Show ratings & reviews for

2.9 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

9 People found this comment helpful

I did the 5 hour treatment through IV to try and get it overwith as soon as possible! The IV needle hurt the entire time it was in my arm and the medication stung what seemed like forever. I had extreme weakness and terrible headaches for days afterwards. This just in the vein where the IV was is now bubbling up under the skin (very strange & painful) so back to doctor tomorrow! But I too stopped ...

Most voted negative review

9 People found this comment helpful

My brother died 36 hours after his first iron infusion - of sudden cardiac arrest.

Shared reviews and ratings

caz | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/17/2020
Condition: Anemia from Inadequate Iron
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I just wanted to ask if anyone else has had severe flank pain occurring day 1 and after their 1st infusion. I had mine done at the hospital. My GP told me to take Advil...really helpful. Thanks. Your answers will determine if I go back for the 2nd infusion on Wed.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kathy | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/13/2018
Condition: Anemia from Inadequate Iron
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Guys i know the doctor tells us that it is the only option, but it is not i had to take it due to low iron and yes side effects are really bad and my doctor gave me the injection which made it way worse.there are spiriluna capsules its a great sourcr of iron plzz consider that. Thats my only advice.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ImGoingInsane | 25-34 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/28/2018
Condition: Anemia from Inadequate Iron
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My first injection went fine other than the guy put the needle close to the inside of my elbow on my dominate arm, so when i would move my arm at all it would hurt and some iron would push out. After my first injection i was completely wore out and slept as soon as i got home, not even a day after i get the worst inner thigh yeast infection... So second infusion goes great, nothing wrong, after wards... Walking out to the car, my legs were weak and i felt like i was going to collapse, I have a giant black and blue bruise on my arm, it looks like someone abused me. I havent been able to sleep at all... I got the infusion on friday afternoon, its now sunday afternoon. ZERO sleep. Wide awake. Im also urinating every half hour which makes it hard to do anything. Im also hallucinating. I dont know if thats from the iron or no sleep. Also im in horrible pain. I went in originally for joint pain and they found that my iron was low... So now i have even more pain than what im use to. I only have 1 more infusion and its 2 days before my birthday. I just pray i can do stuff on my birthday. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
NoShame | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/9/2016
Condition: Anemia from Inadequate Iron
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The only drawback of using iron sucrose over other options is that it must be done more frequently to keep iron levels up.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
L. | 13-18 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/28/2016
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was given IV iron once while I was hospitalized for a blood disorder (TTP). I felt fine during most of the infusion until I started experiencing a bit of lower back pain towards the end. That sensation transformed into agonizing pain in my upper body, stiffness of my finger joints, and nausea which resulted in a lot of vomiting. The pain in my upper body was so intense that I was having difficulty breathing because moving my chest caused more pain. I was eventually given morphine and anti-nausea medication which knocked me out. I felt alright when I woke up. My doctors ended up very pleased with the result on my blood stats, but I'm not sure I would repeat the process. I would have liked to have been better warned about the possible side effects since my reaction to it was quite violent, to say the least, but it also seems generally uncommon.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
TiredofAnemia | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
1/20/2016
Condition: Anemia from Inadequate Iron
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

6 months of treatment, once a week. I felt nauseous, clammy, tired and had bone pain. I didn't like the idea of being on weekly treatments indefinitely. I was diagnosed with Thalassemia so the idea of iron-overload worried me. Still, my ferritin went from 1 to 9 in the 6 months but my other values were slow to go up. Damned if you do, damned if you don't.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
trance | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/18/2014
Condition: Anemia from Inadequate Iron
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My brother died 36 hours after his first iron infusion - of sudden cardiac arrest.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
BAPPIE | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/23/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have had two infusions and hemoglobin levels are higher than they have been in 4 years. Energy levels increasing significantly. No more shortness of breath and extreme muscle fatigue. Experiencing muscle cramping especially in calves and headache, but Tylenol helps. My clinic did not discuss any possible side effects prior to treatment, nor do I feel they reviewed my other meds for possible interactions. Suggest that you ask your doctor if he/she does not volunteer info.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Montanayoda | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/26/2014
Condition: Anemia from Inadequate Iron
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

