Show ratings & reviews for

4.1 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

70 People found this comment helpful

I have been using Vaniqa now for 6 weeks. The reduction in facial hair being problematic has been remarkable! I find myself hardly having to pluck hairs anymore, which has dramatically improved the quality of my life. I suffered for too long with unsightly hair and Vaniqa has not only retarded the growth of facial hair at an incredible rate, it has also been gentle to my skin and I can tell you t...

Most voted negative review

17 People found this comment helpful

Vaniqa deliberately misled customers by failing to explain that one must buy 2 tubes of their product to qualify for the $50 rebate. I purchased one tube for $93.00 as a trail purchase, expecting the full rebate, but I received a check for only $25.00. It was not until I called the company (very long wait, by the way) that they explained how their rebate actually works. Be aware that “up to $50”...

Shared reviews and ratings

Nini Rose | 55-64 | Female | Patient
10/10/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After 6months of twice a day use, I have not had any results. My facial hair is the same.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
boring617 | 65-74 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
10/5/2021
Condition: Increased Facial Hair in a Woman
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Age 72, thick facial hair since age 14; over 1 hour/day of attempts to control from ages 14-65, slowdown due to exhaustion. Vaniqa helped significantly. TIP: to avoid getting acne from it, apply a thin coat of salicyclic acid lotion first -- up to half an hour before, or immediately before, makes no difference. Oddly, it doesn't seem to block the good effects of the Vaniqa at all (tho' it would be worth it to me if it did).

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tammy | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
9/26/2021
Condition: Increased Facial Hair in a Woman
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I still get some hair growth on my upper lip and chin just not as much. However I am now experiencing some hair thinning on my head. I’m going to stop using Vaniqua for 3-6 months to see if it makes a difference. I’ll explore laser hair removal for my lip and chin in the meantime.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Hairtreatment | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/9/2021
Condition: Increased Facial Hair in a Woman
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ve been using Vaniqa for about a month and a half, and I can already notice the difference it’s made. I’ve previously done laser which was very expensive but managed the hair growth... it’s been a few years now and my hair on face and neck started to return at the speed it used to before laser, if I shaved in the morning, I’d start having hair growth by the end of the day or next morning. It was really affecting me emotionally that I’d have to shave every day which would make my skin very sensitive and irritated. With Vaniqa, my hair growth now starts to come back 2-3 days later which gives me a break and time to heal my skin in between. I’ve also noticed my skin is looking the best it has ever looked, a lot of my acne has stopped with only one spot at a time, my hyper pigmentation has also dramatically stopped. My skin is looking the clearest it ever has as an adult, I feel confident going without make up. The only flag would be that you need to watch your skin care routine, I’ve found it has made my skin drier and there was one incident where I broke out with a rash and flakey skin under my eye. I also put that down to me using a skin care routine that has lots of actives. So I recommend after cleansing and toning, use a facial mist then apply the Vaniqa, wait 5-10 mins, mist the non creamed face and apply hyaluronic acid, and a non active eye cream and face cream + lots of sun cream! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jen | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/27/2019
Condition: Increased Facial Hair in a Woman
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have dark, coarse hair on my upper lip, chin, and neck area due to PCOS. I was prescribed Vaniqa by my dermatologist and have been using it for just over 4 weeks now. I was plucking and/or shaving these areas every single day, for at least 20 minutes a day, as waxing is not an option for me (I'm not willing to let the hair grow out enough to do it). This was causing my skin in these areas to be red, irritated, as well as covered with follicle bumps, and Post-Inflammatory Hyperpigmentation on my upper lip, resulting in a mustache-like shadow. As you can imagine, my self esteem was affected very negatively because of this. I can honestly say in the 4 weeks since starting Vaniqa, I can see a major difference in not only the frequency of having to remove hair, but the hair itself. I feel the hair comes in finer, lighter, and easier to remove. I now only have to pluck once every 1-2 weeks, and it now takes less than 5 minutes. This has helped with the redness and skin irritation in these areas significantly, and my skin in these areas has never looked better. I use it in conjunction with Meladerm on my upper lip for the hyperpigmentation and have had no issues with that. The Meladerm continues to fade the hyperpigmentation while the Vaniqa gets rid of the hair. I have not noticed any scalp hair loss like some have said - the only side effect I have experienced is small, acne like bumps in the area where I apply the Vaniqa cream, but that was only in the beginning when first starting it and I don't really have issues with that now. I would absolutely recommend this medicine for any woman experiencing excess facial hair, as it does work, you just have to be patient and keep applying twice a day as it says. The only reason I give it 8 stars is because of the price. Personally, it's not covered with my insurance as it is deemed to be a cosmetic medicine, and from what I've seen that seems to be the case for most people. It's a shame that this company charges so much.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mary | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
5/16/2019
Condition: Increased Facial Hair in a Woman
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have used this for 5 years now and I’m quite happy. I’m also wondering about the side affects. I have a bump on the sole of my foot (Plantar Fibroma) and I wonder if this is from the cream. Probably not but I will stop for awhile to check my symptoms.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Hair today Gone tomorrow | 65-74 | On medication for 1 to 6 months |
11/4/2018
Condition: Increased Facial Hair in a Woman
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been using Vaniqa cream for 5 months. In Australia, my health insurance gives a rebate of 35% of the $110 cost. One tube lasts 5 months. It works after 3 wks. Facial hair almost disappears

