Show ratings & reviews for

3.6 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

42 People found this comment helpful

I was taking the 6 pills every friday, after about 4 months I started to feel a big improvement, not being woke up by pain at night etc., my MD wanted to have me start with Humira but I refused so we switched me to self-injections (ugh) to up the dose and less trauma for my stomach. Its been going ok, but this last week my husband and I found a lot of nodules on my thighs, that explains the stran...

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 55-64 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/31/2020
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

my only problem has been mouth ulcers which i have nearly resolved by taking folic and vit b12

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
VINI | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
8/13/2020
Condition: Joint Inflammatory Disease in Children and Young Adults
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm on mtx from 14 months , yes it's effective helped me a lot in RA but side effects are overwhelming -nausea and bacterial infection

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
SarcoidMama | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
8/1/2020
Condition: Sarcoidosis
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was told this was a very strong drug with a lot of side effects. I WAS ON IT FOR A YEAR and he medicine attacked my skin with blisters, my mouth and throat had filled up with white blisters qnd craters on my insides of my face. It was imposible to eat or drink. Both my lower part of my legs and both feet were swollen and had turned red.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
4/19/2018
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on methotrexate for 8-9 years, I've been telling my Dr. that my bones and joints ache(hurt) also I get very cold and can't get my body warmed up, with out laying on a heated mattress pad for lengths of time. How do I get my Dr. to listen to me and try a different drug? so I don't have these side effects?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Brenda | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/16/2018
Condition: Vasculitis
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

So far- so good- itâ??s been only 3 weeks- I have had minimal side effects and hope the low dose works to put it into remission

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ozziehall | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/28/2017
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Very difficult to deal with. Causes extreme fatigue. Was taking 20 mg per week now cut back to 15mg due to surgery on hip. After taking nauseous the whole next day. I take with Arava and prednison for ra

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years |
7/13/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I came down with a rare mouth issue called Lichen Planus. There is no cure for this and there is not much research done on the disease. I see, of all things, a dermatologist for this issue. I go to the UAB hospital in Birmingham, AL, where the doctor has seen a lot of patients suffering this disease. The one problem I suffer is the hair loss. I fill the tub with hair now. The back of my chair has hair all over it. My hair has stopped growing. The doctor has cut back my dosage to see if this helps, but this page says this "should stop" after treatment has "stopped." So I guess I will continue to lose hair until I am bald or she changes my treatment. It has helped the Lichen Planus for now. It comes and goes. She has tried other drugs also with success. There is no absolute treatment for this disease. Pray you don't get it. It causes all kinds of mouth issues. Google it to see what I am talking about. But, the Metho works, just is making me go bald.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bubbles | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
3/5/2017
Condition: Systemic Lupus Erythematosus
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Still having problems with mouth ulcers, and now having nose ulcers too. I take 12 tablets every Thursday ,like clock work.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
April Rayne | 45-54 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/7/2016
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this for 2 years with minimal effectiveness. I continued because some was better than none. I had some side effects like hair loss and fatigue. I have added a nutritional cleansing routine this year and that has given me my life back. I'm hoping to be off meds soon.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
old geezer | 65-74 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
9/24/2016
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have been taking 15mg weekly for 14 months without a flair-up. Some almost insignificant pain in my thumbs. Have been off steroids for 6 months. I have had no side effects so far. I am happy with the results

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/5/2016
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been in for four weeks now. It has helped with flair ups ans swelling, but really find I'm tired. Almost surprises me that i need to sleep or nap right now.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Pam | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
6/12/2016
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Am not sure it does much but I can't afford the other treatments (biologics) so I have stayed with this drug. My hair is really thinning out though - may consider not using it and just staying with my anti-inflammatory.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sj12 | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/6/2016
Condition: Joint Inflammatory Disease in Children and Young Adults
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
freedommarines | 35-44 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/13/2016
Condition: Psoriasis
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Used for approx. two months, showing very little clear ups, on the other hand , little too NO side effects

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/25/2016
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Take this with folic acid and humira, works best of what I have tried. Used to be on sulfaalzine, plaquenil and prednisone. Still have pain in hands, neck and knee, also dry itchy skin

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
buckcreek | 65-74 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
12/14/2015
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on this drug for 2 years. I also take Simponi. I have no flares. I am tired a lot and have to take a nap each day but very much worth it. Just found out my lungs are covered with nodulers. No systoms but showed up in CT scan for another problem. I haven't talked to my RA doctor yet. Will see him Monday and hopefully will find out if this drug has this side effect.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
me | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
11/21/2015
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After being treating for bilateral knee pain with narcotics for osteoarthritis, swelling and unbearable aching to the point I could not sleep my new doc put me on methotrexate and within a week I was 90% pain free. It worked for me for over 8 months but it's back. Uping the dose and hoping for a repeat performance. Have three boys. Two 5 year olds and a 7. Wife is a nurse. Gotta be able to be a parent.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
PoisonPharmPoison | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Caregiver
10/8/2015
Condition: Psoriasis associated with Arthritis
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

MY MOTHER WAS ON THIS MED FOR BOTH HER PSORIASIS AND PSORIATIC ARTHRITIS. SHE WAS HOSPITALIZED IN THE ICU TWICE WITH "METHOTREXATE POISONING" AND DIED THE SECOND TIME AROUND, HAVING ALSO CONTRACTED ECOLI. You already have an immune disorder if you're being prescribed this drug. These drugs suppress your immune system even more. All the pharmacists I've worked with have told me they personally would opt not to take the most meds being prescribed for these illnesses because "they are toxic".

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
KC | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
4/21/2015
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am in NZ and was unable to move or walk absolutely crippled with RA. They moved me onto this drug and its being brillant for holding off RA. Flare ups and side effects (hair loss, tiredness) are definitely minor to the drug usefulness. My sister also to the drug but was dizzy and nauseous so had to stop taking it. Suits some but not all, but best to try for a while as sometimes the first few weeks are the worse.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/29/2015
Condition: Systemic Lupus Erythematosus
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have suffered sever side effects from the oral methotrexate and have not been able to remain on this medication.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More