Show ratings & reviews for

3.7 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

25 People found this comment helpful

I take a high-dosage of Depakote ER to prevent migraine headaches. With consistent use of this drug, my incapacitating migraines have dropped from 2-3 a week to perhaps one or two per month. For me, it's been a godsend, with absolutely NO bad side effects. It even helps my insomnia, as I take it at bedtime and it has a calming effect. I can't praise this medication enough!

Most voted negative review

4 People found this comment helpful

My best friend was on this medication for 3 weeks for migrane prevention. She ended up in the ER and was admited to the hospital for observation because she had a near death reaction to it.

Shared reviews and ratings

Jeff | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/2/2022
Condition: Epileptic Seizure
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been having disabling vertigo attacks for over 1 year; which have increased to become daily events. My neurologist; which now makes my second for this worsening condition, just took me off of Nortriptyline and prescribed me Divalproex DR 250 mg. 1 time daily. I took it on the 1st day. The next morning, I woke with the feeling of total exhaustion, foggy mind, and a negative mental state. I was so drained that I could do nothing but sleep. I even had to call in to miss my upcoming work shift. As with any medication and trust in Physicians, I took the 2nd scheduled daily dose. Five hours later, I was in worse mental distress than I had ever been in my life, felt physically drained and a wreck. I even had one of my crippling Vertigo attacks; which was massively intensified and what felt as though I would end up in the emergency room or dead, and the constant high pitch in my ears escalated to near deafening. My mental state was thrown into uncontrollable thoughts of life not even being worth another second of the Vertigo and that there is no cure nor relief. I missed another day of work, spent the next few hours laying balled up in my dark bedroom, trying to hold onto my sanity, enduring the more intense than ever Vertigo and roaring high tone in my head, and wondering if I was going to even be sane or survive. I managed to fall into a broken sleep; which was filled with random insane dreams, until I was finally able to make my way to my living room and sit feeling totally drained and mentally depressed and foggy for hours. Once able to even think clear at all, I called and left message with my Neurologist informing him of these dangerous and possibly near detrimental facts. I informed him that I had disposed of the remaining new capsules and would NEVER take any more such mind altering medication for my Vertigo!!! This is a pure example of the wrongful prescribing of medications to treat medical ailments other than what they are proven and intended for. Be cautious, aware, educated, and prepared for any bad reaction to a new medication. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
J | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/6/2020
Condition: Epileptic Seizure
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

More frequent and more severe seizures, weight loss, kidney stones, drastic changes in sleep habits, easily angered with no memory of lashing out.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/10/2018
Condition: Migraine Prevention
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had tried so many medications for migraines and none worked. This one has worked great!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/7/2017
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on this drug off and on for a couple of decades. It helps with my depression and cycling. However, I get just about every side effect there is on it. Stomach issues, crossed eyes, severe hand tremor, weight gain, unsteadiness, etc. That is why I don't stay on it. It ruins almost all of my hobbies, making life a bit less enjoyable. So, for me, it is a catch 22. Go off and deal with depression or stay on it and deal with the side effects?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/12/2017
Condition: Migraine Prevention
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was having headaches everyday. Now I have none. The drug does make me a little sleepy during the day but it's nothing compared to having headaches all the time.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Chatty | 55-64 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
10/1/2016
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This med does not work. DO NOT GO OFF COLD TURKEY. I ended up in the ER with almost having a heart attack. I am 63 and was on it for over 20 yrs. The dr. said it would be out of my system in less than 24 hrs. WRONG! A very dangerous drug.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
9/6/2016
Condition: Migraine Prevention
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Depakote has been the only migraine preventative that has worked for me I don't like the weight gain but it is better than having headaches everyday

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mr man | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
3/21/2016
Condition: Tonic-Clonic Epilepsy
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

No seizures since starting this med maybe 15 years ago. I tried maybe half dozen in the past and nothing really worked. I did experience a little weight gain (10-15lbs) with this one.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
st.petesnoop | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/21/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ccm | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
5/26/2015
Condition: Bipolar Disorder in Remission
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I began this medication last summer. It helped relatively quickly with the mania that comes with my anxiety, or bipolar 2 disorder. I have not been having many side effects until recently and became worried when reading these reviews. My hips, knees and neck are just achy...my neck is so much so, that it effects my eye socket, as the pain travels up the back of my head and feels like my eye socket is swollen. Liver panels have come back normal, but Dr. upped meds to 1000 in December. I'm back for liver panel in June, but the achy is killing me. Just started a substantial weight gain...maintained for months...so again, worried about hip and knees. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Fish-N-Mom | 7-12 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
10/30/2014
Condition: Petit Mal Seizures
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My 11 yr old has been on this med for about 3 months now for petite mals. She was put on the generic form first b/c it's so much cheaper than brand name. After 2 months Generic did not stop her szs, it caused her to be very irritable, hungry every waking moment, stomach cramps first couple of weeks. Neuro wanted to add 2nd generic med with generic Depakote, I said no, wanted to try brand name to see if it works better. THIRD day taking brand Depakote the szs stopped completely!!! Side effects are almost non-existent. She's not as hungry, no stomach pain, and her happy personality is back! I will never let anyone, in medical field or not, try to convince me that generics are same quality as brand name. Brand name is expensive ($165 with coupon vs. $16 generic monthly) but it works to stop szs and I have my sweet happy little girl back!!! In our situation it is definitely worth the price. I am amazed how well it works compared to generic and so happy I tried this instead of listening to nuero and putting her on 2 generic meds with no telling what kind of side effects.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dantc | 55-64 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/30/2014
Condition: Seizures with Breaks in Consciousness & Other Symptoms
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My wife has been taking Depakote for 2 1/2 years. Three 500 mg. tablets nightly. Severe tremors manifested in left hand

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
LizBeth | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
8/29/2014
Condition: Epileptic Seizure
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

it reduced the occurrence of my seizures. once the dr increased the dose slightly, i haven't had a seizure.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | Patient
7/31/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

short term, memory loss, enrergy loss.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
getting_better | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/16/2014
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My shrink started me on 1000mg of Depakote (as well as 60mg Cymbalta and 2mg Risperdal) 2 months ago, and while it has helped my moods, I do nothing but sleep and eat. (I have gained 15 lbs. in 2 months.) After 1 month, I went down to 500mg with the same effects. I have now gone back on Topamax (75mg twice a day). NOTE: I stopped taking Depakote for two nights, and the next day I had a pretty bad panic attack, which I haven't had in 12 years. So don't stop it on your own!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
bearybear2001 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
7/13/2014
Condition: Convulsive Seizures
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have not had a seizure since taking. I also have migraines and have seen significant decrease in them. I have gained about 10 lbs, and have trouble sleeping now and cannot be out in the heat for long periods or it makes me sick.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
me | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/3/2014
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i took this in a string of drugs for aweful bipolar depression. unlike others, mine can last years. after a week or so i did become more organized and actually lost a few lbs even though it can make you gain (though i was dieting), but i didn't really feel i was getting better, so on i go to latuda

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Deb (martin) Szabo | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/24/2014
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

no side affects, other drugs used in treatment also

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Caregiver
3/23/2014
Condition: Bipolar I Disorder with Most Recent Episode Mixed
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I dont recommended at all, its to dangerous medication, that the FDA should re-considered at the, market'

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mom | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Caregiver
3/11/2014
Condition: Epileptic Seizure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

pharmacy can not find Depakote in all of the country. my son needs this medication to function.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More