Show ratings & reviews for

3.4 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

10 People found this comment helpful

Well, i have been taking this form of birth control for about a year now and i seem to have a somewhat strange symptom-- i have absolutely no period when I'm taking this drug. Sometimes i forget to take a pill the night before and then i will have my period but other times i still have no period. My mom made me take a pregnancy test about a year ago and it came out negative. Is there anyone else w...

Most voted negative review

5 People found this comment helpful

If you are only taking this pill to not get pregnant, technically it does work. But if you are taking it because of terrible monthly cramps or anything to lighten your period, it doesn't do. I actually had to call into work because my cramps actually got worse. I can't wait to get off of this terrible birth control! I'm always nauseas and now I accidentally missed one pill, but followed protocol a...

Shared reviews and ratings

LShaw | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
5/21/2019
Condition: Premenstrual Disorder with a State of Unhappiness
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Went on this in Nov 2017, had to have haul batteries out in May of 2018 due to 40 gaul stones which went ther the year prior. Gained 15 lbs in a year and felt very anxious, waking up in the middle of the night with Axiety attacks. Found out it was all because of this drug this month. Stopped immediately.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous |
1/18/2019
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Gained weight, in a constant rage - just angry and anxious, fighting with everyone and can feel the anxiety boiling over. Breasts have ballooned and cramping 2 weeks before my period. Nortrel is NOT Necon

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
K | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/15/2018
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

100% DO NOT RECOMMEND! 2 years ago I struggled with acne and it cleared up but recently started coming back. I visited the doctor to look into birth control pills to regulate my period and also help my acne. I've been on the pill for about 2 months now and it has made me gain 10 pounds and I went from having small whiteheads here and there to massive cystic acne clustered on my cheeks and forehead. This pill has also caused me to suffer severe anxiety which I have not experienced before. I am definitely switching to a different birth control.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Romaine | 19-24 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/2/2018
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I originally started BC to help ease my periods, so my Dr put me on Sprentec at first, but I just ended up having even longer and more frequent periods so he switched me to Notrel. When I started Sprentec, I was on my period for the first whole month, and then every two weeks after that. But with Nortel, , I had my period the first two weeks and then now about every 5-6 weeks and it'?s not nearly as heavy or long. For the first month, I did experience some bad effects of it like everyone else but since then everything has improved. Clear skin, I’ve gained weight (but that was a goal for me), no headaches or hair loss, breasts grew, sex drive is fine, I haven’t experienced dryness like other users, cramps barely happen, so I think it's? great to me. Then again, everyone's?? body is different so everyone isn't? going to have the same exact side effects.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
. | 13-18 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/30/2018
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Worst medicine ever. I was prescribed this medicine for treatment of my heavy period, and this medication only made it worse. By the second week of taking it I began vomiting from being so nauseous. Same thing on Christmas morning. I felt nauseous after taking the pill and went and threw up. The first time I got my period while taking this pill, it lasted for a whole month. It didnâ??t lighten my period at all, and it made my cramps worse. It decreased my sex drive, made me gain A TON of weight, made me breakout, and put me in an awful mood all the time. I hated this so much I just stopped because Iâ??d rather have an abnormally heavy period than deal with this. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
little_reviewer | Female |
11/2/2017
Condition: Disease of Ovaries with Cysts
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had severe bleeding, pain, and ovarian cysts. Easiest for me!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jasrika | 35-44 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/29/2017
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking Necon 1/35 for 7 years and my doctor switched my prescription, without asking me, to Nortrel 1/35. My pharmacist, who is great, noticed that the drug was different and he called my doctor and had it switched back to Necon. Then the next month I received Nortrel. I didn't realize it until I got home. I called the pharmacy and some lady pharmacist told me they were the exact same thing. I wanted her to give me Necon, but she said she had to order it. I had to take my pill that day, so I made her promise me that they were the same. Well, I took it for two weeks. My face broke out, my breasts swelled up like balloons, and I am 2 days late having my period, yet I am having the worst period cramps ever when I never had them before. I think that says it all. I hope to God I am not pregnant because I do not want children and I am 40 years old with degenerative disc disease. My body cannot handle this. I'll post an update if I get my period or if I am pregnant. I can tell a lot from my body and I can tell you that these drugs are NOT THE SAME thing.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
holololy | 19-24 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/9/2017
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After being on Necon for years, my insurance sent me Nortrel saying the reason was that Necon was on back order from the manufacturer and it was the closest thing. I feel like my stomach is in knots all the time, my low back pain/tension is constant (it usually acts up the morning of my period, now i have it everyday). My skin has never been perfect but my chin and jawline have been breaking out like crazy. I've also been spotting after sex, not sure if that's related to the pill or not. My mental/emotional health have been ALL over the place. I was already considering dropping off Necon to a pill that's lighter on the hormones, but after this experience I will be so happy to be back on it.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
salisa | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/18/2016
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

