Show ratings & reviews for

3.7 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

104 People found this comment helpful

My son has ADD inattentive type; he does not have hyperactivity, just a complete inability to concentrate, remain organized, filter out ambient noise, remember tasks or finish tests on time. This medication has helped him greatly in all of those areas and he now finishes timed tests on time at school, a first in many years. He gets mild headaches, which is thus far the only ill effect. It's great ...

Most voted negative review

16 People found this comment helpful

I have been taking concerta for 3 years now, and while it has helped my studying, it is extremely difficult to come off of. What most people who comment on this site neglect to mention is that when you stop taking concerta you will become severly depressed. Prior to using concerta I NEVER experienced feelings like this. Concerta is just an easy fix for lousy parenting, but what most of these pa...

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | Female | Patient
10/4/2021
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i used to take this when i was little and it worked it got me to shut up and calm down and actually do what i was told at home and in school. but it took away from my childhood it gave me extreme mental problems where i was thinking about suicide at the age of around 8, it would make my appetite go away. it would make me feel drowsy all day but at bed time i couldnt fall asleep and would stay up super late. one day i forgot to take my medicine and in school i couldn’t stop crying, but i was crying for literally nothing the only thing i could think of was my medicine i didn’t take my medicine. i don’t know if my body became a type of addicted to it but it stressed my system out not taking it i haven’t heard anyone else with this problem. oh i was on concerta-36 i don’t know what dosage that is but that’s the one i was taking. they even tried giving me the concerta-18 to take after school so i could get homework done instead of shutdown like usual. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dolly | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/27/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am diagnosed ADD and these don’t work for me at all. I’m on 18mg and I may either need to up my dose or switch meds because I still feel spacey and unable to focus. I might as well not take anything at all.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Trip | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
7/15/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had been taking this stuff since I was 9. Doc said 72 mg should be good for 100 pound 9 year old(45kg). And I stayed on 72 mg until I was a sophomore in highschool. Mom never asked me how I felt though. She was just proud I was an all A student. My Dad asked though, amd I told him that it felt like I was dead or dying. I felt achey all the time, cotton mouth, sweating while I’m wearing shorts and a T-shirt in a freezing classroom, always agitated, always had a headache, and I always had a stomach ache but trying to eat would make me throw up if I ate the normal amount. But that went away after two years. I had finally gotten used to just feeling like death. I didn’t realize how bad it was until I started it up again in College. Its my junior year and I can’t afford to mess it up so I started taking it again my sophomore year. And I honestly felt worse than I have felt when I’m hungover, but hey my grades rose up. Looking back I’d of rather taken the Cs and had more friends. Because if anyone interrupts you while you are doing your work. It’s Game Over. You will absolutely blow your stack on them even if they are asking if you want some cookies or money. The fact that they interrupted you makes you just pop. Oh, and not to mention the depression you get when you stop taking it. But hey it works right? Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jenna | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
7/14/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Yeah, it is pretty great being able to focus, but I feel slightly sick all the time, don't enjoy anything anymore, and am tired of having to swallow pills that give me anxiety. I went off the pills for a few months after taking them for over 10 years. I didn't know it wasn't normal to hate how food tastes, constantly feel sweaty, have a dry mouth, and feel absolutely terrible, among other things. I went back on them recently for school, and I hate it. I am getting better grades now, but for dinner tonight I ate only a quarter of an apple and I think I am getting underweight again. Food tastes terrible. I feel terrible. The anxiety and other side effects this gives me make me want to self harm. I am extremely sleep deprived, as I have not slept anywhere near enough since I restarted the medicine. It was ok as a kid because I had been taking it for so long that I had forgotten life wasn't supposed to be like this. But after taking a break, I hate feeling like this. But if I don't take it, I will do badly at uni, so I am ignoring this horribleness. I can't enjoy being alive. I just want to be able to stop taking this medicine without failing uni. Other than that, the medicine works well. It is easy to use, improves my focus, and makes me less hyper. And to the parents I see leaving reviews here, obviously your grade school children can not leave reviews online, but please do ask them how they are feeling, you may find that have a different perspective on the medicine than you do because you are not experiencing the side effects personally. My parents understand the side effects, but they do not understand how terrible it truly is. My doctor has said that I am unusually sensitive to the side effects, but I am not the only one who feels like this, I have seen, on reddit, plenty of people who also feel terrible with the medicineRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sSlither | 13-18 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/8/2021
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am a 16 year old trans male. I started concerta in primary school and switched after 3 year due to severe depression and suicidal thoughts. I just re started it near the end of my junior year in high school. Its been working okay so far, but these comments kind of irk me. I can see how from a parents point of view this medication is working, but a good amount of these reviews I've seen have been from parents or caregivers. If you want a good review don't listen to the parents. As a person who has been on this drug before, be careful and pay attention to your feelings. If you aren't a person with ADHD or ADD that has been on this drug, please don't say how it works to others. Check in with the people on concerta. Though I respect the intention behind the reviews, let the kids speak for themselves. Ask if they're struggling with anything and how you can SUPPORT them. I would also recommend talking to the schools or talking to your primary about accommodations in the school system. At the beginning of the school year I email all of my teachers to inform them that I have a 504 and I carry a copy with me at all times. Just because you don't see them struggling, doesn't mean they arent.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Amir- KSA | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/18/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was diagnosed with narcolepsy , always tired falling asleep at any time ,from the first day taking concerta I felt. Normal , no longer tired , able to function normally during the day and much more productive at work…. Now taking 18mg daily for 3 weeks , a life changing experience

