Show ratings & reviews for

4.0 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

43 People found this comment helpful

I am starting my second Carac treatment. The first was two years ago. Each treatment will last 2 weeks as prescribed by my dermatologist. After the two weeks, I will visit the Dr. to view the results and get the cool down cream (at least this is what I call it) to clear and smooth the skin. I am in treatment for Malignant Melanoma (5 years now) and this is just one of my many preventative treatme...

Most voted negative review

9 People found this comment helpful

I have not used it long enough to know

Shared reviews and ratings

marie | 65-74 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/1/2018
Condition: Roughened Red Patches of Skin due to Sun Exposure
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After 17 days my face was ravaged but it clearly removed many pre cancerous spots. But, almost immediately I began to lose my hair. It thinned drastically, and now 2 months later I have several very bald spots and very thin hair. It is horrible and I'm hoping that it comes back eventually. This is considered a very rare side effect...figures that I would get it. I will not use caroc cream ever again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ozzie | 55-64 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
11/12/2017
Condition: Superficial Basal Cell Carcinoma of the Skin
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is my 3rd time doing a 30 day Carac tx on my whole face and head over the years. The side effects are a pain but bearable. The itching is terrible. I apply no moisturizer as is seems to lessen the effect of the drug. I just push on and when it's done the results have been fantastic. Unless it is unavoidable don't do this tx in the summertime. Sweat feels like hot coals towards the end of the tx. Hang in there. It really is worth it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years |
1/30/2017
Condition: Roughened Red Patches of Skin due to Sun Exposure
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After several surgical sessions, I have learned that an annual treatment of carac is more tolerable. I usually treat trouble spots for two to three weeks. It's the old "pay now, or pay later" scenario. Effects are unsightly and very itchy. Worth the process.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Debbie | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/14/2016
Condition: Superficial Basal Cell Carcinoma of the Skin
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've just stopped using the Carac after 21 days of nightly face treatments. I was going to try for the 28 days, but I'm done for now. The stinging and burning is getting to me, but I know it's for the best. Even though I used it on my entire face, the Carac is selective as to attacking the what it needs to kill. I have many red, peeling spots, as opposed to my whole face being affected, as I have seen in some of the pictures. I continue to wear make-up with some minor stinging, but had to stop my usual moisturizer with sunscreen. That burned WAY too much. In the morning after washing my face, I use a hydrocortisone cream with Cetaphil cream (without sunscreen) on top of it. These seem to calm the stinging and redness. Can't wait to see the results. Hope this information helps.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/16/2016
Condition: Roughened Red Patches of Skin due to Sun Exposure
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Using on scalp to correct pre-cancer on scalp. Within a few days reduced crusting and flaking at least 50%, very little redness and no burning for me, be careful to cover entire area when applying. Overall it has done its job with little to no side effects in a 6 week period

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/13/2016
Condition: Superficial Basal Cell Carcinoma of the Skin
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Absolutely a miracle. Age 55, my childhood saw very little sunblock. Even as a teen/adult, supermodels tanned deeply, so did we. My dermatologist wrote a script for Carac cream. The cream did have an aggressive (hideous) reaction on the area. A month later...magic.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JoD | 65-74 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/22/2016
Condition: Superficial Basal Cell Carcinoma of the Skin
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Three months ago I had my dermatologist examine a darkened area about the size of a nickel on my right cheek. It had become irritated with red scaly bumps. A biospy was done and report stated it was actinic keratosis...pre-cancerous. I have been using Carac on my entire face for 12 days now. The spot shows no signs of being affected by the treatment but other very tiny spots on my face have turned red in varying degrees. My follow-up appointnment is in 2 days. I'm curious as to what my dermoatoligist will say. Will report here about that afterward.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Carole | 75 or over | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/21/2015
Condition: Superficial Basal Cell Carcinoma of the Skin
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have not used it long enough to know

