Show ratings & reviews for

3.8 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

10 People found this comment helpful

What's the point of treating high blood pressure when the mediation increases hunger and leaves one so exhausted that exercise is impossible? Isn't that counter productive? It also takes away any motivation to do the things that I enjoy. This should be used in place of Thorazine! I would rather have a beautiful, happy life and risk the effects of hypertention than spend the rest of my days on the ...

Shared reviews and ratings

tea lover | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/8/2017
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on a 50/25 dosage for three years. Age is 77. Blood pressure stays in the 130/90 range. After starting a beet juice and part time vegetarian regimen six months ago my bp dropped to 110/67. I still wake up three to four times a night to empty a full bladder. Also experience toe and ankle cramps. Both ankles are usually slightly swollen.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kelly_H | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
2/4/2017
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am taking 100-25 mg. I've been on this dosage for approximately a year and although it has indeed lowered my BP, I have no energy what-so-ever to do even the smallest task. It's very annoying when you have a busy schedule and a ton of things to do in a day. Some days I cannot even get up off the couch...

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Randy | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
10/3/2016
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on A/C for a over 8 months and it has helped my numbers tremdously. However, the believe I am experiecing some side effects. First, I am very active in tennis and biking. I am noticing my level of energy has decreased, I had a bout with gout, my ankles get swollen and big toe joint pain. Not to mention ED as well. Is it the drug, if so, I need to ween off. I am on a weight loss mission. If I can lose 45lbs, I believe that will do it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Hypertension | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/4/2016
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been on this medicine, Altenolol-Chlorthalidone 50-25, for one month. I am also taking 100 mg of Losartan, to lower my blood pressure. Readings went from 190/100, to 98/65, which my cardiologist states is an excellent reading. When i mentioned the way i felt, he lowered my Losartan, to 50mg, to help my body adjust to the change in bp. However, I still have side effects of; feeling totally drained, dizzy..blurred vision,at times, as well as nausea,on and off. I'm happy with my new bp readings, and all of the tests I have had,are normal. Yet this seems to be making me feel worse, than I did with high blood pressure.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Gigi | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/23/2015
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Tooooooo much weight gain ,I'm thinking to try just for that raison a other BP med

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
carolkeyous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
6/28/2015
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I sometime wake up with bruise on my arms and legs and dont know how i got them

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Oboe-gal | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
4/9/2015
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

What's the point of treating high blood pressure when the mediation increases hunger and leaves one so exhausted that exercise is impossible? Isn't that counter productive? It also takes away any motivation to do the things that I enjoy. This should be used in place of Thorazine! I would rather have a beautiful, happy life and risk the effects of hypertention than spend the rest of my days on the couch. I don't know which is unhealthier!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
not satisfied | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/16/2014
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My first BP med caused a chronic cough after 1 month, so I switched to this. It worked great on BP but after 2 months I had several frustrating side affects. Dry mouth, weight gain, EXTREME dizzyness when getting up. Sore/stiff lower back when standing up. Stopped taking.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
D | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/31/2014
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took this for 5 days, and was so exhausted in the afternoon I could not keep my eyes open. I woke up the 5th night with unbelieveable painful legs, ankle, feet, and toe cramps!!! I started with a cold sore after one day, and it countinued to spread to the entire lips and was only stopped by my taking valtrex!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ALM | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/18/2013
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I instantly felt better after taking this medication. I didn't realize the excess water was affecting my blood pressure.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
atenolol-chlorthalidone or teneretic | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
6/11/2013
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this medicine for 11 years and it has controlled by blood pressure. No problems in that area.... However when you take a look at the side effects, I have developed several, that I wasn't aware were caused by the medicine. High levels or Uric Acid, which caused Gout.... for 2 years I have suffered with that.. High blood sugar and have been put on medicine for that. High cholestoral as well as. Could not figure out was going on with me, until the endocrinologist talked to me and I expressed how dissatisfied I was with my regular doctor. I started seeing a new doctor that told me that my medicine predisposed me for gout and other things.... I did not have any sign of these other things before I started taking this medicine. It's been a week since I have been taken off of the chlorthalidone (diuretic) part of the medicine and swelling has gone down in my foot and less pain... Make sure you read the side effects to your medicine. By the way, these side effects were not listed on the page from the pharmacy... (Also warning.. Who should not take this medicine...) Because my gout, diabetes and high uric acid are on that list as well.. My old doctor never changed my medicine...Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
gg | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/23/2013
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
frankie 6 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/10/2013
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I get shortness of breath upon exertion. Also, a reduction of energy. I have had increased joint pain in my knees, but, I am unsure if it's related to the drug. I do like the pressure readings while taking the drug.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | Patient
3/5/2013
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this for 4 months. Started having kidney and lower back pain right away. Became worst with time. Doctor put me on pain pains for the back and muscle relaxer. Stopped taking the medication a week ago and no more back or kidney pain.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/13/2013
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've only been taking this drug for a few months, but I've began to notice hair loss. I don't like that, what should I do. Is there a vitamin that I can take to prevent the hair loss?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
KennyV | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
10/23/2012
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication makes me sweat profusely! My BP is sometimes good and at other times not so good. BP is very inconsistent with this medication. The water pill additive in this med also makes peeing an every hour thing! I've been on this stuff for over 10 years and do think my body is used to it already and basically rendering it ineffective. Maybe time to ask for a change!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
vlr | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
8/18/2012
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have gained 20 lbs. since I started taking this medicine. My feet and ankles are swollen often.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
norma | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years |
8/14/2012
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

having problems with stomach pain, bone pain, bloating

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
paulie | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
8/13/2012
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

worked great ,easy, but now have E.D. .

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/17/2012
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More