Show ratings & reviews for

3.7 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

1 People found this comment helpful

I have my 4 shots of Vaccines, 3 Modernas and one Pfizer, with the last one being merely a month ago. I began feeling some cold symptoms last Wednesday but the home test kit showed a negative for Covid. Thursday felt worse, with more intense headache and fever. I tested again and got positive. Both Wed and Thu nights, my throat felt itchy and I did not sleep well. Friday morning saw a family do...

Most voted negative review

1 People found this comment helpful

Personally, I have seen no change in my symptoms. The worst part about taking this medicine is the taste that it brings. It is the worst taste I’ve had in my mouth, and it won’t go away. You know that “Yuck Spray” you put on your dogs paw to keep them from licking it? That’s what this tastes like, CONSTANTLY. There is no break. You can’t eat anything, swallow your spit, or even chew gum to get rid...

Shared reviews and ratings

$eaglesmom | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/3/2023
Condition: experimental treatment for COVID-19
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I feel great after Paxlovid..Thank you God..Did have bad taste & the runs but...I can breathe again!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Rosie | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/2/2023
Condition: experimental treatment for COVID-19
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have RA and am on immunosuppressants, so when I got a sore throat, dry cough and fever 103 I went to a quick care. Came up + for COVID. My first COVID was early on when nothing was really available and I was really ill for 5 weeks, however I lived to tell it. This time COVID would be more bearable and treatable. Well, so I thought. Treatable yes. Bearable? I started the Paxlovid that night when I got home from the quick care. About thirty minutes later the bitter taste in my mouth was overwhelming, and being of weak stomach, I had a vomit shower from the living room to the bathroom! That bitterness has still not improved but quite possibly gotten worse over the course of 4 days. Uncontrollable diarrhea is another side effect I have had along with an almost unbearable case of indigestion. It has just been 4 days of nonstop sick for me. I keep candy in my mouth at all times, and I am praying God helps me through this. The COVID symptoms are gone since day 1, no fever, no cough, no sore throat! So if you can make it through the side effects, this medication may just save your life. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JeannieB | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/1/2023
Condition: experimental treatment for COVID-19
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

