Show ratings & reviews for

3.7 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

14 People found this comment helpful

if you take levothyroxine - the welchol prevents your body from asorbing the levothyroxine. most doctors are not aware of this. i have begun taking the levothyroxine four hours prior to the first daily dose of welchol. we will see how this works

Most voted negative review

2 People found this comment helpful

After the first three pills, one hour later experienced severe headache (migraine) light sensitivity, and extreme abdominal bloating, severe hemmroidal (sp?) flare up with constipation and rectal bleeding. Dizziness. Took three days to recover. That was only taking half the recommended dose

Shared reviews and ratings

lyte_speed | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
7/28/2022
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I can tolerate Colesevelam for 3 to 4 weeks but then begin having depressed thoughts and poor sleep waking very early each morning due to feelings of restlessness. When the medication is stopped the symptoms also stop.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Pat | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
4/8/2022
Condition: Heterozygous Inherited High Blood Cholesterol
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on the med since it was first available in the 1980's. It reduces my LDL about 25%. It does not enter the bloodstream just works in the digestive tract to remove fats. I use the powder form because the pills are so large. It dissolves well if you use a shaker cup. I use Cherry juice and put 1/4 cup in, than the med, fill cup shake well. You don't taste the med, so very tolerable.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Myka | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/30/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

For the best part of 3 years I was misdiagnosed with IBS. A SECHAT scan then showed severe bile acid malabsorption. Started taking a powder-based formula but couldnt keep it down. This tablet form is superb and so easy to take. I used to have diahorrea 3-4 times a day and within 3 weeks of starting this medication only need to go the once. However, the side effects I get are dry mouth & nose.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
4/28/2020
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been using this product for several years & have been very satisfied with it until the manufacturer was changed. Now it is very thin and sticks to the glass all the time=I have to keep stirring it. I recently wrote to the Fed. Drug Admin. about it.The manufacturing company has changed several times.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
AL P | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
8/13/2018
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I TAKE THIS FOR CROHN'S DISEASE. IT IS THE SIDE EFFECTS THAT ARE DESIRABLE FOR ME. USE THIS WHEN I DO NOT FEEL LIKE MIXING THE POWDER VERSION.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/26/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had chronic diarrhea for years and I finally found a doctor who did testing and found that I have excess bile acid. This medicine is a bile acid sequestrant and for the first time I'm able to have a normal life without worrying where the closest bathroom is. I've really had no problems with the medicine besides possible increased urination.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/13/2013
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After the first three pills, one hour later experienced severe headache (migraine) light sensitivity, and extreme abdominal bloating, severe hemmroidal (sp?) flare up with constipation and rectal bleeding. Dizziness. Took three days to recover. That was only taking half the recommended dose

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
2/10/2011
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

if you take levothyroxine - the welchol prevents your body from asorbing the levothyroxine. most doctors are not aware of this. i have begun taking the levothyroxine four hours prior to the first daily dose of welchol. we will see how this works

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/21/2010
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kicker | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/16/2010
Condition: Additional Medication for Diabetes Type 2
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

so far it has been great, I have been on the oral before and was taken off due to heat problems but all the replacement meds had such bad side effects that I asked to get back on it...

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More