneumonia Due to having high blood pressure and taking anxiety pills I call the doctor they recommended this drug to help me since I'm high risk I So I take the 1st dose within an hour my kidney start hurting And they've been hurting since I've only took one dose and won't take anymore Hope the Kidney paid goes away I highly recommend not using this drug at all why are they stopped monical antibodies Is beyond me they worked like a dream the 1st time I had covid add covid I guess it helped too many people That's why story do with it as you please please but again I would not take this drug this drug it is poisonRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/2/2022
Condition: experimental treatment for COVID-19
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

You people that keep saying they need to take this off the market that's very unfair to say because this medicine changed my life it worked fine for me and my whole family so just because it didn't work for you doesn't mean they should take it off the market, all u gotta do is not take it anymore SIMPLE! Yes it does leave a nasty taste but it took my covid away within 2 days and I didn't have a rebound. I love it and they most definitely SHOULD NOT take it off the market! Yall complain about everything!!! I would rather have harsh side effects from this med rather than die from covid, atleast they are trying to help us! Next time u get covid don't ask for any meds then just stay home and suffer, SIMPLE!!! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Causes Nausea! | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/1/2022
Condition: experimental treatment for COVID-19
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Causes severe dizziness and mild nausea. Took 2 doses, felt absolutely awfull for the next 13 hours until it wore off. Ater calling Pfizer about my concern of dizziness and nausea, they informed me they had no evidence of this being a symptom of taking Paxlovid. Strange, since many people have reported nausea after taking Paxlovid. Stopped taking it after 4 doses. It did seem to knock out my Covid symptoms completely which was worth the discomfort. As well as dizziness, I also got the bitter taste in my mouth, as well as brain fog, unsteady gait, and general malaise. I wish Pfizer could at least acknowledge the high incidence of nausea this drug seems to be causing. Jut do a Google search on it. I condem Pfizer for giving me INCOMPLETE AND MISLEADING information on this side effect. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
KM | 65-74 | Female | Patient
10/30/2022
Condition: experimental treatment for COVID-19
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The pill is so large horsepill size had trouble swallowing caused choking having to call paramedics. Instructions says don’t crush or chew tablets but for someone not able to swallow large pills, be extremely careful!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Patient0995 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/28/2022
Condition: experimental treatment for COVID-19
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is one of the worst medications and they need to STOP prescribing it. 27Y female - vaccinated not booster’d. I tested positive for Covid on a Tuesday evening after feeling congested and knowing I had a recent close contact. My Dr prescribed this to me because I had very recently recovered from Pneumonia and I have severe asthma. I took my first dose at 10am on Thursday and felt ok. I did have very bad diarrhea and stomach cramps that I didn’t realize were from the medication. I also had some hives show up on my face which I attributed to the mask. I took my second dose at 10pm and about 30 mins later (give or take) my throat started to feel very tight. I waited about 30 mins to see if it went away and it didn’t so I called my on call Dr who urged me to call 911 right away. EMS came and immediately shot me with epinephrine and Benadryl as my throat was closing shut due to an anaphylactic reaction from the drug. I was kept in the hospital for observation and given a long lasting steroid as well as another anti histamine drug. I am absolutely traumatized by this experience. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | Patient
10/27/2022
Condition: experimental treatment for COVID-19
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I having been taking rx for 4 days now. My body still feels yucky! 1 minute I'll feel ok the next minute I feel bad again. My dr said I could go back to work today but there's no way! And I'm still testing positive. I can't go back to work until I'm negative!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More