Show ratings & reviews for

3.3 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

14 People found this comment helpful

Very effective,great feeling of well being lots of energy ,

Most voted negative review

5 People found this comment helpful

Is this stuff really made from killed e-coli virus and grown in Chinese hamster ovaries? Based on FDA warning and origin, this drug was refused by patient.

Shared reviews and ratings

BJ | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
4/26/2015
Condition: Anemia due to Kidney Failure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Lost R kidney to CA - few years later - depressed by Constant fatigue - poor appetite - nephrologist put me on Aransep shots as lack of R blood cells - HGB - below between 10 & 11 After 1 yr & 1/2 stabilized in the 12s Fantastic difference in my total wellbeing. Depression when lower than 12 is, very depressing! (Pun)

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tonya | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
4/25/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My husband has Myelofibrosis. It is a rare kind of leukemia. He is given this to help with the cancer anemia. It has helped his HGB stay above the level of transfusion. Transfusions are part of this cancer's progression.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mandj | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
7/13/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Father (88 yrs old) has aplastic anemia. Has been on aranesp a few months now. Started at 60mcg...now up to 200mcg twice a month. Working well keeping up the red blood cell count. Before, he needed transfusion every six weeks... now it's already been almost 20 weeks since the last transfusion.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
leoneskie | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
5/4/2012
Condition: Anemia due to Kidney Failure
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Is this stuff really made from killed e-coli virus and grown in Chinese hamster ovaries? Based on FDA warning and origin, this drug was refused by patient.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
hilger123 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/17/2012
Condition: Anemia due to Kidney Failure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Very effective,great feeling of well being lots of energy ,

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Annandale MN | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/24/2012
Condition: Anemia due to Kidney Failure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Shots given regularly at first, now intermittently. Feel out of it the first couple days following, but then better.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ande | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
11/22/2011
Condition: Anemia due to Kidney Failure
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I feel so much better a few days after my shot. I can tell when i need one because I get very tired .

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Califcurley | 75 or over | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/31/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Just had shot 3 of 4. so far so good.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/30/2011
Condition: Anemia from Chemotherapy
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
[email protected] | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
12/22/2010
Condition: Anemia due to Kidney Failure
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have my blood drawn every two weeks with a standing order. My doctor keeps me between 11 and 12 g/dl. Currently I am taking 40 mcl (?)every 16 to 28 days injections. After my blood is drawn it is reviewed at the doctor's office and if it falls below, like 11.1, I receive a telephone call to come in for the shot.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
CBC | 75 or over | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/19/2010
Condition: Anemia due to Kidney Failure
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/27/2010
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have just received this shot Friday, & already hate it! I was good Friday, then on Saturday I woke up wit a massive migraine that I still have & it's now Sunday. I've taking migraine meds & nothing seems to work. I'm still very tired. I need to take this or since my iron is so low I would need a blood transfusion & I'm not doing that! This shot was my only choice. Luckily, I only need it every 2 weeks.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MARIE | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/19/2010
Condition: Anemia due to Kidney Failure
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I HAD ONE SHOT OF THIS MED. AND I FEEL TERRIBLE I FEEL LIKE I HAVE HAD THE FLU FOR THE LAST 2 WEEKS. SHOULD RETURN TO TAKING THE EPOGEM THAT I HAVE TAKEN FOR MORE THAN 5 YEARS WITH OUT ANY PROBLEMS? THANK YOU, MARIE

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ginger | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/14/2010
Condition: Anemia due to Kidney Failure
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

New to this drug

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
wmlvng234 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
1/7/2010
Condition: Anemia due to Kidney Failure
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I think I feel a little better.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
12/27/2009
Condition: Anemia from Chemotherapy
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Three years bi-weekly injections have NOT improved WBC, RBC or hemoglobin. I intend to discontinue injections. Family physician says if I do not see improvement, discontine. Very expensive snake oil. Thank you. R. Smith

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
cindyfinel | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
10/30/2009
Condition: Anemia due to Kidney Failure
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
[email protected] | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/20/2009
Condition: Anemia due to Kidney Failure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After 6 bi-weekly injections due to kidney problems, doctor canceled the injections and my red blood count has dropped 12 points during the next 2 weeks

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Amethyst | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/2/2009
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have MDS. I take the injections every 2 weeks. The dosage is 200mcg. It elevates my blood count and I feel so much better for several days. I have more energy. I wish that I could monitor my blood count in the same way that a diabetic is able to do at home. I don't think I would be able to keep working if I did not have the Aranesp because I get so tired without it. I do have some aching in my bones for a day or two after each dose, but it is minor compared to the problem of fatigue.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
9/24/2009
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

unclealmale74 been using this drug for a couple of years now seems to be working ok. have the injection every week 200mcg.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More