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
flower | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/29/2015
Condition: Roughened Red Patches of Skin due to Sun Exposure
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My experiences are consistent with other reviewers. First time I used, I discontinued use in third week due to pain and redness. 3 years later, I am starting again on area I thought was previously treated and, after reading all the comments, I am going to tough it out through the recommended 4 weeks. I only do part of my face at a time, can't really imagine doing entire face at one time. It does work. I am still using cream prescribed to me 3 years ago and am told that cost has become prohibitive; "old" cream still works.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Teresa G. | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/23/2015
Condition: Superficial Basal Cell Carcinoma of the Skin
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I recently had much success using the carac treatment on my entire forehead and nose. I did not have any pain, just felt like a bad sunburn and the irration lasted just two weeks. The benefits have been huge. My face feels so soft now. And its a good feeling to know that many pre-cancer spots are gone. I would recommend to anyone.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lynn | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/17/2015
Condition: Superficial Basal Cell Carcinoma of the Skin
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My Doctor instructed me to use Carac for 2 weeks on my chest, mainly for the pre-cancerous areas. I lasted 5 days on it before I was ready to throw it in the trash. My chest is covered in pre cancerous lesions, so the cream definitely works, I just can't take the pain, burning, itching, swelling....it's driving me absolutely nuts....too much for me to handle, I don't know how anyone can stand this pain for weeks. Nope, I'm done.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
surfmam | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/8/2015
Condition: Roughened Red Patches of Skin due to Sun Exposure
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on Carac for 12 days now, so my 14-day treatment is coming to a close. Yay! Like several of the fortunate reviewers, my experience has not been too bad, especially compared to the frightening photos online! I am extremely red, dry and peeling around my nose and have some red spots on my cheeks and chin, but no open sores. It's irritating and unsightly, but tolerable. I learned very quickly NOT to put my daily lotion/sunscreen on in the morning - OWWW! - and instead used a product given to me by a friend: TIZO3 Age Defying Fusion, SOLAR Protection Formula, SPF 40. It glides on, soothes the skin, and has a tint to it that covers the redness nicely. No harsh chemicals, has a zinc oxide base. I plan to use it from now on daily ... it is a great product and I highly recommend it! I think you have to get it from a health food store or aestetician. Now I have a question: where can I get the Korres Yogurt Cooling Cream several of you have mentioned? Thanks and good luck to you all! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
librainian | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/7/2014
Condition: Roughened Red Patches of Skin due to Sun Exposure
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have used this twice, several years apart, for actinic keratosis. My dermatologist prescribed it again recently but either the price had increased 5X or my insurance has changed how much it will cover. My co-pay would have been $550. I asked my dr. for a different drug. He prescribed a different form of 5-fluorouracil. I have to use it twice a day instead of once a day but it actually spreads on more easily. I am beginning to get the characteristic stinging red spots. Hate it but it seems to work. I have another week of the creme, then about 3 weeks or so for the scabs to fall off and smooth skin underneath.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Rob | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
8/6/2014
Condition: Superficial Basal Cell Carcinoma of the Skin
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I use Carac for my skin cancers and it works very well. It does cause discomfort and skin rashes but these go away after a period of time.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
BoJay42 | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/12/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Didn't wait 10 min after washing face. Was also using on my forearms and back of hands. Developed diarrhea and possibly mild heartburn. Considering this is chemotherapy should have expected it. Used it for 18 days.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
shamrock | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/4/2014
Condition: Roughened Red Patches of Skin due to Sun Exposure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Initially I was reluctant to use Carac, especially after reading the reviews. I'm older, of Scandinavian descent, and lived in California for over 20 years so there were red facial patches that were also irritating. I waited over a year after my doctor prescribed and as the irritation grew I finally took the plunge. The 1st 7 days I put the crème on for 8-10 hours during the day so I could monitor it for adverse effects. Subjectively it seemed to sap energy and make me feel strange. At the end of a week I switched to 10 hours at night which was better. My sleep was lousy with frequent wake ups but not that lousy. During the last week some of the red blotches started to peel, almost like sun burns, and I asked my doctor at about 17 days if I should extend another week (not excited to do more, but had come this far)but he said no that 3 weeks is the limit and the drug loses its real effect after that. I'm now on Desonide and the redness is rapidly disappearing. Looking back I shouldn't have waited a year, I should have just done it. Yes, you look like you have the Pox but so what, nobody was so impolite as to say something. Although I'm going to be very careful, I'm not going to be afraid of the sun anymore. Good Luck with your treatment Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JoD | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/24/2014
Condition: Superficial Basal Cell Carcinoma of the Skin
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is a follow-up to my review of 4/21/14. My 2-week follow-up appt with my dermotologist went well. She was pleased with the results she observed on my face and said not to continue the treatment. She emphasized that the treatment would not prevent other actinic keratosis to develop so be sure to use sunscreen. I have another appt with her in 2 months. When I asked why the original spot didn't seem to have the reaction as other areas of my face she said she could see it was "fuzzy", I guess indicating that the cream was effective. She also reminded me that with the biopsy she removed a portion of that spot. So all in all I am pleased with the treatment and the result. The cost.... in $$$, just let me sway yikes! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
aleksandra | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/21/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Day 6 of 28 days prescribed, first time use. No severe reaction yet, though leg is beginning to look like rot. (It's only precancer, though 3rd time in 2 yrs in same spot.) Not worried about scars; already have concave chest and face still healing from cancers. Also had other organ and bcc cancers. Nausea 2nd day, eye problems day 4, some inexplicably inaccurate thinking days 5 and 6, like being positive that the first 3 of local phone number were an area code.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/8/2013
Condition: Superficial Basal Cell Carcinoma of the Skin
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It Is better then getting my face cut

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
tryit | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/28/2013
Condition: Roughened Red Patches of Skin due to Sun Exposure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Two years ago my dermatologist froze a couple of dry spots on my face and biopsied one place. I had MOH's surgery on my cheek in the biopsied place. The surgeon suggested Carac instead of freezing because Carac is more effective and with repeated freezing of future spots, those spots would remain white instead of slight tanning like the surrounding area. My dermatologist was all for Carac but warned that some people could not tolerate the treatment. I did as directed: twice a day for 14 days. Areas turned red, dry, purple, scabby and then healed. Upon application the second week, I had a stinging sensation, but no other discomfort. I just finished a second Carac session of only once a day for 14 days as a preventative for possible pre-cancerous cells that might be underlying several areas. For breast cancer, I've had biopsies, surgery, and 7 weeks of widespread radiation more than 10 years ago. Using Carac is so easy in comparison! Despite warnings of dire side effects using Carac, my advice is try it. You have nothing to lose, everything to gain. Skin blotches are temporary. My skin was back to normal a couple of weeks later. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More