Show ratings & reviews for

3.7 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

40 People found this comment helpful

Symptoms of menopause curtailed, such as hot flashes, night sweats, dryness, etc. as others have noted. Mentally, emotionally = greatest impact on quality of life. Increased my energy, mental state, ability to concentrate and focus, giving me more energy, too. A big difference. Highly recommend. No downside for me. I am 54 and have taken 3 years.

Most voted negative review

6 People found this comment helpful

I have only taken for eight days so I realize that's not long enough to really tell but I am not going to wait. No improvement in night sweats and may even be worse. More irritable and not happy. Will try something from the health food store. Not worth the risk of cancer and other side effects to me.

Shared reviews and ratings

Bea | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
5/12/2021
Condition: Post-Menopausal Osteoporosis Prevention
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on Activelle for 7 months now and will stop tomorrow as have been diagnosed with deep vein thrombosis after a scan today. Yes it took away hot flushes but gave me something far worse.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
P | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/26/2019
Condition: "Change of Life" Signs
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This has eased all my menopause symptoms except for mood issues. Also, I have started spotting, and my chest has broken out in acne that is very stubborn. I truly hope the spotting doesn't turn into a full-blown period type of flow. I was on Bijuva which I loved, but I had to stop it b/c it was so expensive.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
barbara | 55-64 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
4/7/2018
Condition: "Change of Life" Signs
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took Activelle for 20 years.Had a good life.Was energetic and very little hot flushes.Am 61 and had a breast scare a year ago.Tapered off for 3 months in july 2017.It is now APRIL 2018 and I am feeling terrible.Sad,depressed,aching bones and hot flushes.Having mammogram in SEPTEMBER.Am now feeling desperate and have made a gynae appointment.CAN ANYONE OUT THER HELP ME PLEASE?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lilly | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to 6 months |
11/11/2016
Condition: "Change of Life" Signs
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Activella stopped the insomnia and night sweats almost immediately, so it works very well for those symptoms as well as vaginal dryness. After a few weeks I did notice breast tenderness that doesn't really go away, some spotting and return of periods. I also noticed some weight gain, teariness (but not sure if that's the activella). I was also worried about hair shedding as my hair is so fine to begin with and I don't know if activella is causing that, but I've gone off it for now. I would consider going back on it if the insomnia and night sweats return.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Unbelievableada | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/27/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have gained 7 pounds in 3 weeks. I exercise 1-2 hours 5 times a week, run 3 miles twice a week. Still gain weight. Get fatigue every day, and feel sleepy all the time.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Not Good Activella | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
4/1/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The medication took away hot flashes. I took Activella for 11 months and have stopped as of today - went to Dr. again after they had increased my dosage from 0.5/.01 to 1/.05 However side effects are Hair Loss! Hair Loss! Hair Loss! -and worse: abstract zombie like headaches and fogginess, shortness of breath and mood swings out of the blue and enormous breasts. I had so much hair but woke up one day and had receding hair line, plus little patches of missing hair in the front and significantly thinned out on top (lost about 35% of my hair in less than a year) it started about 2 months after taking this. No more - too many side effects. I am 43 and perio-menapausal and going back on Lo Loestrafe tonight! Enough of this - just not worth the physical price I paid. There are other solutions for hot flashesRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months |
2/24/2015
Condition: "Change of Life" Signs
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this drug for 6 months. No more hot flashes. My mood has improved and my hair stopped falling out. Was very hungry when I first started taking it, but that was only in the first few weeks. I am very happy with it so far.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
CoolSleep | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/23/2015
Condition: "Change of Life" Signs
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This RX has been a lifesaver.. I was having hot flashes ever hour and 45 minutes and couldn't sleep at night. Now I have zero hot flashes and can sleep again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
SharonJ | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/14/2014
Condition: Vaginal Inflammation due to Loss of Hormone Stimulation
