Show ratings & reviews for

3.8 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

21 People found this comment helpful

I have been taking Micardis for almost 2 years but never had a problem till recently. The end Oct. I quit taking because I always felt tired. I have tried taking it several times since them only to end up with a sinus headache, fever, chills and then I feel completely drained and sleepy. Is anyone eles having any problems like these.

Most voted negative review

3 People found this comment helpful

just started

Shared reviews and ratings

Joanne bvdm2v | 55-64 | Female | Patient
11/9/2018
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take 20mg with Almodiphine no side effects after ten days tried many others that side effects were awful micardis is excellent!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ED | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
5/12/2017
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking 80/12.5 for several years now,and my BP is perfect.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Terry | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
6/20/2016
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My blood pressure stills varies on occasion. Sometimes it is 120/sixty's than it will be 150's/80's.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Patti | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/10/2016
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Does anyone have peeling lips and dry mouth-I feel I have cotton in my mouth every mornning and my lips keep peeling and very dry-I have been takin ghtis medication for a few months and these are the things I have noticed, was dizzy for a couple weeks but that went away..also, can I just stop taking this or do you have to wean yourself off? i don't want to take it anymore if I can help it-

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cinder | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/12/2015
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

When I first took this drug Micardis HCT I cut it in half, which worked well for me. It was too strong at 12.5. My doctor agreed because my blood pressure went down. I have been on it for 4 months and now am experiencing joint pain in my hips which radiates to my knee, calf muscle stiffness,a rash on the outside of my armpits and itchy skin on my thighs. I have been on many BP meds. My Dr. said I have to over look the side effects. My Bp is 122/64 most of the time. It is driving me crazy! Everyone has different reactions to this drug, but I am seeing a pattern through the reviews on Web MD. I am glad I am not the only one with these problems.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
hi700 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/25/2014
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this med for 3 years.I have 80mg tab of which i cut in half. Half works fine for me. The side affect that i had was mild pain in my right leg.The pain went away after a few days.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
bmoregram | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/26/2014
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have been on this med for a number of years. It has lowered my bp from approx. 145/90 to 125/80. Not great but not bad. I take 80/12.5. But as some other reviewers have said, I've had many symptoms that I hadn't been attributing as side effects of this med, but may well be: nagging dry hacking cough (the worst symptom), sleep problems, lethargy, depression, weight gain, vision deterioration, sinus and nasal congestion, closed throat (when I get a cold, I can't breathe through my mouth when my nose is clogged up and I'm afraid I'll suffocate), hair thinning, diarrhea almost every morning. And one big thing. I had never had a problem with my kidneys in my life, and last year I developed an enormous kidney stone - the Urol. said it was the biggest he's ever seen. So beware of anything with the kidneys. You should also know that there is now a so-called "generic version" of this: telmisartan-hydrochlorothiazide, but my side effects have gotten much worse in the two weeks I've been on it. I will have to get my doctor to change my medication, because now that it is available in generic, the insurance company probably won't let me go back to the name brand. I hate the individual blister packs too. Why can't they just put them in a bottle?Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jo JO | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
4/7/2014
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was on this medication over ten years. My hair start falling out in the last two yrs. I c/o to my Dr. about palpitation that I believe was related to this medication. I even went to ER. My Dr. finally d/c me from this medication. It does have a lot of sutle side effects. cramping lower ext. tingling in fingers. insomnia.Bp out of control even when your taking your meds on time.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/26/2014
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

taking this drug in conjunction with generic Toprol (metoprolol succinate) to control blood pressure to lower heart rate. it seems to have been effective at first to control resting blood pressure but now there seems the drug combination is not controlling as well as it once was. pcp considering changing drug or prescription strength for this condition

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Goldieboy | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/5/2013
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I persisted with this drug for 3 years,through bouts of flue like symptoms and diarreah and it made not the slightest difference to my blood pressure which has always been 140/90.As soon as I stopped taking it the symptoms stopped.I take nothing now and blood pressure is still 140/90,the only ones unhappy are the CEOs of the drug companys.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
doodeeann | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
1/23/2013
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

HBP was the first of my "old age" conditions diagnosed. I have been taking it about 10 years. It seems to maintain a steady BP for me. If I have any side effects it would be occasional dizziness, and occasional diarrhea. These are tolerable compared to others. The concern I have with this brand is that there is no generic equivalent so it is the most expensive of my drugs; even with company paid insurance, my cost just went up another $25 per 90-day supply and I am considering changing drugs because of the cost.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dog | 75 or over | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/6/2012
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

just started

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/17/2012
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

concerned about ed

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
concern | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
9/17/2012
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

BEWARE OF THIS DRUG!!! My mother switch to Micardis last month by her doctor after she developed an allergy with Norvasc after 4 years.On September 02,2012 she had a major stroke due to a rupture vein in her brain.As of today September 17,2012,she still in ICU fighting for her life.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
[email protected] | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
8/27/2012
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Suicidal thoughts, blistering of the hands, extreme sudden onset rage, dehydration, depression, rash from head to toe (including scalp, armpits, anal region, groin area, hands, back, legs AND feet) as well as sleeplessness (insomnia)

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/27/2012
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/14/2012
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug is too expensive!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Suzie | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/12/2012
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Had a chronic cough and gained lots of weight.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
lsb | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
4/24/2012
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been on this medication for over a year. Side effects include lower back ache, hair loss, and it makes me dizzy. It does not control BP. Just took it and it is 157/98. Currently have no health insurance and it is expensive. Been on many other medications with same results.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
4/17/2012
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have extreme hypertension and this is the only medication that has helped me my whole life.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More