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/22/2018
Condition: Increased Facial Hair in a Woman
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This product has worked like a charm for me. Completely controls hair growth with no side effects. I've had no skin rashes or other issues whatsoever.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
0 | 65-74 | Female | Patient
3/6/2018
Condition: Increased Facial Hair in a Woman
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Price of this drug is now out of my reach.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
zelda | 65-74 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/10/2018
Condition: Increased Facial Hair in a Woman
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug did what it was intended to do. After 5-6 weeks of twice daily applications, my unwanted chin hair had turned to slow growing peach fuzz, barely visible. Unfortunately, I was also sprouting big, ugly, painful red bumps along my jaw line and under my lower lip. I stopped using the Vaniqa, but the bumps persisted for several weeks afterwards. I'm a senior with no prior history of acne or other facial skin disturbance. Now my skin is back to its normal state, but so is the unwanted hair. So I've gone back to tweezing. if your skin doesn't break out, great; otherwise, forget it. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Heyzel | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
10/17/2017
Condition: Increased Facial Hair in a Woman
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have used Vaniqua for over 5 years. It is expensive and not covered by insurance. It doesn't seem to work for me, but I'm afraid to stop using it it case it is having some minimal effect. It may work for some. It is a big, expensive disappointment for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
hairybride2b | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/12/2017
Condition: Increased Facial Hair in a Woman
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Hi everyone, I just started using this cream. I can't really give a full review, as of yet. I am hoping I can give a great review in a few weeks/months. I do however have a question for the other women who have used this. Did you shave the area prior to using the cream? If so, did you start getting little white "bumps" on the area? I am getting married in October and need this hairy chin and neck GONE!! Any hope? Thank you,