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Annoyed mom | 13-18 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Caregiver
5/15/2021
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It angers me when people say that Concerta etc.. is just for lazy parenting. I speak from personal experience and medical experience as a paramedic and now a nurse. My two boys are ADHD, both with different symptoms as well as I am too. I was diagnosed later in life as its very difficult to diagnose in girls especially when young. My whole life I have struggled with depression, anxiety, learning difficulty, relationships, brain fog, focus the list goes on I have them all. From all my own experience and seeing what my boys go through its not fair for people to judge and make negative comments on something they obviously don't know anything about or they would not judge. people should educate themselves about the topic 1st or you really don't have any business opening your mouth. Rant over!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Irene | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/12/2021
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have ADHD (inattentive/impulsive) with compulsive symptoms (related to anxiety) but my experience with this medication was mixed. On one hand, I saw improvement with this medication when I was taking 36mg maximum. I was doing my work and paying attention in class more than usual. I noticed I was socializing more often and found myself being productive rather than procrastinating through the whole day like I would. But when I started taking 54 mg (like I was told based on my body), I saw my attention improving more for a little while. Then my compulsion symptoms worsened drastically. I would usually be anxious and spend 1 hour on my compulsions, but this medication made me restless/anxious to the point I was spending 4-5 hours on my compulsions in a rapid pace. It was disturbing me to the point I would always feel horrible and exhausted and felt I was going uncontrollable. My compulsions and anxiety was still active while I was taking 18mg and 36mg, but 54mg was when these things happened. All I would say is be careful and if you’ve obsessive compulsive symptoms, make sure you get it treated along with the ADHD.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
4/28/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ve made a previous description of my experience but I forgot to mention that I can barely remember anything from yesterday and all the days before that and I stopped taking it for just the summer and gained sooo much weight then lost a ton when school came back around and was on the medicine

