Show ratings & reviews for

4.0 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

23 People found this comment helpful

After much resistance to using this medication my ulcerative colitis was so bad that it was either this medication or injections. The medication was easy to use and no too hard to remember but I was not prepared for the very uncomfortable side effect of gas; the pressure would wake me from a sound sleep. I have since incorporated gas-x into my nightly ritual and am much happier for it. Overall ...

Most voted negative review

6 People found this comment helpful

Was diagnosed with proctitis a couple of weeks ago after a really bad flare up. I took this straight for a week and found that it helped, then all of the sudden it began to give me really bad side effects. I stopped taking for one day and called my doctor, who instructed me to continue taking. Have been on the 1000mg supp. for over a week with no improvement. In fact I feel like it is worse--espec...

Shared reviews and ratings

relieved26 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/3/2019
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I used it as a sample from my doctor. I took the pills and that didn't help. I found a box of the sample and it worked with one dose. I continued to use. It has not returned. I only have a flare once a year if that. This drug is a heaven sent but very expensive. With my insurance it was $600 out of pocket. So dr provided a sample.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
SylviaIsLegit | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/9/2017
Condition: Ulceration of the Rectum
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug ruined my ears forever. I took it for two weeks almost two years ago, and I'm still suffering from its side effects. It did me no good, and I was seriously poisoning my body with each dose. Because of this drug, I acquired severe tinnitus, I get vertigo attacks everyday, and I had a bad itchy rash on the skin above my colon that only went away with a steroid cream. Taking this medicine was the worst mistake I've ever made in my life, even though I was just following doctor's orders. This review is not exaggerated at all. If you take this drug, PLEASE watch out for side effects so you don't end up like me. But I would seriously suggest asking for an alternative to this.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/23/2017
Condition: Ulceration of the Rectum
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Diagnosed Ulcerative Proctitis. After only four treatments had ALL of the severe side effects listed on information sheet and symptoms much worse. Definitely not for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bill H. | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/18/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had a sudden flare up and was told to take this for a month but now on 2nd week and symptoms only worsened. Have an known alergy to ASA, known to GI DR but was told to try. Common ASA reaction signs (swelling of hands and lips) have not occured however.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ljc2016 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/11/2016
Condition: Ulceration of the Rectum
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed Canasa after other medications failed (Asacol then added steroids for 7 mos.). At one point, I was taking 12 pills a day. The Canasa has kept my UC under control since 2012; my last colonoscopy in 2014 was free and clear of inflammation. I wish Canasa had been the first treatment option after seeing the results. I have found that if I stop taking it, the UC symptoms return. Since side effects are none, I take it daily before bed.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
amfranz | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
8/8/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After experiencing bloody stools in 2010 I was told that I had an inflammation and prescribed Canasa. I used it for a couple of months and improved. Early 2012 I went to a new gastroenterologist due to an insurance change and records were transferred. I learned that I had ulcerative colitis and had been in remission. (Why didn’t anybody tell me???) I was prescribed Canasa suppositories, 1000 mg again. It began to help immediately. For the past three years I have had to fight as this is a very expensive drug and my insurance company keeps making me prove that I need it. Oral medications haven’t helped because the inflammation is too low in the colon and I don’t even want to discuss the enemas. Every time I stop using the Canasa or even miss a dose the symptoms come back. The most notable problem is spasms. I take dicyclomine for these but if I miss more than a couple of days I begin to pass blood and mucous and the spasms become unbearable. Apparently, these are wonderful at controlling symptoms but they are definitely not a cure. I have been experiencing issues with gas but until reading the above comments never considered it a side effect of Canasa. As Gas-X controls the gas but nothing else controls the spasms, blood and mucous, I’d consider that issue minor.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/15/2015
Condition: Ulceration of the Rectum
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have tried many other treatments for the last two years but Canasa is the only thing that has stopped not only the bleeding but also the urgency. I use right before bed and have had no side effects. It is a God send for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ouch | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
3/9/2015
Condition: Ulceration of the Rectum
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

the suppository is difficult to get out of the stiff plastic wrapper. Would like to have an applicator instead of using finger to insert the suppository.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lavern | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/23/2014
Condition: Ulceration of the Rectum
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I found the treatment very helpful. I now have better control when having to use the bathroom. Haven't had an accident since using Canasa.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
John | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
2/9/2014
Condition: Ulceration of the Rectum
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

