Show ratings & reviews for

3.7 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

24 People found this comment helpful

I have had great results with this, since I was diagnosed 11 months ago I have been on numerous different medications. My A1C b4 beginning this was 10.4, but now my b/s stays in the low to mid 100's 2 hours after a meal with a lower carb meal plan. The only problem I've had is getting properly adjusted, I take 28 units a day and have dropped below 70 and became disoriented twice, but lower dosages...

Most voted negative review

6 People found this comment helpful

I am taking 50 units of Lantus and it is not helping control my sugar at all.

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
5/2/2021
Condition: Type 1 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Diagnosed Type I Diabetes in 1983 when I was 31. No explanation why I would develop "juvenile" diabetes at age 31. I mixed my own insulin, using Humolog R and NPH for 35 years, with satisfactory and very predictable results. Started using Lantis more than 2 years ago with 60 units each morning. Mixed results until I realized that Lantis worked GREAT for me for 12 hours and then didn't seem to work at all for the next 12 hours. When I realized that Lantis IS NOT a 24 hour insulin, I began to experience awesome results. With 60 units twice a day, I am consistently 80-130. If I go nuts and eat a dessert, resulting in a high reading, I use Humolog as a short-acting solution.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nick | 65-74 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/6/2019
Condition: Diabetes
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was on tresaba it worked super for me , but the cost was hard on me. So I tried the lantus. Itâ??s cheaper and works very well!!! Also better than Basaglar , it just did not controll at all! I am a true person who has tried every thing and several types of insulin.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mark | 65-74 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/2/2018
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on Lantus Solo for 28 days, my glucose has dropped for 300-400 range to a seven day average of 138 and hope it keeps dropping. I am disciplined as to food and exercise. I take 12 units.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
happy lady | 45-54 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
8/11/2017
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have used this insulin for 7 years now. I use Tradjenta along with it and my blood sugars run 150 when fasting. it helps keep my numbers lower. I am satisfied with it. And I have no side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 3-6 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
2/10/2016
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Actually, I have a question about this drug. Several months ago I started to share the insulin with my cat who is also diabetic. I know, I know; this sounds totally nuts. Be that as it may, I recently noticed that both my cat and I are losing our hair. As the cat and I have no other factors in common besides the insulin, I wonder if that's the problem. I am not putting this product down as its worked very well for me in the past but could there be an issue due to poor storage, a bad batch, an out-dated vial, or who knows what?Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Robin | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/26/2016
Condition: Diabetes
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had one of the worse reactions to this drug. As soon as I injected 12 units I immediately threw up. I had the worst stomach pains. After three day, I stopped taking it and I called my Doc, who sent me to the ER. After many hours, the ER doc said I was fine. (This was about 24 after my last injection.) My pains did go away. I will not take this medication again. I gave my pens back to the doctor. Has anyone else had this reaction. My doctor thinks I'm crazy.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Malcolm | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
9/16/2015
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on this for over a year. I requested a long life insulin as the pills (Glyburide Metformin) had stop working. I was informed of this 5 years ago that this might would happen. No problem, lantus is easy to use and controls my blood sugar when I stay the course of doing the right thing. I am up to 60 units in the morning. I take it in the morning so it will not interfere with my evening cocktails. This was a suggest made by friends of mind on this medication. I did inform my doctor and he was ok with it. I eat right and exercise so as of now no known side effects. So far, I have nothing bad to say about it. Like everything in life you have to adjust to your situation. I do have Metformin as backup. That is mostly when I travel and over indulge I will take it in the mornings. I drink plenty of ice water during the day which also helps with keeping blood sugar under control. From reading the reviews, I notice most of the men had issues with this. FYI, I am a Black male with history of diabetes. I also know that I may have to switch meds again in about 10 years. I was on glyburide metformin for 10 years. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mcarthurdw | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/16/2015
Condition: Diabetes
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Twice now the pen has jammed with 30 units remaining. The product is expensive enough without having to throw it away because the pen is impossible to use.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lisa C | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/7/2015
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on Levemir since first being diagnosed in 2010 and was happy with it, then this year my insurance said they would not cover it any longer so switched to the Lantus. Every since I started my weight has steadily increased and weigh more now than I ever have even though I have cut back on eating badly and added more exercise. NOT happy with the results at all may look into getting back on the Levemir at least I wasn't gaining weight as much with it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
10/29/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I tripped lantus insuline injection on my finger which is used to my mom. I want to know that Whether side effect is there for me or not and also Is any blood related diseases may come or not?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
8/4/2014
Condition: Type 1 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dena | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/22/2014
Condition: Diabetes
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Due to crhons i had to take prednisone my blood sugar was up to 468 . Lantus helped bring my blood sugar down to 209 and with my humalog, now that i am off pednisone, my blood sugars run 108 to 150 . Of course what you eat and how much you eat effects my blood sugar and determines how much humalog i take ,I also take 1000 metformin as i am very insulin resistant

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/19/2014
Condition: Diabetes
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've T2DM, using metformin 500 tid for the last 7 years. I start with lantus 3 month ago. Ican't have adequate control of my insline or the HgA1c. start w.10U AND I,M up to 18U .I injected bedtime and my meter is high every morning(180 to 220) and low at PM(130 to 160).( no somogy effect). I need to go up,or not ?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/1/2014
Condition: Diabetes
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/3/2014
Condition: Diabetes
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It is still not getting my blood sugar levels down. Use with Metformin HCL 1000 mg 2 pills daily.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/8/2013
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This was one of the worst drugs i have ever taken. It made my joints and muscle very sore, i had problems sleeping, concentration level was terrible. It also changed my mood, depressed with a very short fuse. This is not me on a normal basis, pretty happy person. My blood sugars came down for me but at a price on my body. I quit taking the medication and the horrible side effects are slowly going away. My doctor of course has said it does not cause these side effects. They always say this they need to take some of this shit and see how it feels. I have had trouble controlling my sugar levels and all the medications that i have taken make me feel like shit. Tired of being a test dummy for my doctor and these drug companiesRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
11/10/2013
Condition: Diabetes
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
barbie II | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/2/2013
Condition: Diabetes
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

this treatment has helped me tremendously, and allows me to control blood glucose to stay between 97 - 140

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
wasears | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
3/17/2013
Condition: Diabetes
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have been very happy with this drug and the easy use of it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
josh1832000 | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
1/8/2013
Condition: Type 1 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More