On Monday I felt a discomfort in my chest, but had no other indications of having covid such as a fever or cough. I went to my company's party 3 days prior to feeling like this. Took a covid test on Monday and it was negative. I thought it was something else. Started feeling more congested and continued chest discomfort. On Wednesday a company email was sent saying someone at the party tested positive. I immediately took another test and was positive. I called my doctor's office on Thursday and explained my symptoms; the doctor immediately prescribed Paxlovid. After reading the documents that came from the drug I had to do more online research about it. I decided on Thursday night not to take. However, I had a very bad night Thursday into Friday. I took it immediately Friday morning. Prior to taking a dose, I did 2 things - I drank a glass of water with about 1 tbsp of freshly squeezed lemon juice and ate some Greek yogurt. I did have a metallic taste in my mouth but it did not last and was no worse than the Covid dry mouth. I never got sick but didn't feel like eating that much. After my 3rd dose, I felt so much better. However, Paxlovid and covid must have been having a battle because on Saturday and Sunday I felt bad again. I stayed in bed all day Sunday and drank Liquid IV in water to increase my hydration. Monday I felt so much better. I took it for the full course (10 doses) and am glad I did. Throughout the entire course on the drug, I listened to my body, rested, drank plenty of water and ate nutritional foods to support my immune system. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Shaun K | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/31/2023
Condition: experimental treatment for COVID-19
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It didn't do anything tangible for the symptoms and yet left the worst taste in my mouth. It actually is just starting to fade away from my taste buds and smell after 7 months. Worst medication I've ever taken in my 58 years. The only positive was the bright packaging. I will not take again and would not recommend.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dee | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/31/2023
Condition: experimental treatment for COVID-19
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I got covid at the end of December 2021 and was hospitalized with severe covid January 6th 2022. On January 6th of this year 2023 of course a year to the day I got covid and there was no way I was staying at the hospital. On day two I took the medication Paxlovid. I was very hesitant because of the company that makes it. My first dose I took and the fever broke but the taste in my mouth was horrendous that metal taste and I did have diarrhea twice but after a few days of taking it my symptoms did go away but the only problem was I was having chest pressure never finished my last dose I had three pills left. So far it did work but I'm just waiting for the other shoe fall. This medication does have potential the first two doses suck but you get used to itRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jeanne | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/28/2023
Condition: experimental treatment for COVID-19
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was prescribed Paxlovid after two days of Covid. I initially had very high fever of 104 and 103.5 two nights in a row that was uncontrollable with Tylenol or Advil. I also had Terrible chills, cold sweats, cough and body aches. After just one dose of Paxlovid my fever broke and my body aches were much better. After two days on the medication, my only symptom was a slight cough. Yes, I had the weird taste in my mouth, but drinking cold water or sucking on hard candy helped. It’s a good drug and would take it again if necessary. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Teresa | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/26/2023
Condition: experimental treatment for COVID-19
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took one dose which tasted like lead which was disturbing in itself. Next thing I knew I had diarrhea and pain under my left rib. I hung it up on this medication. I am riding the storm out on Covid if that gives you any indication how I feel about this med. I would NEVER recommend it to anyone.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jennifer | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/22/2023
Condition: experimental treatment for COVID-19
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am very sensitive to most prescription drugs, so was a little nervous to take Paxlovid. I took each pill with a few sips of a smoothie to help the taste and any potential stomach issues. I had no side effects with this drug, and believe it was very helpful in my recovery since I am immunocompromised and have several serious chronic conditions.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Wiffle4 | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/22/2023
Condition: experimental treatment for COVID-19
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My husband (age 66) and I (age 67) got Covid in December and were prescribed Paxlovid. (We are both very healthy and take no regular meds.) We felt somewhat better for about 2-3 days and then were slammed with fever, chills, headache, sore throat, major congestion, cough and extreme fatigue. We are STILL trying to recover from the fatigue almost a month later. My mother (age 93) also got Covid shortly after we did. She took nothing for it and her recovery was easy, quick and without any rebound. I know we all had the same strain because we all got it from my niece at a family function. We were all vaccinated and double-boosted. I would recommend you steer clear of Paxlovid. The "cure" is worse than the sickness.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Never sgainr | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/22/2023
Condition: experimental treatment for COVID-19
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This stuff is poison. The explosive diarrhea warranted a trip to the ER in order to get rehydrated as I couldn't keep anything in my system. It also gave me oral thrush, panic attacks, feelings of faintness, disorientation, abnormally low temperature and that rancid taste almost everyone gets. This poison should taken off the market.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
TD | 45-54 | Female | Patient
1/20/2023
Condition: experimental treatment for COVID-19
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I read many reviews before taking this, because it was recommended by my Dr. I was on day 3 of my symptoms. Day 1 on the med I had my horrific headache and low grade fever. The med DOES have a slightly butyer taste...like grapefruit rine, bitter but tolerable. Menthol lozenges hides the taste. Day 2 headache was less and by my 4th dose (3 pills in morning and 3 at night every day for 5 days)...I felt a lot better. Slight nervousness began but again tolerable. The head pain was horrific so I will take the taste and jitters over that pain. Went through 3 boxes of tissues in 2 days ..after 2nd day that went away. So far I am pleased with the results.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bitter_patient1 | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/20/2023
Condition: experimental treatment for COVID-19
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My Doctor prescribed this medicine for my covid 19 symptoms, this is the most bitter medicine I ever took, it left a b\very bad taste for days, I only took a few of them because of the bitter taste. The pills are big, big big, I wished I had been prescribed ivermectin instead, cheaper and works better for covid 19.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
PA | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/18/2023
Condition: experimental treatment for COVID-19
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Paxlovid was extremely effective for me. I was fully vaxxed. The day I began running a fever and having bad congestion, severe headache, and cough, I tested positive for covid on a home test. Initially felt like I was coming down with a bad case of the flu. The next day I began taking paxlovid. Within hours of my first dose of paxlovid, 90% of my symptoms were gone. I was basically feeling normal and well after 24 hrs. I continued the 5 day course of treatment and did not have any rebound effect. I can recommend paxlovid very highly. A slighly sour taste in my mouth was not annoying and went away whenever sipping drink or eating. Using paxlovid was simply an excellent experience for me.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kelly | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/16/2023
Condition: experimental treatment for COVID-19
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started paxlovid on day 5 of my first and hopefully my last bout with Covid. I was very worried about taking it because of bad reviews but…. After my first dose within 12 hours I felt 20 - 30% better. Just finished my second of 5 packets and feeling incrementally better. The metal taste isn’t that bad compared to the horrible fevers I was having. Other than that I have had no other side effects. I also take a prescribed cough suppressant, 800 Motrin and Zyrtec. Once I am fished I will ask my physician for a z pak if necessary. I have been ill with different viruses my whole life but this is some serious stuff.. From my perspective I would recommend taking Paxlovid so far so good give it a chance to work! I pray for all of you afflicted with Covid. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Daniuncanni | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/13/2023
Condition: experimental treatment for COVID-19
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The taste it leaves is nasty but well worth the relief. I have been dealing with long covid for over a year and just diagnosed with covid for third time. In a matter of hours, I felt relief. The next morning i felt like a new person. The year long fatigue and hightened depession had subsided, as well as my current covid symptoms.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sissy | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/11/2023
Condition: experimental treatment for COVID-19
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed Paxlovid for a 5 day treatment for Covid. Stopped taking this after day 2. Made my condition worse had non stop explosive diarrhea that burned and the most horrible taste in your mouth that you can not get rid of. Like a bad metal taste. Would not recommend this to anyone.this should never be approved.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tampa happy | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/8/2023
Condition: experimental treatment for COVID-19
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have never had a pill work so fast and well. 12 hour change for the better. I am on day 5 and the metallic yuck taste is not that bad. If you are really sick it's worth the trade.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
rj | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/7/2023
Condition: experimental treatment for COVID-19
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I asked the covering physician to prescribe Paxlovid as I was diagnosed with covid ( 1st time ) and I have COPD so at a high risk. I was excited to take it but after a few hours I noticed the very bad aftertaste that lingers. I tried to counteract with almost everything but the taste of almost like bleach that stayed in your mouth never went away. I did not take the 2nd dose. Not for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bre | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/6/2023
Condition: experimental treatment for COVID-19
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I would rather deal with the metallic taste in my mouth than deal with the horrible/nasty symtoms of Covid19. I did not realize how deathly sick I was until I started to feel better. This is my 3rd time having Covid, and yes I do believe Covid sticks around and completely attacks your body for the long haul. To think of all the innocent lives lost young and old because they had underlying health conditions even as simple as asthma it is truly sad. This medication needs to get authorized for non-emergent Covid relief we just need to put an end to this Covid. I went from feeling horribly ill 2 days ago, to feeling myself again. I can deal with an off taste in my mouth. It is not that bad. I'd rather deal with that than be hospitalized or worse. Thankful for my doctor, and the help of the medicine. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JB | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/5/2023
Condition: experimental treatment for COVID-19
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Three members of my household all tested positive again within 5 days of finishing Paxlovid. In fact I believe all this medicine has done is suppress COVID which has now returned with a vengeance. We all would have been better off without Paxlovid.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More