Show ratings & reviews for

3.6 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

56 People found this comment helpful

I am not one to take prescription drugs. Having said that, after 4 years of increasing sexual pain I finally trusted my doctor in her recommendation for Vagifem. Pleasantly, I found that within the first week I had greatly reduced pain during intercourse. AND, during the 4 years when it was painful, I started having Urinary Tract Infections, UTIs. Very painful! I waited a year to review. I have o...

Most voted negative review

9 People found this comment helpful

I had higher expectations after 1.5 years of use.

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/9/2022
Condition: Postmenopausal Urethral Atrophy
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

To begin with I had no side effects but after a month I started with awful bloating, leg cramps and hair loss. I’m hoping to see my GP tomorrow about coming off it

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Firestrike | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/12/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Prescribed to soften perineum tissue before surgery. No real side effects so far but it has only been 7 days.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Chrissy | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
7/6/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is really great for relieving vaginal atrophy symptoms. I used it initially from 2015-2017 as it really helped prevent UTI s but haven’t taken it since until the beginning of this year 2022. Its supposed to be the equivalent of 1 HRT tablet a year in terms of oestrogen. However I am convinced its affecting my mood. I have been anxious paranoid and low at times . If I don't use it for a couple of weeks those symptoms go but as soon as I use it symptoms come back and feel terrible the next day Looking back I had symptoms when I took it before but didn’t think it could possibly be connected. Its such a shame as its brilliant otherwise.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Merrylegs | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/5/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Post menopause. Used to really like sex and had a really good sex life. Ended up so dry sex was incredibly painful. Saw GP who said at that point, vaginal walls were so thin, there was a risk of breaking through them during sex and by that point, had small cuts all over the walls. Told to abstain completely until healed. Even walking was painful "down below". Relationship broke up. Tried sex again for the last time 5 years ago and penetration was impossible. I gave up on sex and relationships. Seemed easier. Then smear tests became impossible! Even the smallest speculum is a nightmare. Then I started having regular, painful, urine infections. Then difficulty peeing. I am 61. Never had hrt (family breast cancer). Well now I'm trying these. Been on 10mg a night for a week. Another week of every day, then I've to go to twice a week. A bit nervous about the reviews as already have hair thinning/loss and am a chronic migraine sufferer (since menopause!) But so far, feeling ok. The thought that I might some day have a sex life again.....wow. will update once I've been using longer. Am also considering hrt due to all the post meno symptoms I have. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Chell | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years |
5/16/2022
Condition: Postmenopausal Urethral Atrophy
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

End of menopause and due to bladder problems and dry virgina this has worked well for me no side effects. Occasionally thrush possibly cause by the applixator although wash between applications. Since inserting by hand no thrush... works well for me

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/12/2022
Condition: Vaginal Inflammation due to Loss of Hormone Stimulation
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had severe dryness for 10 years due to induced chemical menopause. Very recently heard about vagifem and Dr. prescribed it.Within a few days I noticed an improvement, and great to feel plump and moisturised like 10 years previous. Intercourse was like old times.. 4 weeks on, i have had 3 bladder infections and thrush. Now starting to notice pains in my lower pelvic area too. I now have to go back to GP to discuss. I am someone who does not enjoy taking medications but the pain and dryness were unbearable. At leased I tried. So back to an atrophed passage. Also what's with all the plastic....what an absolute waste...Maybe cardboard???Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dried husk | 65-74 | Female | Patient
5/11/2022
Condition: Wasting of Tissues of the Vulva
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After less than 3 months on Vagifem, I have gained 9 lbs, my breasts are larger and tender and my hair is falling out quicker than before. I feel breathless and I now get mild headaches. The moisturising effect seems to have diminished significantly though I do feel more comfortable deep inside and no longer feel like I have a UTI brewing all the time. I'm not sexually active, so cannot comment on this aspect.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mar | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/5/2022
Condition: Postmenopausal Urethral Atrophy
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I used this for about 8 days, I got a terrible itch/ thrush with discharge like an yeast infection. I stopped immediately and will not use it anymore.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Hosta | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/29/2022
Condition: Vaginal Inflammation due to Loss of Hormone Stimulation
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have used for 5 months for Vaginal Atrophy but not found to be effective for stinging and burning sensation. also appeared to make slight vaginal prolapse much worse. Also had most awful thrush ever. So on balance may be better off without it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Vagirux | Female | Patient
4/20/2022
Condition: Wasting of Tissues of the Vulva
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The new Vagirux applicator does not work, it is too shallow and tablet keeps falling out

