Show ratings & reviews for

3.8 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

12 People found this comment helpful

I have a pain pump, which has only been in for 10 weeks now. I am completely off all oral pain meds. Which is very good, considering at one time I was taking 15 pain pills a day. The pump is on a very low setting, just a little over a half a milogram of morphin a day. It is set so it just goes in really slow all day long. If I need something extra for pain, I have a device that I just lay over th...

Most voted negative review

3 People found this comment helpful

After surgery this medication mad was given to me for pain. I had told the doctor before that a mophine pump made me hallucinate and was assured that I would not be given this. My wife stayed with me in the hospital and asked the nurse what she had just injected into my IV and it was Morphine. My wife went to the nurses station with her power or attorney and told them not to give it to me again...

Shared reviews and ratings

dauntlessdurins | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/1/2015
Condition: Severe Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Had brain tumor removed, more pain than ever could have imagined. Was able to get a pump, one shot an hour. Was like floating on a cloud.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mom | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
1/29/2014
Condition: Severe Pain
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

MY DAUGHTER WAS E.R. ADMITTED FOR SEVERE EPIDODIC LOWER BACK PAIN, SHE WAS PUT ON PCA DILAUDID DOSE AVAIL EVERY 15 MINUTES FOR 29 HOURS. She was writhing in uncontrollable heartwrenching pain. We pleaded for them to try something else over and over. Finally a new doctor came on the floor and changed it to morphine. Within 2 hours her pain level was down to a 6. It's been 24 hours and her pain level is down to a 3! That part has been great. However she has been hallucinating and is irrational, and trying to pull the I.V. out. These side effects have been really awful. I guess getting her off the peak of pain she was in has been worth it. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous |
10/1/2013
Condition: Severe Pain
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Horrible headache for several days

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
morphine | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/6/2013
Condition: Severe Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/22/2013
Condition: Severe Pain
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Babibleu | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/9/2013
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have a pain pump, which has only been in for 10 weeks now. I am completely off all oral pain meds. Which is very good, considering at one time I was taking 15 pain pills a day. The pump is on a very low setting, just a little over a half a milogram of morphin a day. It is set so it just goes in really slow all day long. If I need something extra for pain, I have a device that I just lay over the sight where my pump is located, and it will give me a boost of medicine, It's called a bollus of morphine. I can do that twice a day, but no more than that in twenty four hours. So yes, I think the morphine does help, tremendously. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
morphine | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month |
11/3/2011
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

92yr old gent dehydrated,3 days ,dementia,gived 3 bags fluid and morphine to settle him he was dead 3 days laterI was told he was old

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cardiologist23423423 | 19-24 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/31/2011
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have a yet-to-be-diagnosed extreme abdominal and nausea condition,and my doctor has given me Norco (Hydrocodone 10 mg/Acetaminophen 325mg) for it. At one point, I had an extreme pain in my gastrointestinal system, so bad I had to go to ER. When in ER, then gave me a 25MG/1cc shot, and my pain just disappeared. Morphine is definitely the gold standard painkiller for a reason.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/27/2011
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

zIt helped me deal with the pain from my angina while in the hospital.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sleepyron | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/8/2011
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

while in the hospital i slept while being on this drug but when i got home i cant sleep at nite for the last 2 nights im frustrated!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
angrywife | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
11/14/2010
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After surgery this medication mad was given to me for pain. I had told the doctor before that a mophine pump made me hallucinate and was assured that I would not be given this. My wife stayed with me in the hospital and asked the nurse what she had just injected into my IV and it was Morphine. My wife went to the nurses station with her power or attorney and told them not to give it to me again. She went into the restroom for less than 3 minutes and said she walked out and the nurse was injecting it into my IV. Again she went to the nurse and a supervisor and told them she would have me transferred to another hospital or I would leave AMA if they did not remove the IV and use Oral Loratab (which had worked from a previous surgery). My wife took the power of attorney again to the nurse and a supervisor attorney and made them the IV immediately. As soon as the medication wore off (a horrible time) I was put of oral loratab and everything was fine. This medication (as my wife later told me, made me mean and irrational). I left the hospital the next day and I was scheduled to stay 3 days. At home I took the liquid loratab and I was fine.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kitty | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/18/2010
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i had a op to have my gallblader removed but when i came round i was in so much pain they tryed 3 different things though iv for my pain but it never touched it so i had morphine iv infusion so i could press the button every 5 mins if the pain got bad but i ended up pressing it everytime it lighted up but then after 3 days it didnt work that well but i was so out of it i dont remember what day it was who i was or where i was and i was told that i wasnt myself and my breathing was really low i was breathing fast and hard and i had oxygen on for 5 days to get it back to normal i was itching everywhere and iv got scraches everywhere now i hated being on it im 20 and it scared me it does work but it isnt very nice to be on and if you are going to be put on it i would try other stuff and leave it till last and dont have an infusion you just abuse it because you think its working and its not really its makeing you forget about it for 5 mins Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous |
2/26/2009
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
afoxyladyx200 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
12/21/2008
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was getting my morphine injection IM thourhg hone care. After one year they wanted em to learn to give them to myslef. I did not and I mean did not want to do that but had to for they were taking me off the program. I did just great until the last few days and then i hit a vein twice. Once when i did not know until i pulled out. I thought i was going to die for sure. I did not do anything but pray.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
2/24/2008
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Overall morphine helped my pain quite a bit. And although you may hear it is unlikly to develope an addiction to this, in reality it is very easy. If you are about to be put on injecting morphine be very very careful, and do not increase your dose or use it more frequently without consulting your doctor. If you feel your starting to get more and more dependant, have someone regulate it for you. As far as relieving pain for the first hour or so it works great, but after 2 hours it begins to wear off very quickly, therefore could result in wanting more for your pain. Just work with your doctor until you get the right doseage down.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More