Show ratings & reviews for

3.3 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

9 People found this comment helpful

I caught a cold while traveling in Europe. As always, it settled in my lungs and I coughed for weeks. Finally, in Italy, I went into a pharmacy and described my condition to the pharmacist. He gave me a package of something called Sobrepin (dosage unknown) which is acetylcysteine. Within three days, the cough was GONE. It's a pity one cannot buy Sobrepin in the U.S. I have just purchased a ...

Shared reviews and ratings

Rune | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/28/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

In case of flu or bronchitis, helps get phlegm out of throat and lugs, reduces 'bubbly' breathing. Easy to use. Not a wonder drug, but it's good, and with minimal associated risks. (Don't mix with cough suppressants though).

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | Patient
9/10/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Gained a significant amount of weight. Increased anxiety and caused chest pains.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
10/26/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

helpful

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | Female | Patient
4/13/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

weight gain

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | Patient
11/12/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
alice | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
2/6/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

no comment

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
wheeze | 55-64 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/20/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have copd this med has proven very useful to keep lungs clearer when used with albuterol treatment 1/2 ml in nebulizer with albuterol my lungs stay much clearer than just albuterol

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
maleforgod | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
1/31/2010
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication is so gross and hard to swallow without gagging from the taste and I can't see any results from it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mad_bookworm | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/16/2009
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I caught a cold while traveling in Europe. As always, it settled in my lungs and I coughed for weeks. Finally, in Italy, I went into a pharmacy and described my condition to the pharmacist. He gave me a package of something called Sobrepin (dosage unknown) which is acetylcysteine. Within three days, the cough was GONE. It's a pity one cannot buy Sobrepin in the U.S. I have just purchased a form of acetylcysteine called NAC, over the counter, and hopefully it will work as well.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
olive wade | 65-74 | Female | Patient
9/24/2009
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am living in Thailand and there are some things in the air that cause episodes of asthma during tennis and I love the game and being in the outside air causes me problems at certain seasons.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/5/2009
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Hi - In August 2007, I contracted a "small" pneumonia/bronchitis. Fortunately, a good friend who is a physician gave this to me. It works much better than Mucinex or any cough medicine w/ guiaifenesin. I am upset because I cannot get it in the U.S.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JMH | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
12/29/2008
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have extrinsic allergic alveolitis complicated with asthma and COPD. When occasional courses of 600mg daily are taken (max 7 days) my breathing becomes much easier and mucus is coughed up more easily

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
acetylcysteine | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/6/2008
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

for stressed kidneys

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More