Show ratings & reviews for

3.5 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

15 People found this comment helpful

for years I have suffered from the feeling of fluid and pressure in my ears and head. I had vertigo and nausea. I went to the dr & the ENT and the allergist none of them could tell me what it was or how to deal with it. I even work in a dr's office and all of their suggestions failed. I have tried many medicines none helped. This stuff cleared my head and relieved all of my symptoms. I wish I woul...

Most voted negative review

5 People found this comment helpful

This is my second try with this medication for severe congestion with a cold or sinus infection. Absolutely worthless! I have better results from eating Altoids candy and drinking hot tea than I do from this garbage, Sorry meth heads had to abuse a useful and inexpensive medicine and the government had to take it away, so now no one can access it without a doctor's permission.

Shared reviews and ratings

Marcella | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/6/2022
Condition: Stuffy Nose
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Finally something to clear my head

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Felix | 55-64 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
11/30/2018
Condition: Stuffy Nose
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Though the product works ,if you have sleep issues only take it in the mornings.i find I get stomach problems with wind. The product tends to dehydrate , so avoid coffee. I think I also had some heart palpitations ( I drink too much coffee).i think it works better than psudoephidryne during day.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
VictorLima | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/22/2018
Condition: Stuffy Nose
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

At the recommended dose, phenylephrine had absolutely no effect whatsoever.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/2/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I use this to help reduce and eliminate my Post Nasal drip that flares up when springs arrives. I experience no side effects but physically or mentally no matter what time I take the medication. I prefer this over benedryl or Claritin.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
runner1985 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/11/2017
Condition: Stuffy Nose
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Gave me nightmares when I took it at night. Taking it in the morning only reduced the frequency and severity of nightmares. Overall though, it didn't help with congestion anyways.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Advil Sinus | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/21/2016
Condition: Stuffy Nose
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

works great for couple of hours. Then symptoms return.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | Patient
4/25/2016
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Part of daytime cold and cough. Took for cough. I didn't have a runny nose... now I do. Thanks, phenylephrine! Side note, cough got worse due to the daytime cold and cough, but I cannot directly attribute it to phenylephrine. Runny nasal passages usually equate to more cough, so it's possibly phenylephrine's fault.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
hahan | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/7/2016
Condition: Stuffy Nose
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Doesn't do much.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
none | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/15/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Be careful of this medication/interactions with tylenol -- I took phenylephrine OTC 10mg to help with what I thought was post-nasal drip/irritated throat chronic condition. When was diagnosed with acid reflux and esophageal ulcer I realized the irritated throat was not the result of cold/allergies but instead due to acid reflux. So far so good == BUT GI doctor put me on tylenol instead of ibuprofen for unrelated arthritis to avoid problems with intestinal bleeding, and I continued to take phenylephrine a few times per week to help with throat issue until the acid reflux meds helped throat to heal. During that time I had horrible unexplained intermittent urinary irritation that I eventually realized was caused by the phenylephrine when taken with tylenol -- a very common combination. Read the literature on tylenol/aceteminophin and phenyleprine -- it is not good. The phenylephrine concentrations will spike due to tylenol causing extreme dryness and irritation of any mucous membranes -- hence the urinary irritation. BEWARE!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/13/2015
Condition: Stuffy Nose
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i took it for runny nose. very effective

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/1/2015
Condition: Stuffy Nose
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

So much better than other options over the counter. My heart doesn't race with phenylephrine. I recommend it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Male | Patient
3/6/2015
Condition: Stuffy Nose
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Made my anxiety and panic attacks worse. Switched to Pseudoephedrine and felt much better with no side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Flavio | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/13/2014
Condition: Stuffy Nose
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

When I was a child, I used to take Revenil Dospan whith the same active ingredient and I had nightmares for years. I have inadvertently taken phenylephrine and started to have vivid dreams very similar to the ones I had in childhood. You should consider this before allowing a child to take any medication with this active ingredient.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
nnn | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/17/2014
Condition: Stuffy Nose
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

No impact on my nasal congestion. I only take decogestants to decrease my risk of secondary infections (ear, sinus) and I feel just as congested as prior to taking this medicine. My ears do feel slightly clearer, so this may have had an impact there, although it could also be due to being in an upright posture at work. I wish I had pseudoephedrine with me at work instead of only phenylephrine hcl. Pseudoephederine is generally effective for me. I don't mind going to the pharmacy counter once every few years for an effective medicine that lets me work.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dalehdfl | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/24/2013
Condition: Stuffy Nose
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have not been sick in years. When I went to the store to buy what I had used before I was told that this new product was just as effective by a pharmacist. This information is totally false. I did not feel as if I had taken anything. Then I saw all the research out there stating that at the FDA dose this drug is just as effective as the placebo in drug trials. I am going back to a different pharmacy because I was told they keep the Pseudoephrine behind the pharmacy counter where I live. All this because they are afraid that the drug is going to be used to make meth. I understand the precautions but do not push an inferior product in its place hoping we will forget what actually works. If I remember correct, they use to use cocaine for this very same treatment. I believe FDR was pumped full of it before he gave the speech that led us in to WW 2. I am not asking for cocaine, just something that works and Phenylephrine HCL is not an effective treatment in the manner it is currently being used.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Trish | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/9/2013
Condition: Stuffy Nose
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Had a bad head cold with stuufed nose. Took the medicine in Codral Cold & Flu formula tablets. Total waste of time and money. Wish the old and highly effective pseudoephenedrine was still available as it enabled me to keep working.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dawithr52 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/2/2013
Condition: Stuffy Nose
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

For me I have been having problems with numbing feet, redness and hard time walking. A friend asked if I was talking anything different and that is when it clicked for 2 days I had taken this product and when I stopped I was back to normal. So I guess that was a reaction that it was doing to me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
looney | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/16/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

this medication did help to safe my life and now no more nose bleeds

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
pepsi | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
2/10/2013
Condition: Stuffy Nose
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking the CVS brand of this med for over a year. I am a 68 yr old female with stuffy nose, runny eyes, etc. due (I think) to allergies. I am afraid that I have become too dependant on it and also that it is causing me to have periodic loose bowels. So, am going off it cold turkey and see if I can feel better and have fewer tummy problems. I do have the sleeplessness and occasional racing heart rate, so it is good that I stop taking it. I buy kleenex by the case, so that will not change, but am hoping that other symptoms will disappear. Hope this has helped someone.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sunshine26 | 35-44 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
12/19/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been using phenylephrine/acetaminophen combo products for over 20 years for chronic sinus problems as well as Eustachian tube disfunction. I take only 1-3 pills total a day and it has been the only thing that helps me. I have tried to research long term side effects, but can't find any info on the topic. I have tried Sudafed in the past as well as nasal sprays all which caused very bad reactions, so I had to discontinue using them. Phenylephrine has been a god send for me and my condition.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More