Show ratings & reviews for

4.1 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

9 People found this comment helpful

i have been using this drug for about 30 years and it seems to be the only one that works for me.

Most voted negative review

1 People found this comment helpful

I took this medacine to relieve my migrane that I have had for 6 days now and it is inaffective and has made me nauseus and cramping almost to the point of going to the hospital and even that might happen withthe headache that wont go away. I do not recomend this medacine.

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
11/3/2017
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking Fioricet for 30 years, since being diagnosed with Migraines. This by far, works like a charm. I know as soon as I start to have symptoms, I immediately take one ( sometimes 2 if necessary) and within 30 min, my migraine almost immediately subsides! I carry this with me all of the time.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Releived | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/26/2017
Condition: Tension Headache
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Everyone is different, I found my perfect dose to be 3 at once, any more and I'm out like a light in 30 min, any less and my headache is still there an hour or two later and it requires me to take more which has zero affect, again everyone is different. But 3 of these at once in a 24 hour period and I can function like a normal person with almost no side affects whatsoever, just no more head pain. This medication beats the crud out of opioids and the after affects they leave behind for me. Again everyone is different, just remember the acetaminophen is not good for your liver so only take what you need.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
12/7/2016
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking butalbital for a few years now and it works but only to a certain extent. Recently it has stopped working completely and nothing is working as well as it had in the beginning.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
klw078 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
12/5/2016
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take Fioricet, which is Butalbital, Aspirin and Caffeine combined. It typically works great. When my headaches are the worst, I have to start out with two and then take one every four hours until it subsides, but it usually only takes a couple of doses. Taking a nap in a dark, quiet room also helps. It is not expensive at all- $10 copay for 30 pills. I have been taking this for approximately 5 years now and am extremely pleased.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
SickofPrescriptionMeds | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/26/2016
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

When I take it. It causes me to fall asleep and I wake up with a headache. While I am asleep no pain. Maybe it is because I am out of it that I don't feel it!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MClark | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/31/2016
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started having daily life altering headaches this year. I was diagnosed with Arnold Chiari Malformation. I have tried several meds where the side effects are as bad as the problem. I reluctantly gave in and tried this and boy am I happy I did!! Besides some stomach issues I have had no side effects and while not relieving the head pain completely it is making it more manageable. I was instructed to take 3 a day for now. Next week I get an occipital nerve block which I hope helps. I already take several medications as a breast cancer survivor to combat long term chemo effects. So if I could off of this I would love it but I am so grateful to my doctor for prescribing this medication. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
PrayingWoman | 55-64 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
1/11/2016
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've had 35 yrs of migraines. For 15, all i got was vicodin. Yay for inept physicians. Finally a nerologist gave me imitrex, but said not more than 9/month, which was not enough. When in hospital for unrelated surgery, I happened upon a migraine and staff doc gave me butalbital to go with my imitrex. Astounding improvement, to the point where now I take this immediately, and wait 40 min to see if imitrex is even needed. Half the time, it is NOT, as this does the trick. I am so grieved that doctors push the pain relievers without even trying the real cures! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
11/12/2015
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been taking this for over 30 years, as needed for migraines. At the first symptom (in my case it's blurry vision) I take 1 pill and within 20 minutes all symptoms have disappeared. I carry it with me always, and have never been disappointed.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
NavyStormVet | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/3/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My VA doc gave this med to me for nerve growth headaches in my head. I have found that it is working miracles for my chronic back and body pain for my degenerative disc disease and fibromyalgia. I have Zero side effects. BUT- now I'm scared to tell him my great news because he will take it away from me thinking I'm abusing it. I have PTSD from Desert Storm also. I don't know what to do. The VA has doc hopped me so much they were able to make me look like a drug seeker because one doc didn't believe in what the other doc was doing. So I've been cut off all my pain meds and sleep meds. Now I don't sleep and instead of being suicidal, I feel like beating the crap out of these people. Can anyone help me or any suggestions???Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
7/5/2013
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I only take this med when i have a headache so severe that OTC meds won't work. Thus solving the dependence problem. When i do take though it works like a charm. I had not known about not lying down for 30 minutes after taking, but have not encountered any side effects. Like some others, I rarely have to take more than two doses. I do have to take it fairly soon upon onset (couple of hours or so). It does put me to sleep so i don't take it but at home. I have health insurance so the cost is manageable. Very satisfiedRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
owensashly0420 | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/22/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been incredibly blessed and feel great about this drug. It has been a life saver. It works for my Entraviras Tension Headaches. Fioricet 50-350-40 works better than Imitrex for my Migraines and regular Tension Headaches as well. It is awesome. It truely, as I said at the beginning, has been a blessing with Migraine's. I do not know anyone who has been prescribed this medication before for Migraine. My partner has had really bad Migraine's since a child and has never been prescribed this medication for them. I find that very interesting since the medication has been around awhile as far as I know. I just know that I do not have as many headaches as I did since being prescribed this medications, and when I get a headache it is a relief to know I now have a pajn reliever that helps me!!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
poor patientgaewun | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/14/2012
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Medication is too expensive. But that is the way most things are. If they work they are expensive. That makes the drug companies rich.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
2/21/2012
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i have been using this drug for about 30 years and it seems to be the only one that works for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
nique11 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
10/29/2011
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had classic migraines for many years and this medication works wonderfuuly. If I catch it early, one does the trick but never more than two have been needed. I have no side effects and since I have taken it for a very long time I know I don't have a depencdence on it. For me it's the best thing out there.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/7/2011
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Relief doesn't seem to last long.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
tommy | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
9/2/2011
Condition: Tension Headache
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have used Fiorinal since the '70s. I will take one after an hour or two if Tylenol 500 mg does not work. Rarely do I have to take more than one; and, even more rarely would I have to take three. This drug works for me; so, I only use it when absolutely necessary.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
diane carpentertshqq | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/15/2011
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

this med did me a world of good when i was taking it i had 4got about it. when i was taking it i had hardly any head pain,when i stoped my head pain bgain again diane carpenter

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
me | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/5/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have terrible muscle pain due to fibromyalgia, this medicine helped to relax me and my muscles and I was able to restboth my mind and my body

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/5/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months |
12/1/2010
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More