When I got this medication I read so many horror stories online, but to my surprise this medication works great for me had no side effects my period comes and feels so light, no head aches or nausea. my boobs got bigger so that's a plus. I would recommend.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Morgan Shay | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/16/2016
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been taking this birth control for about 3 months now. It does it's job of preventing pregnancy, but if you miss a pill, be prepared for spotting. The spotting is horrible, not to mention the headaches & nausea that follows.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
SlyFox | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/22/2016
Condition: Endometriosis
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I didn't get my usual migraines on this, but I had to stop taking it two weeks in because of extreme lower back and out hip pain (connected with menstrual cramping - the worst I've had since I came of age to have periods. This b/c pill forced a full on period on me during the second week I was on it and I had to just stop.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/6/2014
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been using Nortrel for 3 years now with no major side effects. I take the pill continuously by skipping the placebos and starting a new pack. Therefore I was not getting any periods. I would notice however that if I missed a pill or took it late, I would end up spotting pretty bad. I also noticed 6 months on the pill that it had demolished my sex drive. I have recently stopped taking the med because of this. No troubles with headaches, acne, or weight gain. I think its a great choice, as long as you don't care about your sex life. :/Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/4/2014
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm afraid it has taken away my sex drive! My libido only exists on the "off" week when I take no pills. The only plus is that I never get my period.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous |
9/11/2014
Condition: Painful Periods
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Done with my fourth pack and I refuse to take anymore. The first month I was sick everyday, that eventually got better but what didn't was the excessive hair loss and extreme Moody swings! Everything set me off! I'm off of it for good.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
heyhey89 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/3/2014
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I could only stand taking this for ONE WEEK. By day 7 I had been crying off and on for days for no reason. I was moody, miserable and picking fights with my boyfriend. Horrible horrible psychological effects. Lost weight during that first week but not even worth it. Didnt eat because I was depressed I'm pretty sure. Will never take this one again. Have a hard time finding birth control that doesnt make me crazy.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
whoknows101 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/1/2014
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Should have read reviews three months ago. I am on my third pack of these and have taken them religiously. From the beginning I felt bloated/uncomfortable all the time or I was completely sick to my stomach. Absolutely no grey area. There is a headache that hasn't seemed to really go away and I am definitely experiencing blurred vision. The headaches have been borderline blinding. After I was about four days into each pack a pattern evolved where I've gotten so nauseous my stomach decided to totally empty itself. Needless to say I'm looking into other options immediately. Glad to see I'm not totally crazy. I've never had this issue with a pill. P.s. my normally dry combination & breakout free face seems to have more oil and it's more sensitive to makeup. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
worriedwart103 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/16/2014
Condition: Absence of Menstrual Periods
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on Necon before my pharmacy changed it to Nortrel about 3 months a go. I got my period the first month very light and then the last two months I have not gotten it at all. I'm assuming its a side effect of the Nortrel.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/30/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am 35 and suffer from severe migraines since I started my period at almost 13. The first time I took it I was prescribed a double dose, which really worked, but when I went to college I lost my insurance & couldn't afford it. After getting insurance again, a new doctor didn't like the idea. It took me 3 months to get regulated, but once that occurred the migraines (with the help of Botox) diminished. I found out that taking the placebo for a week cause the headaches to come back full strength, so I went to 4 days only. Finally, my pharmacist said to skip the placebo until I start to spot and that has proved the most helpful, though sometimes I barely spot and it scares me to death as I am on a lot of pain medications for fibromyalgia. I take a pregnancy test every Sunday just to make sure though. The one problem is that you have to make sure to get more than 12 packs since you'll need approximately 14-16 packs depending on the day on your period.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/1/2014
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this for a month. Mood swings are much better. I have some acne right around my period. Overall a decent choice.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jessica Hulsey | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
1/29/2014
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

WORST PILL EVER!!!! I have has severe headache, blurred vision, weight gain, and bad bleeding....never ever again will I take this pill. i have been on many bc pills this is a nightmare!!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More