Show ratings & reviews for

3.5 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

13 People found this comment helpful

have been taking it for four years. no problems. no cramps, no spotting, no bloating. I usually have a four day period. Very light. I would recommend it.

Most voted negative review

3 People found this comment helpful

I switched to this medicine after another birth control medication. This birth control was great for the first three months. Then I started getting migraines. Its almost like my body retains way to much water now. I have not changed my diet but I see no need to, considering I eat decently healthy. Ive gained quite a bit of weight. I now have stretch marks. I notice I am way more irritable then nor...

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 35-44 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/9/2019
Condition: Endometriosis
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After only 6 days on this pill I could take it no more! I began taking this med in hopes that changing my BC would better help control my endometriosis. Now in addition to my original problem, I have unbearable daily headaches & migraines, 24/7 nausea, and brain fog so bad I can barely function at work. The sudden bloating & weight gain it has caused are also so bad that none of my clothes fit comfortably anymore! A big thumbs down to this one!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/14/2019
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had recently switch birth control since my doctor suggest it since I had random bleeding and my insurance. This is probably my 3rd-4th month of taking this. I absolutely agree with these reviews.. I feel crazy, emotional, not myself, and etc. I have been taking birth control for almost 6 years now and this pill is foresure not it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nothavingit | 19-24 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/11/2019
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Im literally crazy while taking this pill. My periods are not regulated. My acne is not bad at all so theres a giant plus. But im very depressed, i feel psycho and not myself. No weight gain. Changing BC

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Maryanne | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
2/6/2019
Condition: Disease of Ovaries with Cysts
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have relied on this med for almost a year and I haven’t gotten pregos. Might have experienced some mood issues but it wasnt bad.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
collegegirl | 19-24 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
7/18/2018
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This birthcontrol made my skin clear up and stopped breakouts. It also made my periods extremely regular and a little lighter (took a couple months on it). It didn't cause me weight gain. IT MADE ME CRAZY. Right when I started it I would cry hysterically all the time. Depression and anxiety increased a lot. It made me super stressed all the time and self conscious. Bad mental side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female |
6/30/2018
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on neocon for 6 years due to very bad menstrual problems and it worked great for me. my doctor switched me to this brand and i absolutely hate it. i stopped taking it after 2 months, it made me so moody and my emotions were completely out of whack. I do not recommend this

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
11/5/2017
Condition: Disease of Ovaries with Cysts
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I use to take Necon for about 5 years before I noticed the name changed but didn't think much of it. I have been on Nortrel for six months now. I was told by my doctor that it causes weight gain from the increase in estrogen. I thought it was odd since Necon never caused me to gain weight but that's when I realized Necon and Nortrel aren't the same drug as I was made to assume. I have noticed a weight gain in recent months but i had contributed it to stress. However, I had complained that my hair growth on my chin is coming in thicker and faster than before. I thought maybe my body got use to the spirolactone dosage but now I believe it's because of the Nortrel. My periods come regularly and I have acne or mood swings. My issue is he hair growth. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dino9 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/26/2017
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have been taking Nortrel 1/35 for nine months. Was nauseous for first couple months, but that has gone away. Extremely light, short periods, no weight gain (although I've noticed some water retention in my fingers), keeps my acne away. If you can stomach the first months of nausea this is a really effective pill.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cashmere37 | 35-44 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/18/2017
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've taken Necon 1/35 for about 6 yrs. Then according to my pharmacy says it's been discontinued. I was givenNortrel 1/35 and told they are the same just different manufacturer. It's been 2 weeks....I've experienced shortness of breath, No appetite at all. I have to force myself to eat, and also a complete lack of a sex drive and vaginal dryness. I am stopping this birth control today.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lauren | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/4/2015
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Nortrel is a generic for Modicon. I was on Necon, another Modicon generic, for a decade without any problems. Then CVS discontinued Necon & gave me Nortrel. I am now on my 2nd month of Nortrel & have had constant pounding headaches (on Necon I had only 1 per month, on the 1st day of my menses) & high irritability. I am so bitchy that I feel like my perception of things can't be trusted. Nortrel has the same active ingredients as Necon & Modicon, but its effect is significantly different. I want to kill Nortrel & CVS right now. Yes, I need to get off of this pill.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
3/26/2015
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on this medication for over 10 years and the only problem i have with it is that i cant take the generic form it made me feel sick. I haven't gained any weight or had any problems.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
krl421 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/29/2015
Condition: Endometriosis
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on Nortrel for at least 2 years. It is very effective at preventing pregnancy and producing shorter, lighter, less painful periods. BUT, the side effects I experience are acne (I've never had acne so bad in my entire life until I started taking this pill!!), nausea, vomiting, weight gain, irregular heartbeat, headaches, itching, depression, mood swings, and the list goes on. This pill is okay. It serves its purpose. If you don't have any side effects from it then you're lucky.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
11/4/2014
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This pill has worked great for me! At the beginning I was kind of iffy because of the nausea it caused after I began to use it when I would end my periods. I've been using it for 1 year & 2 months. Not pregnant, no crazy mood swings, & lighter to shorter periods. The best!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nicolette | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
11/3/2014
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I switched to this medicine after another birth control medication. This birth control was great for the first three months. Then I started getting migraines. Its almost like my body retains way to much water now. I have not changed my diet but I see no need to, considering I eat decently healthy. Ive gained quite a bit of weight. I now have stretch marks. I notice I am way more irritable then normal. My periods are light but, last anywhere from 3-7 days. All of a sudden I started getting cramps. I have never had them before this medication. I am almost ready to give up on birth control altogether.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Xxannikaxx | 13-18 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/23/2014
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Awful cramps leaving me in tears, extreme outbursts, breast pain and headaches.. Not a good start for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lw | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
3/3/2014
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is perfect! It did not make me gain weight at all. The only difference I saw was my curves and boobs. I've stayed around the same weight and it made my periods only 3 days. It is definitely recommended!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Emi | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/24/2014
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Although this pill did a great job at keeping me from getting pregnant as well as relieving my debilitating monthly cramps, it caused me to feel nauseated every single day, all day. The worst side effect, by far, was the crippling depression that came along with this pill. I could barely find the motivation to get up. Would not recommend.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/9/2013
Condition: Endometriosis
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had been taking Generess samples for a few months, but my insurance didn't cover it and I got switched to Nortrel. I'd been taking Nortrel for about 3 weeks and stopped. Awful experience. Migraines, nausea, bad breakthrough bleeding. There was no lapse in birth control and I had my period almost the entire 3 weeks I'd taken Nortrel.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ilovenortrel | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
11/26/2013
Condition: Absence of Menstrual Periods
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I love Nortrel. I take it everyday at 5pm and I have had no side effects. Everything has been wonderful. Something that works well is setting an alarm on my phone so I don't forget to take it. Nortrel makes my period regular and light.. and always on the 4th week of the pack for about 3-4 days. And as far as the birth control part; no pregnancy. I recommend it(:

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | Patient
8/29/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I feel awful on this bc! Crazy mood swings,anxiety, insomnia, awful! It's going in the trash.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More