Show ratings & reviews for

3.7 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

16 People found this comment helpful

I love Yasmin!! I didn't gain any weight, my face is super clear, it's easy to use and i didn't get any side effects like breast tenderness, etc. I HIGHLY recommend it.

Most voted negative review

16 People found this comment helpful

I would advise any young woman NOT to take this pill. I almost died taking it with the uncommon side effects. I was diagnosed with pulmonary embolisms, pneumonia and pulmonary hypertension within 2 months of taking this pill. when i was prescribed Yasmin, no steps were taken to ensure I would stop smoking, loose weight etc, it was a 5 minute appointment with my gp and I was sent on my way. More ch...

Shared reviews and ratings

Barsie | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/8/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is my first week on this pill and definitely my last, my heart is beating abnormally, after going through the reviews, I'm good I'm a mom to two boys and I really don't want to be a statistic!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/11/2021
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

So, I started yasmin about two years ago after coming off of the implant which made me gain a lot of weight (which was the reason I came off of it). About 3 months ago I decided that I wanted a break from birt control, and stopped taking the pill. After about a month my acne was AWFUL. My entire skin texture changed and I was honestly shocked. I had taken Acutane in the past for my acne, but have not had any problems since. Keep in mind, I have been on birth control since stopping Acutane, so I really did not know what my skin was like i guess. But anyway, my skin was AWFUL. I was embarassed and depressed about it. I hid under my mask whenever i left my house and did not know wgat to do. I tried every single acne medication and topical (including Tretinoin) and nothing worked. After about a month, I decided that I would go back on. I read a ton of reviews about how it takes about 3 months to work, and for a while there I had lost hope. HOWEVER, I am not on month 4 and my skin has completely cleared up. I dont need to wear make up anymore or hide under my mask, etc. On top of it helping my acne, my periods are regular and literally last 3 days. I have no major side effecgts, besides some nausea during the first month restarting Yasmin. Ladies, if you have problem skin and are looking for a solution from birth control, this is it. I lost hope for a while there, not knowing that I had already been on the best pill fo acne beforehand. Give it a try!! It may work for you :) Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Juv719 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
2/11/2021
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was taking Alesse for almost 2 years and went from 125lbs to 145-150lbs (Iâ??m 5ft6), and it also EXPONENTIALLY worsened my acne. I switched to Yasmin just over a year ago and instantly noticed consistent weight loss (back down to 125lbs within 6 months), as well as it significantly clearing up my skin (very minimal/infrequent breakouts now). I have yet to experience any of the negative side effects that it warns against. Definitely recommend, especially if you struggle with relentless hormonal acne. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
yassi | 7-12 | Female | Patient
4/24/2020
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
12/23/2019
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This pill killed my best friend. She’s not the only case. Caused severe blood clots and then internal bleeding which could not be treated. Please do not take Yasmin. It needs to be discontinued.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
12/1/2018
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Taking yaz for 8 yrs now, was diagnose with a bloodclot in my lung this week, my doctor is sure its from this perticular birth control. Ladies beware!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | Patient
6/16/2018
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The best birth control!! I have had heavy, crampy periods since I started having periods and have tried various methods of birth controls, from different pills, to the Mirena IUD. This pill has been the absolute best at regulating my period and lightening it. While, I did have slight nausea and breakthrough bleeding during the first month, these side effects went away by month two.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Medicalpro | 13-18 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/1/2018
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Please ladies AVOID this pill at all costs!! I am speaking from experience here. I began Yasmin two weeks ago, first off I usually get my period for four days, now I know the pill can prolong your period but this was haemorraging blood after two weeks! My mood swings were severe, a genuine feeling of depression and crying hysterically over absolutely nothing, my skin went horrendous and I’ve never gotten acne before, my appetite increased and I was feeling nauseous. I went to a new doctor and explained what happened he took my off the pill straight away. My sister, a registered NHS pharmacist told me Yasmin is one of the worst pills for blood clots and breakthrough bleeding. I spoke to friends and two of them who tried Yasmin before told me they had the exact same side effects. I wouldn’t spend my time writing this review if I didn’t feel it was important but please take my advice and ask for an alternative pill if possible.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/9/2017
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

this my first time using contraseptive, on my first 2 wk, i have bigmentation on the legs itching on the growin area