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MommaK | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/24/2017
Condition: Increased Facial Hair in a Woman
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was at the end of my rope with facial hair increasing and I was becoming depressed by it. I remembered that I had heard about Vanilqa and thought it was time to give it a try.Nothing else gave me relief. My skin was even becoming distorted from tweezing and shaving. I looked horrible! I have my first tube of Vaniqa and have been using it for about 2 months. I am AMAZED. It has slowed down facial hair growth about 90% and has affected the density of hair about 99%. The few hairs now that grow are so thin and almost not visible that I am a happy woman now! It truly is life-changing and I can be social again. I regret my inherited genetics but now Vaniqa allows me to deal with it so easily. I will gladly cut out some other expenses to afford this purchase every 6-8 months or so! I wish everyone good luck with this product! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
11/29/2016
Condition: Increased Facial Hair in a Woman
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started using Vaniqa in 2005, only using around my mouth. I have been without it from time to time, mainly because of the cost. Always so glad to start using it again as I can really tell the difference without it. Vaniqa saves me time everyday as I don't always have to puck and when I do there are only a few sparce hairs.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
meeb | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/31/2016
Condition: Increased Facial Hair in a Woman
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Save your money. I used it for two months and it really had no effect on hair growth. And, the big reason I wanted to take it was that plucking has a side effect of causing ingrown hairs and sores around them. These got worse, so I stopped using the Vaniqa. What a waste of $160, wish they gave a money back guarantee!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Primavera | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/29/2016
Condition: Increased Facial Hair in a Woman
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Within around 2 days after beginning this treatment I developed blistering and redness and eventually the blisters broke and produced a clear liquid. I feel this is a cream developed for those with very robust facial skin. Just because you have strong hairs, doesn't mean that the underlying skin is not sensitive. To my great dismay, as this did appear to deter the strong growth, I am unable to use this.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
tired of being raped by high prices | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/22/2016
Condition: Increased Facial Hair in a Woman
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Great product. Extremely high price. This company is raping the average american woman who most cannot afford this product. A tube lasts a year if used correctly. But, this company has the corner market on this product. No other company has this product and there is no safe generic form. I started using this 4 years ago and it works wonders. It was under 100 bucks at the time. It is now up to 200. If this company really wants to help consumers, they need to stop raping us with the high cost of this medication that most people other than the rich and famous, can afford. Lower your prices.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/26/2016
Condition: Increased Facial Hair in a Woman
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have PCOS i felt hopeless in getting rid of this facial hair. I had to use tweezers at night and shave in the day. That left dark marks all over my face. i finally started using the cream and it is wonderful, even lightened the dark marks. My hair on my head started thinning so i thought it was the cream and stopped using it. It was not the cream i don't think so i will start again. Everyone noticed my face looked lighter, i love the cream but hate the price $150.00 a tube. Please get a generic and quick.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | Patient
4/12/2016
Condition: Increased Facial Hair in a Woman
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take Paxil/Seroxat for depression. This cream worked, but it made me feel very depressed! I felt better the moment I stopped using it. Thought I'd better warn those on SSRIs

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Quinn | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/6/2016
Condition: Increased Facial Hair in a Woman
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm feeling a bit "fraudulent" posting this way, as I haven't tried Vaniqa yet, but I'm really hoping for a response from someone here who has. So, I gave it 3 stars to be "fair" somewhat, & will change it after I use it and know how it works on me. My question is: I'm post-meno, and do have some of the "terminal" hair growth they talk of, mostly on my upper lip, plus about 5 on my chin. Those are all easily handled with plucking &/or waxing. The thing that bothers me, though, is the peach fuzz everywhere else on my face, particularly my cheeks on over to the very sides of cheeks & on down & around that entire area. (Don't really care about it on the forehead area. Just the cheeks & sides are most-obvious.) These are the normal hairs everyone has (in almost-invisible form), and they aren't any darker than they ever were. In fact, they're still blond, but they're way thicker, I think longer and just plain more noticeable than they were pre-meno. I long-ago stopped using foundation make-up because it accentuated these hairs all the more. But now (I'm age 61, but told I look 40... except these pesky hairs, maybe) even w/o the make-up, I've noticed the hairs even in some photos. I've already been told lasers won't work on them b/c they aren't dark. About a decade ago I tried waxing 1 time & about tore the skin off, so that's out. And shaving isn't an option either. Does anybody have an idea of what might work to just thin these sides-of-the-face hairs out to within reasonable norms again? I don't need to get rid of them entirely, just have them back to what they were. In reading about Vaniqa, it's been hard to determine if it would work in my situation. It mentions the dark "mustache"-type hairs, but I haven't found any descriptions of the kind I'm talking about. TIA for any help out there. I know you guys get it about how embarrassing this can be.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More