Show ratings & reviews for

3.1 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

56 People found this comment helpful

I have breast cancer in my bones. I took zometa every month for 16 months, then every 3 months. My cancer has not moved in almost 5 years. Very few side effects, just drink plenty of water after IV.

Most voted negative review

5 People found this comment helpful

I hate this medicine. I had 2 treatments with flu like symptoms both times for 4 days. That stunk but I got through it. Now I have lost all feeling in my fingertips and have pressed nerve pain in both arms. Cannot hold even small items. Spilling and dropping everything.

Shared reviews and ratings

PK | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/1/2022
Condition: Osteoporosis
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had a Zometa infusion for osteoporosis because of taking Exemestane (estrogen blocker). I had it done by 3:30 pm yesterday and by the early morning I was in excruciating pain in bone and joints! I almost passed out and felt nauseous. I’m still in pain but I will never take that again!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nicola | 19-24 | Nonbinary | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/2/2022
Condition: Osteoporosis caused by Anti-Androgen Drugs
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had breast cancer with chemotherapy 3 years ago, and am on estrogen blockers because of the cancer I had. My bone density has decreased, so my Oncologist recommended this medicine. I had the infusion on Tuesday morning and Wednesday morning was in severe pain and very dizzy to the point I fainted. I had bad chills and flu like symptoms. It is now Thursday and I am in so much pain I can hardly stand it. My neck, shoulders, hips and knees are so painful. Even some of my toes. I've taken Advil but it isn't helping. I pray I am better tomorrow because this is miserable. Never getting g the infusion again. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bec | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/18/2022
Condition: prevention of skeletal related events in multiple myeloma
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Had my first infusion. Did not take Tylenol until the morning after. I hurt bad. Bones and muscles. Misery. Next time I will get Tylenol onboard right after the infusion if not before. I have had chemo in the past. That was like I was sick afterwards. This was pain in the ribs and chest. Holy new misery. Spent day one afterwards. This is day 2, I am short tempered.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Christy Shedd | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/2/2020
Condition: Cancer that has Spread To the Bone From Solid Tumors
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Only had one infusion and now can barely get up and down or walk. I am extremely tired and can not form a complete thought. But tbe body aches are horrible. Will not get another infusion.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sue | 55-64 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
8/29/2020
Condition: Osteoporosis caused by Anti-Androgen Drugs
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been taking 6 months, (just had 2nd, 6th month infusion), to reduce risk of bone loss due to an anti-hormone drug I take following breast cancer/tumor removal. I'm hoping it's working for I have some joint pain, fatigue, and twice some strange visuals possibly related to not eating for a number of hours.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | Patient
10/30/2019
Condition: Glucocorticoid-Induced Osteoporosis Prevention
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Now have jaw necrosis. Was getting once a month doses. Now taking nothing for bone strength.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/12/2019
Condition: Cancer that has Spread To the Bone From Solid Tumors
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have HR and HER2 stage IV breast cancer metastasized to my spine. Previously I received a monthly infusion of Xgeva but was required by insurance company to try Zometa instead. The side effects started a few hours after the IV. I experienced bloating, constipation, loss of appetite, severe agitation/irritability, severe insomnia, depression and suicidal thoughts. To this day (1 1/2 months after the first IV), I still struggle with insomnia. These side effects occurred despite drinking lots of water since the IV. This drug is horrible.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Simsim | 65-74 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/10/2019
Condition: Cancer that has Spread To the Bone From Solid Tumors
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

