Show ratings & reviews for

3.6 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

16 People found this comment helpful

I love Yasmin!! I didn't gain any weight, my face is super clear, it's easy to use and i didn't get any side effects like breast tenderness, etc. I HIGHLY recommend it.

Most voted negative review

17 People found this comment helpful

I would advise any young woman NOT to take this pill. I almost died taking it with the uncommon side effects. I was diagnosed with pulmonary embolisms, pneumonia and pulmonary hypertension within 2 months of taking this pill. when i was prescribed Yasmin, no steps were taken to ensure I would stop smoking, loose weight etc, it was a 5 minute appointment with my gp and I was sent on my way. More ch...

Shared reviews and ratings

Sophie | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/18/2022
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have experienced mood swings during my first pack, my menstruation started during active pills, on day 18. Now I’m on the second pack and spotting for couple of days. I’m also feeling nauseous in the morning. I do not recommend this pill.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/14/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was recently diagnosed with endometriosis from a gynaecologist and he recommended going on the pill would be my best option to help with the pain, acne and bloating (all caused from endo). i was super keen to try Yaz as a few of my friends and doctors have said that it is one of the "best" pills with the least side effects. although i suffer panic and anxiety disorder ever since i could remember, but i fondly remember my anxiety was going really well, barely having panic attacks, feeling anxious, etc. and as soon as i started taking this pill - the anxiety instantly came on the next day, i think it was one of the worst things ive experienced and i am still to this day (a month later) trying to get back on track. i could only take it for a week it was so unbareable. i'm sure it would be fine if you didn't suffer with anxiety, but i would stay clear of this if you do. will be trying other pills. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
5/23/2022
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ve been on multiple combination pills and this is the only one that’s completely cleared my skin within 6 months.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Molly | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/10/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had my share of both the combined pill contraceptive and the implant in my arm. The pill I had usually taken was Qlaira, and although I had light spotting, I believe this pill was well suited for me. However, there was a shortage in my area and I had to be re-prescribed another and was put on Yasmin. I have now taken the pill for six months and can honestly say I have never felt as low in my life as I currently do. I failed to realize why I was feeling the way I was and put it down to college. However, I was struggling to get out of bed and find the motivation to go about my daily life. I found myself crying and more anxious about so many more situations. I have gained a fair amount of weight without realizing it was due to the pill and also feel extremely fatigued. My breasts are already large and are sensitive to hormones, with this pill projecting them to a size I hadn't experienced on Qlaira. All in all, I really don't recommend this pill to anyone.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tash | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/9/2022
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started about 2 years back and I had no symptoms but tender breast.. recently started back and now I’ve been spotting for a few days now

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
3/22/2022
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This pill worked as it was supposed to while I was on it, I had no negative side effects while taking it, but the problem came when I went off the pill - I started losing a significant amount of hair days after going off the pill and it has still not returned to normal about 6 months after. I just wanted to warn girls about this, I would have never started taking this pill knowing this was going to happen.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sb | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/13/2022
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Made me uncontrollably hungry and as a result gained 4kg in 3 months from taking it even whilst exercising a lot. Constantly craving sugary and fatty foods. Had no positive effect on my skin

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jess | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
12/9/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Used it for 7 years n very happy with it. Problems only appeared after stopping the pill - PCOS & depression. Almost killed myself for no reason but overwhelming emotions, and having difficulty to get pregnant. I'm shocked nobody warned me of this side effect before, and so many women actually went through the same depression issue after the pill. I just want everyone to be aware of this potential side effect, and maybe if you have to use it, don't use it continuously for long period of time.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jasmin | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/17/2021
Condition: Disease of Ovaries with Cysts
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Sent me into major depression. The pill should not be the first option for women when dealing PCOS/ acne/ period problems etc. There are so many other medicines or natural remedies to assist with everything, it’s a shame the health system just throws the pill at women who are struggling with any related issue and calls it a day.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Barsie | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/8/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is my first week on this pill and definitely my last, my heart is beating abnormally, after going through the reviews, I'm good I'm a mom to two boys and I really don't want to be a statistic!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/11/2021
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