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 0-2 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
4/17/2022
Condition: Wasting of Tissues of the Vulva
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had vaginal atrophy unbeknown to me (and my doctor who even swabbed me twice for STI s! and did two internals over a nine month period of time and blood test.) I had unpleasant and upsetting grey/orange discharge, high vaginal pain, burning. Distresing symptoms until I researched my symptoms and realized what was going on. My nurse agreed. I was started on Vagifem. Within the week discharge had stopped, lubrication returning, pain had stopped. Libido returned. Boobs bigger (not overly happy about that tbh) and after a year I have even got a bit of an ass back! instead of pancake bum. Very relieved . Very happy with product. Not enough is known about vaginal atrophy and other gynaecological menopause problems. I had a year of discomfort and fear before I found the answer myself. Disappointed with my doctor. Useless. btw my skin is great too and my hair I think its due to Vagifem.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Viv | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/14/2022
Condition: Marked Inflammation of Urethra, the Canal that leads From the Bladder
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been using this 4 days. Woke this morning with agonising pain in my stomach. Taking this medication as I need a smear and I find it painful. Was told to take this for 10 days. I am in so much pain and cant continue with it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Margaret | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/14/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started this medication weeks ago. I am 75. I had a pelvic ultrasound and was told that I did not completely evacuate my bladder. About 67 mil was left behind, this led to UTI's. I used vagifem for 7 days, then twice a week. Since starting, I have bloating, irritation, inflammation (I think) and feel like I have been gang raped. It is painful urinating and I have pins and needles in my hands each time I do. Thankfully I am seeing my doctor tomorrow. I wish I had read these reviews before I started the medication. Just hope things get better now that I have ceased vagifem.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Vagifem | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/28/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have only experienced migraines during the pre-menopause. I was about 45. I am 52 now and tried an oestrogen pesserie last night for the first time. My dad had a heart attack and survived. My mum had heart failure and took HRT for years. I have a headache in my temple now and I am worried. I have decided not to take anymore of this.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
2/25/2022
Condition: Vaginal Inflammation due to Loss of Hormone Stimulation
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome might be the reason this makes me extremely ill.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
bringdata | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
1/13/2022
Condition: Wasting of Tissues of the Vulva
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was experiencing pin during intercourse due to vaginal dryness after menopause. My brilliant gynecologist was cautious about giving me any product containing estrogen due to my breast cancer many years earlier. But I had been cancer-free for over 25 years at that point, and vagifem only has 10mcg of estrogen and all of it very locally applied, not systemic (not a pill or injection). Three weeks after starting to use vagifem, vaginal pain was gone, natural vaginal lubrication was back, and I felt like I was in my 30's again. I experience no side effects. If I am expecting to have oral sex, I time the insertion of vagifem so that I don't use it within 24 hrs prior, just so any discharge is minimal. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Emz | 0-2 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/7/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was put on vagifem for abit of dryness, and a few menopause symptoms.. I've found it to be horrific for my moods, I'm crying all the time, I'm being unreasonable and argumentative.. I know I'm doing this but I can't stop myself! Has anyone else experienced this?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Marie Hodgson |
1/6/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been using Vagifem for 2 and a half years now. It was original prescribed to me because I was getting a lot of bladder infections. I thought that things were going well but now I think differently. After reading up on the side effects of this med, I realized that all my problems that I have been having in the last little while, are from taking these suppositories The worse side effect that I have had is unusual vaginal bleeding which was dark in color which makes me think the blood has been sitting inside of me for a very long time. I have had a hysterectomy so this blood was not as a result of a period. I went to the hospital and was put on 1000 mg of antibiotics for 7 days and I am still having issues with bleeding and I still feel like I have an infection. I have had other symptoms that were listed on this site. The shorter version of this message is as of today, I am not using Vagifem ever again. This hormone suppository is not good for you. Think twice before using it. I wish that I never started it. I do not give this a good review and I rate it a BIG fat O.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Linda | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/11/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started on vagifem because of persistent UTI's, I think it helps with dryness & plumping up the inner vagina, but the side effects for me outweigh that, on it for 3 months, started getting burning, had a yeast infection, but the worst side effect for me was the panic attacks, funny head & dizzy, couldn't breath, felt on edge, really scarey!! I last used it 4 days ago still having side effects, was gona cut down to 1 a week, but I've decided to stop. Not sure how long it takes for side effects to stop!! ??Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sue Sue | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/26/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have used it for 3 months at night so it doesn't fall out. Ease of insert and no pad to wear the next day like messy creams or imvexxy discharge.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More