When labs showed my ferritin level was 5, my primary MD had me rush into the infusion center and get an iron infusion. The nurse said it was the largest dose possible to give at one time and she infused it in 3 hours. I felt fine during and after the infusion. Then approximately 24 hours later I began feeling horrible. Mild bone pain became severe and I felt like I could not get enough oxygen. My hands and feet swelled up and I had terrible chest pains. My fatigue became worse than it was before the infusion. The very worst symptom was massive cold sweats. I've had them occasionally, but the day after the infusion I began having cold sweats about every half hour. When I wasn't sweating I was very chilled. It has been just about 2 weeks since the infusion and I am still suffering with these side effects. Some have lessened, like I am having around 2 mild sweats during the day and average one severe sweat each night. The swelling in my hands and feet goes up and down. The chest pain comes and goes. The bone or muscle pain is still severe and nothing seems to help (ointments, morphine, NSAIDS) I am not sure if the infusion set off a Fibromyalgia flare or if I am at the start of a Crohn's flare. All I know right now is I know I will need more infusions, but I am afraid of having such horrible side effects that I am really stressed out and not sure what to do. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Angela | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/13/2013
Condition: Anemia from Inadequate Iron
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I did the 5 hour treatment through IV to try and get it overwith as soon as possible! The IV needle hurt the entire time it was in my arm and the medication stung what seemed like forever. I had extreme weakness and terrible headaches for days afterwards. This just in the vein where the IV was is now bubbling up under the skin (very strange & painful) so back to doctor tomorrow! But I too stopped eating ice??? weird?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/7/2013
Condition: Anemia from Inadequate Iron
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
leiaj64 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
11/27/2012
Condition: Anemia from Inadequate Iron
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I received Iron Sucrose once a week for about 3 months and then once a month for 10 months. I had hives immediately and was treated with benedryl. I had to be treated with benedryl before each treatment. I felt back pain during and after each treatment. Headache and general fatigue were pronounced as well for about a week. I did run a temperature of 110.5 to 101 for a couple days after treatment. General malaise and muscle/back discomfort are my major complaints with the therapy in general.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/27/2012
Condition: Anemia from Inadequate Iron
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was given the Iron Sucrose Injection all at once. It was given in an Iv. It took a total of 3 hours. A few days after the Iv I felt like every bone in my body ached. My joints were stiff and ached. I had terrible headaches. I ran a fever of about 101. I live in a resort town and this happened Labor Day weekend and we were short of help. I worked but I thought I was going to die. I have no idea how I made it through. I seriously don't remember much of the month of September. All I remember is how bad I felt. I don't know the dose I received in the Iv but from reading on this site it looks like the Iron Sucrose is usually given over a few days. I'm wondering now if I was given this Iron to quickly. I think my research has just begun.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mominne | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/12/2011
Condition: Anemia from Inadequate Iron
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Wk 3 of 8 wk IV treatment. Cramping and diarrhea. No appetite at all. Excessive fatigue and insomnia. Stopped chewing ice, though.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/8/2011
Condition: Anemia from Inadequate Iron
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

after three infusions0f 100mgsand 821dollars no benifits were obtained from this drug

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/2/2011
Condition: Anemia from Inadequate Iron
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm only on my second treatment, but it makes me really tired, but I can't sleep. I'm also nauseated most of the time, with absolutely no apatite.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dee | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/4/2010
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had to have IV's of this iron for 5 weeks, It made my hair fall out, both of my arms hurt bad for weeks, and made me very tired for months, bad taste in my mouth, during IV, bowl trouble. I am more tired now then I was when my blood level was down to 6.0. I had surgery june 2009 that I had internal bleeding, but I was getting back up with iron then i started having bad female problems and my ob/gyn wouldn't help me stop bleeding(bleed for 7month) so my blood got down to 7.2. So thats why I had to take the treatments.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/14/2010
Condition: Anemia from Inadequate Iron
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am only on my second treatment and had a reaction of a fever as high as 101.9 and the feeling of wanting to throw up. Not a great feeling at all.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
shajee | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Caregiver
4/23/2010
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

ok

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/5/2010
Condition: Anemia from Inadequate Iron
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had 250ml once a week for the last 2 then it is 1per mnth for the next 12. I am concerned with the side effects. Have not been feeling the best since I started. I have alot of bloating, gas, lethargic, diarrhea, abdominal cramping and depression

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More