So, I started yasmin about two years ago after coming off of the implant which made me gain a lot of weight (which was the reason I came off of it). About 3 months ago I decided that I wanted a break from birt control, and stopped taking the pill. After about a month my acne was AWFUL. My entire skin texture changed and I was honestly shocked. I had taken Acutane in the past for my acne, but have not had any problems since. Keep in mind, I have been on birth control since stopping Acutane, so I really did not know what my skin was like i guess. But anyway, my skin was AWFUL. I was embarassed and depressed about it. I hid under my mask whenever i left my house and did not know wgat to do. I tried every single acne medication and topical (including Tretinoin) and nothing worked. After about a month, I decided that I would go back on. I read a ton of reviews about how it takes about 3 months to work, and for a while there I had lost hope. HOWEVER, I am not on month 4 and my skin has completely cleared up. I dont need to wear make up anymore or hide under my mask, etc. On top of it helping my acne, my periods are regular and literally last 3 days. I have no major side effecgts, besides some nausea during the first month restarting Yasmin. Ladies, if you have problem skin and are looking for a solution from birth control, this is it. I lost hope for a while there, not knowing that I had already been on the best pill fo acne beforehand. Give it a try!! It may work for you :) Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Juv719 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
2/11/2021
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was taking Alesse for almost 2 years and went from 125lbs to 145-150lbs (Iâ??m 5ft6), and it also EXPONENTIALLY worsened my acne. I switched to Yasmin just over a year ago and instantly noticed consistent weight loss (back down to 125lbs within 6 months), as well as it significantly clearing up my skin (very minimal/infrequent breakouts now). I have yet to experience any of the negative side effects that it warns against. Definitely recommend, especially if you struggle with relentless hormonal acne. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
yassi | 7-12 | Female | Patient
4/24/2020
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
12/23/2019
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This pill killed my best friend. She’s not the only case. Caused severe blood clots and then internal bleeding which could not be treated. Please do not take Yasmin. It needs to be discontinued.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
12/1/2018
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Taking yaz for 8 yrs now, was diagnose with a bloodclot in my lung this week, my doctor is sure its from this perticular birth control. Ladies beware!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | Patient
6/16/2018
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The best birth control!! I have had heavy, crampy periods since I started having periods and have tried various methods of birth controls, from different pills, to the Mirena IUD. This pill has been the absolute best at regulating my period and lightening it. While, I did have slight nausea and breakthrough bleeding during the first month, these side effects went away by month two.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Medicalpro | 13-18 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/1/2018
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Please ladies AVOID this pill at all costs!! I am speaking from experience here. I began Yasmin two weeks ago, first off I usually get my period for four days, now I know the pill can prolong your period but this was haemorraging blood after two weeks! My mood swings were severe, a genuine feeling of depression and crying hysterically over absolutely nothing, my skin went horrendous and I’ve never gotten acne before, my appetite increased and I was feeling nauseous. I went to a new doctor and explained what happened he took my off the pill straight away. My sister, a registered NHS pharmacist told me Yasmin is one of the worst pills for blood clots and breakthrough bleeding. I spoke to friends and two of them who tried Yasmin before told me they had the exact same side effects. I wouldn’t spend my time writing this review if I didn’t feel it was important but please take my advice and ask for an alternative pill if possible.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/9/2017
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

this my first time using contraseptive, on my first 2 wk, i have bigmentation on the legs itching on the growin area

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Janet | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Caregiver
1/3/2017
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My daughter was prescribed this horrible pill in a generic form of Drospirenone/Ethinyl when she was 16. She was having discomfort with her cycle and was having issues with acne. In June of 2016 she was hospitalized with a pulmonary embolism and we could have lost her. The generic Yaz almost killed her. She was on blood thinners, missed out on the majority of her Summer and her entire Senior year of playing sports. She will be at high risk for another clot and will have to be on blood thinners during pregnancies. This changed her life and ours. NOTHING on this generic drug states the dangers! Our peds doctor NEVER explained her risks. We highly recommend NO ONE use Yasmin or the generic forms of this. They are protected now from lawsuit, and they know they are wrong for having this horrible medicine on the market. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
4/4/2016
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was put on Yasmin for a combination of birth control, acne and extremely painful, heavy and unpredictable periods. It is the only type of contraceptive pill I've been on so I can't compare it to others but what I've experienced with Yasmin has been great. My acne has almost gone and I no longer have any pain whatsoever when on my period, which is a huge change from before, and although it is still quite heavy it isn't as bad as before and I know exactly when it is going to start and end. I can even skip a period when I'm on holiday! Really satisfied with Yasmin and hopefully will continue to use it for many more years.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More