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I will allow that I am not the norm. I suffer from post polio and have had severe allergies all my life. That being said, using this drug was a terrible experience for me. Upon taking it I immediately became short of breath, and within days I was experiencing flu like symptoms. Unfortunately the drug did what it was supposed to insofar as reliving vaginal discomfort and because I suffer from post polio, I didn't immediately connect the activella to my increasing upper respiratory issues. Then came the first tine I had to call an ambulance due to asthma. I had always had very mild asthma but this was terrifying. I was also having problems I'd never had, such as my hands breaking out in hives. I finally connected it to the activella and stopped taking it. I was on Prednisone for 3 years and hospitalized another 2 times until the asthma could be brought under control. That's what happened to me and it was a terrible experience. This drug is not recommended for anyone with asthma.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cindy | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/28/2014
Condition: "Change of Life" Signs
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on this medication for 3 weeks, I began to notice a change within 2 weeks with less hot flashes. Hot flashes did seem to get worse for the first week, However, are completely gone now. I am currently experiencing bleeding... is this normal? does it eventually stop? I also experience anxiety, however, I experienced that before and don't think this drug has anything to do with that.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Chipper | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
7/28/2014
Condition: "Change of Life" Signs
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking Activella for about 18 months and suddenly experienced face hives, face swelling, chapped upper lip and crepe-y eye lids. I stopped taking the drug for 2 weeks and although I'm not my usual chipper self (as I was ON Activella), the swelling, crepe-y-ness and chapped upper lip are subsiding. I'm not positive these symptoms are a reaction to the drug - but curious if anyone else has experienced something similar.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | Female | Patient
6/8/2014
Condition: "Change of Life" Signs
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was diagnosed as post menopausal and was prescribed this med and in the month that I have been taking it I have bled for 3 weeks.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/17/2014
Condition: "Change of Life" Signs
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been diagnosed with pre-menopausal and I'm now taking Activella. I've taken it for only 1 week and have symptoms of depression, fatigue, sleepy and loss of appetite (which is good for me). Before taking this medication I was on elestrin and protosteron which also had the same effect on me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Activilla | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years |
12/19/2013
Condition: "Change of Life" Signs
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I' ve been taking drug over five years I haven't had any experience with hot fashes. My doctors change me to a lower dose now I am getting all the symphony of change of life. I hope this is normal. And not a problem that I am not going to like.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Susan | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/9/2013
Condition: "Change of Life" Signs
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Activella has been fantastic in alleviating menopausal symptoms. No hot flashes, hormonal headaches, or mood swings. I feel like myself again, maybe better! I've taken Activella for 5 years and managed to lose (and keep off) 50 pounds through diet and exercise, so weight gain is not inevitable on this drug. A very positive experience.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sunshine | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/28/2013
Condition: "Change of Life" Signs
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking Activella for 4 years. I was very happy as the hot flashes were gone and I felt less anxiety. I quit taking it 10 days ago and I am now spotting and hot flashes are back. I am 50 and thought I must be past menopause at this stage. Is it normal to start with hot flashes and spotting so soon after stopping meds? Thinking I should go back on Activella but had hoped it wasn't needed any longer.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
13-May | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/28/2013
Condition: "Change of Life" Signs
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have only taken for eight days so I realize that's not long enough to really tell but I am not going to wait. No improvement in night sweats and may even be worse. More irritable and not happy. Will try something from the health food store. Not worth the risk of cancer and other side effects to me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
5/1/2013
Condition: Post-Menopausal Osteoporosis Prevention
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

High Blood Pressure

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
4/7/2013
Condition: "Change of Life" Signs
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on Activella for over 2 years. I have had NO problems, I instantly got releif from my HOT FLASHES. I have gained about 10 lbs since starting - but, I can not say it is related directly to the medication... I am 51 years old - can not expect to look like i did when i was 31 years old... no i don't go to a gym... i do walk... I am enjoying my medication without any flashes... Life is good.. :)

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/2/2013
Condition: "Change of Life" Signs
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking it for three weeks now. Hot flashes are mostly gone from 20+ a day! I have a leg cramp once in awhile and my memory seems to be slightly worse than before, but I can live with that moreso than the hot flashes. I've also noticed I start to feel a little "funny" when I'm late in taking my dose! Except for these minor side affects, everything has gone extremely well so far. I'm hoping it continues! I may consider visiting my doctor every six months or so to make sure I continue to stay healthy. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More