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Janet | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Caregiver
1/3/2017
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My daughter was prescribed this horrible pill in a generic form of Drospirenone/Ethinyl when she was 16. She was having discomfort with her cycle and was having issues with acne. In June of 2016 she was hospitalized with a pulmonary embolism and we could have lost her. The generic Yaz almost killed her. She was on blood thinners, missed out on the majority of her Summer and her entire Senior year of playing sports. She will be at high risk for another clot and will have to be on blood thinners during pregnancies. This changed her life and ours. NOTHING on this generic drug states the dangers! Our peds doctor NEVER explained her risks. We highly recommend NO ONE use Yasmin or the generic forms of this. They are protected now from lawsuit, and they know they are wrong for having this horrible medicine on the market. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
4/4/2016
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was put on Yasmin for a combination of birth control, acne and extremely painful, heavy and unpredictable periods. It is the only type of contraceptive pill I've been on so I can't compare it to others but what I've experienced with Yasmin has been great. My acne has almost gone and I no longer have any pain whatsoever when on my period, which is a huge change from before, and although it is still quite heavy it isn't as bad as before and I know exactly when it is going to start and end. I can even skip a period when I'm on holiday! Really satisfied with Yasmin and hopefully will continue to use it for many more years.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/8/2016
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I went on Yasmin because I had incredibly painful cramps, and I no longer have any cramps what so ever when on Yasmin. It has worked great for me, the only thing that I have noticed is that I'm loosing more hair than what normally falls out when brushing it, etc. I believe this was caused by the pill because I am young

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lvfritzie | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
6/13/2015
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have been on this for 12+ yrs & loved it. Hated the scary commercials though. Coming off b/c my age 43 & high blood pressure so taking doctor's orders.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
gigi | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
4/25/2015
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Dun take this drug,and never even think about starting it. I have been on Yasmin for more than 5 yrs,have been on and off in recent two years because i could no longer bear the side effects.Kills ur sex drive is something that u will immediately see after several days, and depression,unreasonable angerness,mood swing,and later serious panic attacks that needs to seek emergency medical assistance.I have never thought it was related to the pill. weight gain,hair loss is also getting very annoying. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
TaylorSAYS | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
9/19/2014
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am 26 years old and was on Yasmin for 10 years and was taken off of it about a year ago due to migraines with auras. I absolutely LOVED it as far as skin, increased breast size, no weight gain. However, I have not had a migraine since being taken off of it a year ago. Before this pill, I never had any issues with my periods and when I stopped it, my periods have been right on schedule. If I was late taking it, it would not initiate a period, which I loved; however I do think it increased anxiety, hard to be sure, as a lot was going on between 15 and 25 years of age. :) I miss it but being migraine free is PRICELESS after years of suffering, even if it means smaller breasts and a little heavier bleeding. If I didn't have migraines with this medication, I would definitely still be on it. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
anom | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
5/29/2014
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Hensdancing | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
12/1/2013
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking Yasmin after an unpleasant experience with other pills - the worst one being dianette (28lb weight gain in 8weeks) and it was my saviour. My skin was beautiful, pms gone, cramps gone, headaches gone, I was a stable weight. Absolutely loved it. The only downside was after a pill break my first three days back on it I would have a terrible nauseous feeling- but to be honest the pro's far out weighed that issue. Yasmin worked like that on my for around 2-3years but in the last 2 years things have really gone downhill. I have unexplained weight gain (that I can't shift) a few spots are back, my mood isn't as stable as it used to be. But periods and pain are still light. I'm not sure has happened. I think it's my time to switch, Zoely is my next option. But Yasmin is still 100% better than any other pill I've tried so far (Ive used about 5 different ones) and if zoely doesn't work I would def go back to Yasmin. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ellie | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
10/14/2013
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started using Yasmin 5 Years ago to help with acne and pain during my cycle. During the 5 years I experience severe migraines.. always blaming my studies. Two weeks ago I got a another migraine more severe than all the others.. I ended up in hospital for seven day just to hear that I have a blood clot in a vein in my brain. Test show that there is no genetic reason for the clot doctor said it is the Pill. So now I am on bloodthinners for six months and I can't use any other oral contraceptive. Other than that I gain other 20kg.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
poohkis9 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
9/19/2013
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am 32 years old and on jan 20th 2013 i suffered a stroke. the doctors stated it was due to a blood clot that went to my brain from a hole in my heart. other than that yazmin was a miracle drug and the pros out weighed the cons but the con caught up to me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
saved | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/11/2013
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I used this for 5 years and after switching over I didnt realize how much my breathing and my chest pains went away, I am glad i stopped it when i could, you will notice a difference too.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More