How can I rate this drug when I had only one treatment. I took the drug on Friday mid day. I started a headache immediately, then by evening I started to ache all over. The pain was so bad-9/10 it was impossible even to lie down. My acid reflux kicked in. This continued until the morning when I fell asleep. The next day the pain, less intense, was still there but I was exhausted. I spent the whole day in bed, dozing on and off. Today is Sunday I am exhausted and have started a cough.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
WendyinIndy | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/29/2019
Condition: Increased Calcium in the Blood from Cancer
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I got an i.v. drip of this drug ordered by my doctor with no heads up as to what it was or why he ordered it. I was as sick as I've ever been. I was already dehydrated upon administration of the drug. I was sick for a week! There are NO CIRCUMSTANCES in which I'd ever knowingly receive this evil drug.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
HP | 65-74 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/11/2018
Condition: Lesions in the Bone of the Disease Multiple Myeloma
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I could barely walk when stage 3 Multiple Myeloma first showed up. I lost 3.25 inches in height due to compression fractures in my spine. After a year on various chemos, principaly Cytoxin and later, Revlimid, a stem cell transplant, and I.V. Zometa 3mg once a month, I am in remission. I stand up straight, can walk with no problem, have never been sick or had any other side effects. I'm no longer anemic. You would not know I ever had a medial problem unless I told you.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mike | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
2/7/2017
Condition: Lesions in the Bone of the Disease Multiple Myeloma
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Has destroyed my right lower jaw due to the acid in it Has anyone else experienced these side effects

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mtp04 | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/12/2016
Condition: Lesions in the Bone of the Disease Multiple Myeloma
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had three infusions to date and no side-effects. It is spread over 30 minutes. No issues.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
zometa | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
4/25/2015
Condition: Increased Calcium in the Blood from Cancer
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Flu symptoms and very tired for 5 to 7 days following each monthly treatment.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Robin | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/19/2014
Condition: Osteoporosis caused by Anti-Androgen Drugs
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I need zometa infusions 2 times/yr 4 the next 3 yrs to keep my bones strong & not to get osteoporosis. Had breast cancer 3 yrs ago & need to take Arimidex (estrogen blocker)for 5 yrs as it can cause 10% bone loss. First infusion was 2 months ago. Had slight leg cramps 2 days after infusion nothing further. This has been good to me. Prepping for infusion is critical for minimum SE of infusion! 8-10 glasses of water for 3 full days before infusion and 2 days after. Be proactive & do your research so u know what to expect. Ask drs. lots of questions. I get info from nurses that do the infusions. These people know best not all these sites online. I want others to know most reviews are people unhappy with results & I'm hear to say, trust your Dr. & if you don't have 100% confidence in them, find a Dr. You do; it means everything in your fight to keep surviving!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ann | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
7/13/2014
Condition: Osteoporosis
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had extreme bone pain after the last infusion.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
James | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
6/24/2014
Condition: Cancer that has Spread To the Bone From Solid Tumors
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been on monthly IV infusions of Zometa since diagnosis 18 months ago. No noticeable side effects except a bit of fatigue the first few months - perhaps due to starting other edications at the same time. No pain whatsoever and still able to exercise 4 km. / day on the treadmill! No complaints whatsoever about this medication.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
BERNADINE38 | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/7/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

SO FAR I GET INFUSIONS EVERY 4 WEEKS IT HAS ONLY BEEN 3 MONTHS BUT MY NUMBERS SEEM TO BE GETTING BETTER

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
antizometa | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/2/2014
Condition: Cancer that has Spread To the Bone From Solid Tumors
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I hate this medicine. I had 2 treatments with flu like symptoms both times for 4 days. That stunk but I got through it. Now I have lost all feeling in my fingertips and have pressed nerve pain in both arms. Cannot hold even small items. Spilling and dropping everything.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DebbieWong | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month |
5/23/2014
Condition: Cancer that has Spread To the Bone From Solid Tumors
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My father is in the emergency room due to this drug. He has no hand or arm function below his elbow. He can even feed himself. This drug is scary.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/16/2014
Condition: Cancer that has Spread To the Bone From Solid Tumors
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had one treatment of Zometa infusion, and I have been sick for 6 days from it. It obviously is much more powerful than I was led to believe. I think the doctor should have given me more information before dispensing this.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More