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
4/28/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’m 15 going in 16 years old in two months I’ve been in this medication since I was little I have ADD through out the time I’ve taken this medication if worked very well I was focused in school I could do my schoolwork and pay attention without any problem while taking it, but I just felt empty, I was very quiet, shy, antisocial, and anxious, and so skinny and didn’t have any pleasure of eating because it made me not hungry. I’ve been on the highest dosage for a couple years since and developed depression and anxiety and I have sleeping insomnia I wake up every hour or two I haven’t had a full nights sleep and my medication is not working anymore I have no energy to do anything all day every day and I get dizzy lightheaded and blurred vision when I stand up mostly every single day. I hope my experience helps you.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mike P | 45-54 | Male | Patient
4/7/2021
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am a 54 year old healthy men, i have taken concerta for 8 years now. At first, the medication was working and now I have problem with my health. I have heart issue and after reading the side effect, I start questioning the drug.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Canada | 25-34 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/11/2021
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have ADHD and PMDD they both love to right each other. I tried everything to calm the pmdd. I took ADHD medication as a kid and went off of it in my teen teen years. I am now 32 and have always been against medications. However I finally caved and tried concerta and it has worked wonders. I am excelling in life again and have been able to really focus and calm my anxiety/ nerves. Really helps with my PMDD also.. Really the compulsive thoughts and irritability during the PMDD cycle. I highly recommend. I started on a low dose of 18 then was moved to 27. I am really enjoying the 27.. Going to keep on this for a while before trying to go up even more. I have read alot of comments that doctor started patients on a very high dose. I would recommend talking to your physician and getting a lower dose to try out our find a different doctor who cares. I hope this helps. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Matti | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/26/2021
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had my suspicions for a while now and finally decided to get tested for ADHD. I was diagnosed Jan. 12, 2021 and started on concerta with a 18mg dose shortly after this. I haven't been on it long enough for those close to me to see differences, however, I myself have been blown away by the changes. My metacognition (essentially my ability to step outside of my thoughts and analyze them) has been way easier, and I am able to focus on my behaviours and reactions rather than just reacting without prior thought. I have also been way more patient with those around me, and have had way more self control when it comes to prioritizing what thoughts need to be shared in a conversation. This has been especially helpful in my workplace, as well as in my marriage. I have also discovered that I am much more focused in task completion. Often I was running late because I would lose track of time while trying to half finish as much as I could in a day. Now, I am able to prioritize and keep track of time. I'm not perfect at it, but I am so much more on track just in a month, then I have been in my entire life. Looking forward to transforming my habits and eventually coming off of concerta!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Enii | 13-18 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/11/2020
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i am 13 years old and i have had hell with this drug do not give this to your kids please my mouth becomes so dry i cant talk i feel nervous when im on this and i can hardly talk to people. I had to take it everyday for a year so I know how this drug is believe me. You might become depressed when you take this, and you will always have a headache and feel drunk and like shit. You will have 0 friends if you take this drug please don't. If you think im lying see for yourself. I am 13 years old and I had to take the highest dose. It didn't help me behavior at all except everyone thought i was shy and quiet but in reality i was suffering from taking that shit drug. My mom thought it was good for me to take it and I had to take it everyday for a year but eventually I quit. This drug will fuck you up mentally this drug is hell in a pill do not give your kids this. trust meRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
badtime | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/11/2020
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was recently diagnosed with ADHD and this was the first med we tried. Severe dizziness, nausea and vomiting and feeling like I was in a haze or drunk all the time- didn't feel safe to drive. Stopped after 2 weeks because side effects were so severe. 0/10

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dildoman666 | 13-18 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
7/15/2020
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Did not release instantly wen I chewed theam lies all lies I'm really patient but like my drugs to kick in imidietly

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Em | 13-18 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/28/2019
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm a 17 year old Female in collage. I was diagnosed in May 2019 with severe adhd. They where jumped way to fast over to concerta. don't know the legal doses, in other countries. My doctor put me on the highest dose allowed 54mg depot. I'am not a big fan of the side effects I've lost 78.6 ibs 35.8 kg in less than 2 months. Is that normal?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
PeterBert | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
9/10/2019
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

In addition to my previous comment, if you have anxiety, depression, tics, overall nervous and jittery, trouble even talking... Like I did, ask your doctor about straterra which is not a stimulant drug and will maybe actually help these comorbidity symptoms rather than amplify them. Concerta although maybe helped focus at first, all the side effects clouded me more. Anyways straterra seems to be working for me so far, maybe will with others ho have anxiety amplified on concerta.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
PeterBert | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year |
9/10/2019
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

To each their own ! Probably why there are different medication options. Happy to read that this medication worked wonders to others. For me I felt always nervous inside, speedy and jittery. Anxiety, followed with depressive behaviors, tics... the works! Switching at this moment to strattera which is not a stimulant like concerta and others. Supposed reduce anxiety and tics. So far only 4 days and on strattera and even if it supposed to take longer for full effect and still taking concerta at same time for 10 days total diminishing the dosage to full stop after 10 days, I notice a huge difference on my anxiety and nervousness, not jittery and feel like I was on some kind of speed drug. Just hope everything will pursue in the right direction after time and stopping concerta completely ! I know strattera can also be taken with a stimulant if needed. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | Male | Patient
9/3/2019
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i am currently a 13 year old in grade nine. Agreeing to take this drug was by far the worst decision of my life. The first week or two were fine, all it did was increase my grades. however the problems started to increase fast. I suddenly felt depressed, anxious, im never hungry, my mouth becomes so dry it is difficult to speak, and i fell emotionless. Now im trapped with this, because my mom may be satisfied with the result, but she will never understand how it truly effects me. i tried to explain to her, but she wouldnt let me. If any parents see this i beg you to not give this to your child. The emotional trauma is simply not worth going through for academic achievement.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More