Show ratings & reviews for

3.4 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

14 People found this comment helpful

PROZAC WORKED THE BESTFOR ME WITHOUT ANY SIDE EFFECTS OF ANY ANIDEPRESSENT. IT FINALLY QUIT AFTER 12 YEARS. CAN'T SEEM TO FIND ANYTHING THAT DOESN'T MAKE MY HEART RACE AND RAISE MY BLOOD PRESSURE. EFFEXOR ALMOST PUT ME IN THE HOSPITAL.

Most voted negative review

6 People found this comment helpful

I ended up losing my husband. My libido was nonexistant. No sex drive at all.

Shared reviews and ratings

angie | 35-44 | On medication for 10 years or more |
8/11/2016
Condition: Posttraumatic Stress Syndrome
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

please if you can get off this drug it is so addictive once on it , the drs said it was safe now i cannot get off it , whenst i do i cant even get out of bed , dress myselfe, eat, taske care of my house, i cant even bare to be awake , i have been on it 17 years and it was all because the drs didnt want to deal with the withdrawls, its the worst mistake i have ever made, i started on 80 mg and now im down to 40 and the symptoms of why i started it are a walk in the park, it ruined my life go to youtube and watch the dangers of prozak and other psyc meds it will save your sanity these should be illegal please watch some truth about prozak it is a legal drug addiction and only makes the drug companys money off an addiction they give you , that youll never get off of i hate my life and these horrible people and drugs its worse than a herion addiction please save your self and loved ones from going totally insane when you are ready to get off of them because long term usage is deadly also it shortens your life by many years please check it out on youtube its the real deal Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sassy1948 | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years |
6/15/2014
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

They should put this in WATER. It saved my life. I took it when I went thru Memopause for 7 years. Now I take it because I went thru a tramatic Health scare and my surgeons said your going to start Prozac as I had been on it before. Depression and Anxiety from Coma, Cancer and surgeries...All that was in 2012 and I am on 40mg a day and I feel alive. No more bad dreams, no more depression or anxiety. Some tossing and turning at night but all in all its great for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Constance 2267 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
4/26/2014
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I can't say enough about how much this drug has helped me with depression. I spent years in and out of deep depression. I was finally diagnosed with depression and PTSD and started Prozac at 20 mg then went up to 40. I Knew it was helping but I didn't fully realize how much until I forgot to take it tir about 5 days. Then I started to feel the hopeless feeling I get with depression and I haven't missed a dose since. I'm one of the lucky ones with no negative side effects. My libido us better than ever and I've actually lost a few pounds. I sleep great and wake up every morning feeling rested and more positive about life than I ever have before. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
italianlady | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/3/2013
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have just started taking this drug and I seem to like it so far but I also take tramadol for back pain can I take the 2 medicines together or will it be harmful for me

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Prairie Mom | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
10/7/2010
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My 14 yr old daughter was on daily Prozac and then switched to weekly--I thought remembering to take it would improve, and that was easier, I only had to tell her once a week. But after about four weeks, it was like she was taking nothing; she became depressed, suicidal and cut on her arms. It took another couple of weeks to figure out it was the weekly Prozac causing this change. I got her switched back to daily Prozac and all was good again. A nightmare. I imagine the weekly version works well for many, but it was a disaster for my daughter. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | Patient
12/17/2009
Condition: Posttraumatic Stress Syndrome
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

prozac allowed me to process the trauma with little emotion. when i was stronger i discontinued the use. it as great

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
joanna | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/15/2009
Condition: Posttraumatic Stress Syndrome
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am very happy with the results,eccept I am wondering if it is possible that it can raise the LDL cholesterol?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
6/7/2009
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I ended up losing my husband. My libido was nonexistant. No sex drive at all.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jasonsgirl121998 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
5/5/2009
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

at first it helped me then it wasnt workin the way it should so the dr upped my doze and after 5 months of takin it its like its not workin anymore my systoms have gotten worse cant eat or sleep ive lost 50lbs in a month in a half wat do it do

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Paralegal | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
4/14/2009
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication has changed me for the better, however, I have had substantial weight gain.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Fluxotine | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/7/2009
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

All I know is that I cannot go without it, cause I tried to. I got screaming mad without it. I'm not particularly satisfied with the medicine though. Nothing seems funny anymore and I have no sex drive. I have constant continual headaches, though I don't know if it is from the Fluoxtine or not. Always tired.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
cindy | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
3/29/2009
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

the treatment worked well until some other medications were added to the mix like adderall and klonipin

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
prozaz | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/3/2009
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i feel better about myself.i try not to stress alot but i also havent been taken my meds that much.but i did drink well i was mt meds but now i see the change when i do and i dont drink.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kimberley | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
2/25/2009
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Laura | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/20/2009
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

8 years ago I was diagnosed with manic depression, my doctor put me on prosac, but he didnt organise any phyciatric treatment, after two weeks of taking this drug, I had the feeling of wanting to die, and I thougt no one would miss me, I took one months dosage in one night, to commit suicide. I had never tried to kill myself previose to this, I had self harmed only. I survived stopped taking this drug, changed doctors, and saw a thearapist, it took a few but I finally found the right person that I felt comfortable talking to (be patient with therapy) you have to like your therapist or you wont open up. I am good now, but I still have the occasional low times, I say dont take the drugs dont become addicted to medicines, speak to someone about it, and try herbal remedies, you'll feel great soon, and remember youre not alone, xRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/10/2009
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
2/8/2009
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
deedee | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/17/2009
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
1/15/2009
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous |
12/20/2008
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My doctor prescribed 40 ml of Prozac for my husband and he has been on it for over a year and because he doesn't like medications and wants to be off his Prozac I am wondering if it is a good idea to be taken off them cold turkey. Should he be weined off slowly or just stop taking them? Are there some side effects to doing it this way? Seems like there might be.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More