Show ratings & reviews for

3.6 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

14 People found this comment helpful

I have used Abreva for the last three or four epsodes of herpes labialis. I began applications 5 or 6 times a day at the very first hint of an outbreak - the tingling or feeling of tightness or the slight discomfort that occur prior to the full development of the cold sore. I have not had a cold sore erupt on any of the episodes where I used Abreva. None of the oral prescription drugs or prescr...

Most voted negative review

7 People found this comment helpful

the first few times i used abreva i saw ok results, but i kept having reaccuring sores every 1-2 months in the same spots on my lips, i was so fed up that i put abreva on the end of a small sewing needle and tattoo'd abreva into my sores continuously re dipping the needle into the abreva as i did thisi covered the entire area of infection changed needles and then covered the area surronding the in...

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/10/2017
Condition: Cold Sore
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Just bought this in a pump dispenser which I really like, because it puts out a small amount and there is less waste. I usually feel some relief and notice improvements to my cold sore within 6 hours of the first application. Then I apply every 3 hours until gone - a day or two.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
THOLM | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Caregiver
8/30/2017
Condition: Cold Sore
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Works great, ESPECIALLY if you start to use it at the very start. It becomes substantially less useful if it has already begun to spread and becomes virtually worthless. What I have found it also pairing it with things to boost your immune system and things to try to avoid like stress, acidic foods, and physcial fatique also help the whole process. I have used this product (abreva) at the last few outbreaks in the last 2 years and it usually works great if you catch it early as like the info says, it only helps it from spreading.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/2/2017
Condition: Cold Sore
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I felt a tingle on my lip and started applying it within a couple of hours. It has been three days and no blister has appeared and the tingling is decreasing. I've been applying it 4-6 times a day and it has been extremely effective.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/21/2011
Condition: Cold Sore
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have used Abreva for the last three or four epsodes of herpes labialis. I began applications 5 or 6 times a day at the very first hint of an outbreak - the tingling or feeling of tightness or the slight discomfort that occur prior to the full development of the cold sore. I have not had a cold sore erupt on any of the episodes where I used Abreva. None of the oral prescription drugs or prescription topical creams were able to prevent the development of the ulcer and scab. I have had cold sores for about 20 years and nothing has been as effective as Abreva if used early and applied every few hours. I am, by the way, a physician and familiar with the pharmacology of the various products available but, at least for me, Abreva has been absolutely amazing.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
fed up | 25-34 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/17/2010
Condition: Cold Sore
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

the first few times i used abreva i saw ok results, but i kept having reaccuring sores every 1-2 months in the same spots on my lips, i was so fed up that i put abreva on the end of a small sewing needle and tattoo'd abreva into my sores continuously re dipping the needle into the abreva as i did thisi covered the entire area of infection changed needles and then covered the area surronding the infections, I have not had a cold sore in those area's since I did this, it's been over 6 months. note I did this out of desperate frustration and I caught the sores early when the skin just began to bubble. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/10/2010
Condition: Cold Sore
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started applying it on day one, several times a day and this is day 5 and I have not seen any relief.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous |
5/20/2009
Condition: Cold Sore
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I didn't catch my cold sore early enough, but used Abreva on day 2. By day 3, the cold sore is already drying up. Unfortunately, it looks horrible right now. Hopefully, day 4 will have signficant decrease in size also.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
frequency109 | 25-34 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/29/2009
Condition: Cold Sore
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

after just three applications and an overnight the cold sore has already begun to dry up and lessen in severity and size. I HIGHLY recommend this product!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
incognito | 25-34 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/28/2009
Condition: Cold Sore
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Seems to reduce the size and severity. Constant and early application. Day 3 seems to be healing already.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/22/2008
Condition: Cold Sore
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I put abreva on my cold sore and I am in day 3 and very dissatisfied.My fever blister just keeps getting bigger! It only numbs the pain briefly.Abeva cost 20 dollars over the counter and is a rip off. Nrxt time I will revert back to Campher oil.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More