In case you have a 'yuck' reaction to the insertion of this suppository you can purchase 144 protective latex tissue finger cots from Amazon for under $5. This medication has been the most effective I have taken for controlling my U.C.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Betty | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/1/2013
Condition: Ulceration of the Rectum
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After colonscopy found out I had proctitis and my Dr prescribed this to use. First day had adominal cramping but symtons of frequent trips to the bathroom subsided.Second day when I woke up had severe back pain. Called my Dr told to stop taking.Third day now did not use last night and still severe back pain. Wish I could have used this because have been suffering for 5 years with painful and frequent bowel moments.Have to see Dr next week to discuss other treatments.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
socal | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/23/2013
Condition: Ulceration of the Rectum
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Taking for ulcerative colitis for about 3 weeks--seems to have reduced the bleeding a lot and reduced the bowel movement frequency quite a bit. Do have headaches and gas as side effects, but not too bad. Hope I don't have to take forever though!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/5/2013
Condition: Ulceration of the Rectum
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/3/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i was diagnosed with a mild case of Proctitis and so far for the last 4 days i haven't had the urge to go to the bathroom no more blood or clots, only issue i had was stomach cramps but they went away after the first dose so overall canasa works good.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Patient
2/11/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
10/25/2012
Condition: Ulceration of the Rectum
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Had mucous, bleeding, gas and too many trips to the bathroom. After colonscopy, I was diagnosed with localized inflammation of the lower colon. This drug worked great for the six weeks that my Dr. prescribed, but about a week after I stopped using it my symptoms started coming back. Now I take it every night to keep the inflammation in check and have been doing so for about a year. Luckily I don't seem to have any side effects but it is a pain in the ass (literally) to have to take this night after night.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ktime | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/20/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have Ulcerative Colitis. I take this med. once at night before bedtime. It has helped my symptoms of diarrhea and bloody stools, but I do experience bloating and constipation for about 3 days in a row. When I stop this med. for a day just so I can have a bowl movement, the symptoms return, so I guess I will just suffer with the bloating for now.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
gardengirl | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/8/2012
Condition: Ulceration of the Rectum
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was diagnosed with proctitis 3-month, tried Canasa for 4 weeks, once a day, with prednisone. It worked well just the first week, then I had a bad flair up. This medicine seems to work well for most people, but it didn't work for me. But I also didn't have any side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
martigras | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/4/2011
Condition: Ulceration of the Rectum
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've only been on this for less than a month. This is a 'God Send' for me. Started having horrible stomach cramping, along with frequent mucous, and at times bloody stools starting in June. Had every test possible run. I lost a total of 35 lbs. during all this. My cramping and frequent stools slowed down on their own about a month ago, but a constant itching continued in my rectum, thinking perhaps I needed a fissure fixed or something. It was like I wasn't cleaning myself enough, needing to constantly use baby wipes over and over. Then having hydrocortisone suppositories prescribed for that feeling. Even that didn't help with the itchy, dirty feeling. But as soon as I started with the Canasa, that stopped and my daily lower back ache I had every time I needed to have a stool went away too. I thank my lucky stars for insurance co-pays because I know w/o it, it would cost us about $20 a piece. With our insurance, only pay $40 for a month's worth.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
chris | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
10/26/2011
Condition: Ulceration of the Rectum
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've had ulcerative proctitis for 10 years. And this drug does work but but the side effects are bad. I have dizzyness and very nauseated from the canasa.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More