Show ratings & reviews for

4.7 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

34 People found this comment helpful

I've been on Sarafem for 3 weeks now for PMDD. I have to say I'm thrilled with the results so far. I am more stable in mood, my breasts weren't tender with my period, I have less symptoms of PMDD (my hubby noticed a difference!) and I just feel more like myself. I take it at night b/c it tends to make me a little tired if I take it in the morning. I have also lost weight which has been an issue wi...

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 35-44 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/25/2019
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

A lot of Drs won't tell women but Sarafem is Prozac, EXACT SAME DRUG, just changed the name because if the reputation that "Prozac was for crazy people" it's actual use was for depression, so I've just switched from prozac to Sarafem for the same reason, so if people see the bottle they don't judge you. But just wanted to make sure all of you were aware of this.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Zbyqr | 35-44 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/11/2017
Condition: Premenstrual Disorder with a State of Unhappiness
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took this medication many, many years ago. More than 20 years ago. I remember the complete calm experienced while of dealing with my menses each month, the stupid drama of it and messes I made because of bad decisions during. That little pill was a big help. I am disappointed that many Dr's now do not know this med and that it may have been discontinued. If it works, and it did, it should have been left to deliver what many needed...ThEirik sanity back.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
CindieAc | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/31/2013
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Only on for a brief time and notice a difference in agitated depression with PMDD. I was in bed for a week, depressed. Now feeling better.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
4/28/2013
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | Patient
3/25/2013
Condition: Premenstrual Disorder with a State of Unhappiness
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been on the med for a week now. Had partial hysterectomy and have been going thru me menopause 8 yrs now. Ovary/hormone symptoms been tougher to deal with this past 2-3 months. One positive so far, appetite has decreased (usually increases at this time). Had been taking Viibryd for about 5-6 months now; told to stop taking it while taking this med; luckily no withdraws since stopping Viibryd (knock on wood) depression has not worsened. Hoping that more positive things come of taking this PMDD med. Two more weeks before I'll really know. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sjgirl85 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
4/25/2012
Condition: Premenstrual Disorder with a State of Unhappiness
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this medication for 7 months now. It has honestly changed my life. I wish I would have started taking it a lot sooner. I have suffered from, what my doctors called,PMDD. I was depressed, anxious and easily frustrated at some points of the month which seemed to center around my menstrual period. I would cry for no reason, get upset or mad for no reason, I was super sensative, got frustrated VERY easily and was extremely anxious at times. It interfered with all of my relationships - my family (especially my parents), my boyfriend, my friends (especially my rooommate and best friend). I was reluctant to start taking this medication, as I was afraid to feel like a different person or TOO happy or disconnected with reality. After reading reviews, I decided to start it... it was worth a shot. I'm going on my 8th month and I feel like myself with a happy outlook on life, a more balanced mood and more control over my emotions. My frustration level has gone WAY down, which was one of my biggest problems. My relationships have become better and easier... and everyone notices a huge difference in my mood and personality. The ONLY negative I have found is that I have gained about 10 pounds since starting it and my doctor says that is is related to the medication. Totally worth it though! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
parrk | 35-44 | Female | Patient
3/26/2012
Condition: Anorexia Nervosa
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i still did not want to eat after taking this drug. I continued to loose weight.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mr G | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years |
12/26/2011
Condition: Obsessive Compulsive Disorder
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tay12 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/22/2011
Condition: Premenstrual Disorder with a State of Unhappiness
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I tried Sarafem for the first time to help with PMS. I only took 10 mg for 14 days. Yes, it does take the edge off, however I had a very difficult time sleeping. I would lie awake for two hours some nights which is never usually an issue for me. Another issue was that I could not achieve orgasm. I had an option to cut the 10mg in half but I decided against it. I will try a more natural route or even consider getting back on birth control.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MORELIKEME | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/15/2011
Condition: Premenstrual Disorder with a State of Unhappiness
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been on Sarafem for 3 weeks now for PMDD. I have to say I'm thrilled with the results so far. I am more stable in mood, my breasts weren't tender with my period, I have less symptoms of PMDD (my hubby noticed a difference!) and I just feel more like myself. I take it at night b/c it tends to make me a little tired if I take it in the morning. I have also lost weight which has been an issue with my past history of anorexia. I am never hungry. The fog I felt the first week went away and I feel like doing normal things (playing with the kids, laundry, grocery shopping) again. My aches and pains I used to feel are also gone. I almost worry this is to good to be true. I feel wonderful. I take 10 mg each day. Start with small dose and work up from that dose if you need to increase. High dose gave me anxiety. I hope this drug helps you as it has helped me, you aren't alone in the way you feel! Keep trying!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
patty | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/14/2010
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

has made me loose weight and too be more at ease with every day life

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
FL MOM | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
6/10/2010
Condition: Premenstrual Disorder with a State of Unhappiness
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I asked my Dr if there was anything I could take for that anxious and "short-fuse" feeling I had each month, before my cycle. She told me about Sarafem. I told her I didn't want to really take anti-depressants. She told me about taking it for 14 days, before my cycle. I've been taking it for over a year now and it has been a blessing. I haven't experienced any negative side effects, except a lack of sex drive. That could be due to communication problems in my marriage, but I noticed the lack of intrest in sex increased when I began Sarafem. I read the reviews for Paxil CR and Zoloft, hoping to find another treatment for PMDD without the lack of interest in sex drive, but Sarafem has the most positive reviews. I take 10mg of Fluoxetine HCL for 14 days each month and I'm very pleased with how I feel each month. It has made me feel less anxious and generally content. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
missy | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/17/2010
Condition: Premenstrual Disorder with a State of Unhappiness
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been using this drug for four days now. I am noticing that I have the "I don't care" attitude to situations where I would normally over-react to. Be careful taking this with Robatussin (battling a cold). It caused me to be a bit confused and disorientated, with several weird dreams.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
LIMom | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
2/23/2010
Condition: Premenstrual Disorder with a State of Unhappiness
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take 10mg for just 14 days before I get my period. It definitely helps with my mood and uncontrollable anger. Before taking this, the silliest things would make me want to scream! When my husband asked me why I take it, I tell him that I take it in order to extend HIS life expectancy :-) Enough Said?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ItryTOnotGIVEup | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/25/2010
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm 13 and I have been taking sarafem for a long period of time now. I have a very bad stage of depression and it hasnt worked the best for me. Some people don't take me seriously when I say that this drug hasn't worked. My doctor said that she would put me on a stronger dosage but never did. If you have extreme depression, ask your doctor for a strong dose. Mild depression will not work with the first dose that they give to you.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MrsDawgdaze22 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/6/2010
Condition: Premenstrual Disorder with a State of Unhappiness
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug has been a great help for me. However, my pharmacist has told me that they have discontinued it. Does anyone know why or of anything else that works as well as Sarafem?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
cam830 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/2/2010
Condition: Premenstrual Disorder with a State of Unhappiness
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

it is so simple to take and really does help with my severe PMDD It keeps my moods stable and also helps with the severity of my PMDD symptoms.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
me | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
12/26/2009
Condition: Posttraumatic Stress Syndrome
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It has helped in the past.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jodi | 45-54 | Female | Patient
12/10/2009
Condition: Premenstrual Disorder with a State of Unhappiness
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am researching Sarafem. All reviews very helpful. I feel tense, overwhelmed, angry and ready to choke everyone. I have appt w Dr. tomorrow, I am looking for some relief from these symptoms!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
11/9/2009
Condition: Premenstrual Disorder with a State of Unhappiness
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication has been very helpful to me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More