Show ratings & reviews for

3.8 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

6 People found this comment helpful

This medication has done just fine for me. I can say that without my health insurance I would not be able to afford this medication. Market price is about 2500-3000 per month. With my prescription drug coverage it is only $25.00 I can say that I am lucky in that regard.

Most voted negative review

2 People found this comment helpful

lung transplant in 2003, new lung has cmv while I do not.I take one pill a day and so far it has kept me free from the virus. My only concern is the cost of valcyte!!! I am on medicare and myself and others suffer not from the transplants but from the cost of VALCYTE which is why we know of many who have given up the chance to live because of the drug. how sad for our country that a drug that does...

Shared reviews and ratings

Tracey | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
12/27/2016
Condition: Treatment to Prevent Cytomegalovirus Disease
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on valcyte for 6 months so far after contracting CMV post kidney transplant. Besides making me tired this drug has been very effective. it is easy to take and I have had no side effects what so ever

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
camu | 65-74 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/19/2016
Condition: Prevention of CMV Infection After Heart Transplant
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

by all accounts ,it has been working since prescribe w/i several months of heart transplant. very costly een w insurace coverage because of co-pay and others has been difficult to get help in paying for it..wish all well to all taking this med and hope the God will bless us all with a miracle. God bless

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/24/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Trying to find info. I don't know what it does. I recently had a lung transplant, and required to take valcyte 900 mg daily.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kid | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/26/2013
Condition: Prevention of CMV Infection Post Kidney Transplant
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

cannot afford to pay for this medicine

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/8/2011
Condition: Cytomegalovirus Infection of the Retina in AIDS patients
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

the efectiveness is good...am gettin my vision back, don't know how long I will have to take this

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sissy65 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/3/2011
Condition: Prevention of Cytomegalovirus Disease After Kidney-Pancreas Transplantation
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took this in heavy dosage after Liver Transplant and the development of CMV. Permanantly affected nerves in legs and feet. Caused intolerable pain in feet, ankles. Considered suicide. My doctor ingored this. Permanant damage done when an alternate med was available. Please, report to your Dr. and demand an alternate med if any nerve pain at all!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
upsidedown | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
11/27/2010
Condition: Cytomegalovirus Infection of the Retina in AIDS patients
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

HIV+ 27yrs, CMV Retinitis 15yrs. Cytovene 95-2000 when Valcyte pill came out. 2005 Dr said immune sys stable long enough to go off Valycte- had breakthrough within 30 days. Not as effective since, but helps to slow blindness. Compny chgd copy from $50 to 25% of cost. Will seek resources for help. Will advise if I have to ask Roche for med assistance. Wondering when patent runs out so can get generic unless they can renew and stop that. It's a cash cow. Another economic hardship cause by healthcare system and insurance. I don't wish either of my illnesses on anyone. peace upRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/19/2010
Condition: Treatment to Prevent Cytomegalovirus Disease
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

worked so far, am hoping there will not be a reaccurrance

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lizzy 3575 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/16/2009
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took it for a few months then stopped because my tongue became so sore and red there was even a tiny bit of blood. May try again on a lower dose. It was hard keeping up with required blood work while I was away from home.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
valcyte | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/13/2009
Condition: Cytomegalovirus Infection of the Retina in AIDS patients
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
[email protected] | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/15/2009
Condition: Treatment to Prevent Cytomegalovirus Disease
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

just started, lost twenty three pounds, have an esophageal ulcer,gastritis, heartburn, reflux, and an ulcer on my ankle- all before I was prescribed this. NOT DIABETIC, WAS TOLD MY BLOODWORK OPPOSITE OF BEING ANEMIC?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
nowthereare7ofus | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/4/2009
Condition: Treatment to Prevent Cytomegalovirus Disease
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I really don't know how effective this is. I have just begun taking it and was doing research (my pharmacist told me nothing) of this drug, side effects, etc. was wondering if it helped others (should at the cost..luckily this time I have insurance). I am just beginning today, so I will post back when I have taken for awhile and know more. Oh, I am taking it for CMV, for which my IGg levels have been very high for 5 years and the acyclovir not helped. Iv'e been so sick the last 5 years and so many doctors, i hope this works. Most drs don't even check for this illness!!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 3-6 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/8/2009
Condition: Prevention of CMV Infection Post Kidney Transplant
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Used this as a liquid med for about 6 weeks after transplant then developed a rash and vomiting, so stopped it. Patient info and all med info I found about this med said that it has not been studied in the pediatric population. Also can react with other anti rejection meds (Cellcept).

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
tubabuddy | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/21/2009
Condition: Prevention of CMV Infection Post Kidney Transplant
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication has done just fine for me. I can say that without my health insurance I would not be able to afford this medication. Market price is about 2500-3000 per month. With my prescription drug coverage it is only $25.00 I can say that I am lucky in that regard.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
450 2x a day | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
4/28/2009
Condition: Prevention of CMV Infection Post Kidney Transplant
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had it after an organ (liver) transplant when my immune system was low.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
4/4/2008
Condition: Cytomegalovirus Infection of the Retina in AIDS patients
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

CMV retinitus diagnosis 10 years ago. HIV+ now for 20 years. Blind in one eye but virus has been controlled since then, now with Valcyte. No serious side effects so far. But the thought of necessary lifelong treatment is sort of depressing.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jrb | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
3/5/2008
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

cost over $3300 per month Single lung transplant recipient june 2007 disabled on SS & medicare may have to DIE because i cant afford it. have been on and off this med, going to ACYLOVIR BUT THE INFECTION COMES BACK EVERY TIME I CHANGE.VALCYTE IS SO COSTLY that i dont know how long i can take it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/25/2008
Condition: Prevention of CMV Infection Post Kidney Transplant
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jim | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
12/27/2007
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

lung transplant in 2003, new lung has cmv while I do not.I take one pill a day and so far it has kept me free from the virus. My only concern is the cost of valcyte!!! I am on medicare and myself and others suffer not from the transplants but from the cost of VALCYTE which is why we know of many who have given up the chance to live because of the drug. how sad for our country that a drug that does work is sometimes impossilbe to afford.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More