Show ratings & reviews for

4.2 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

6 People found this comment helpful

I was prescribed this med -- also contained guaifenesin. I had problems sleeping at night because of cough. I had immediate relief. Slept a deep sleep every night I took it. Had normal dreams. Started feeling much better on 2nd day. Except for the first day, I just took the med before bedtime (max dose - 2 tsps). Only side effect I had was constipation -- so increased my fiber intake. Think ...

Most voted negative review

1 People found this comment helpful

Although the medicine controlled my cough and allowed me to sleep, I had vivid, horrible nightmares / hallucinations that I had a difficult time waking up from. Will never use again.

Shared reviews and ratings

Kate | 65-74 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/26/2020
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is the ONLY thing that seems to calm my severe cough. I don't understand why the doctors are so darn stingy with it. Whenever I have a severe cough I ask for it, but I hardly ever get anyone to write a prescription for it. I do not and would not abuse it. I guess a few bad users have spoiled it for the rest of us.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Flowboy | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/27/2020
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've used a codeine cough linctus a few times over the years but only at night. Tried for the first time when I had a long running chest infection where I was exhausted & sore, unable to get any sleep due to coughing fits. The pholcodine really worked & I got some sleep without coughing. It is a sedative so that is probably partly how it helps. Me not coughing helped my wife get some sleep too!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/16/2018
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Using for bronchitis. This stuff tastes horrid. I'm allergic to cherries, although this is just cherry flavor it still makes my mouth numb and if I didn't mention it, it takes horrible! Put this in a gel cap like the non-narcotic cough med please.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
gheep | 13-18 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/28/2015
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication works fairly effectively, however, it may cause severe drowsiness as it did for me with only 1tsp of the syrup (coactifed)

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
anon | 7-12 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/29/2014
Condition: Cold Symptoms
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
littlepeaks | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/27/2014
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed this med -- also contained guaifenesin. I had problems sleeping at night because of cough. I had immediate relief. Slept a deep sleep every night I took it. Had normal dreams. Started feeling much better on 2nd day. Except for the first day, I just took the med before bedtime (max dose - 2 tsps). Only side effect I had was constipation -- so increased my fiber intake. Think the guaifenesin helped a lot too. It was very easy to cough up mucus. Had no withdrawal symptoms when stopped taking it, but notice my resting heartbeat increased about 13 beats per minute the first morning after I stopped. (Take BP and heart rate every morning when I get up).Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
daddyculla | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/14/2013
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

One can take 5 mgm and acheivve a good result

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
alice | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/20/2012
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Although the medicine controlled my cough and allowed me to sleep, I had vivid, horrible nightmares / hallucinations that I had a difficult time waking up from. Will never use again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
cotridin | 3-6 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
4/8/2011
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

makes my son go to sleep..w/o this he'll probably can't sleep because of continous coughing,a dry cough.sounds like crouppy.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/8/2009
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Prescribed for cough due to bronchitis. Suppress cough greatly. Easily to use.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/20/2009
Condition: Cold Symptoms
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed this medication to assist with the clearing up of a bacterial upper respiratory infection. It eased the coughing and sneezing, and when taken in the correct dosage, alleviated the sore throat completely. Would take again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kingdomofloathing.com | 25-34 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/1/2009
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed this medication to aid in sleeping - because my cough was nagging and violent enough that I could not get more than two hours of sleep. The medication definitely made me drowsy, but was minimally effective for the cough (making for a miserable combination!).

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/24/2009
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I usually hate cough medicines, but this one was very easy to swallow. I did experience dizziness/nausea, and had trouble with rigurous activity, such as carrying heavy boxes.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More