Show ratings & reviews for

2.8 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

6 People found this comment helpful

I'm going to give it to your straight! Due to this being a one day treatment, the medicine is MUCH stronger than the three-seven day creams. Therefore, you will experience some major burning sensation, mild itching and some serious leakage. I inserted the oval four hours ago and i'm experience mild burning and the leakage is something serious, so ensure you're wearing some old panties and conforma...

Most voted negative review

2 People found this comment helpful

3 weeks ago I purchased the Monistat 1 Day due for symptoms of a yeast infection. I inserted the medicine and used the external cream and decided to take a nap. When I woke up, my insides were on fire. I couldn’t close my legs; there was an intense burning sensation when I urinated. It was very difficult to wash; mild soap and water caused my genitals to burn. I made an emergency called my physici...

Shared reviews and ratings

Devil egg | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/1/2021
Condition: Yeast Infection of Vagina and Vulva
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm on hour 4 after the devil egg. I'm reading reviews while trying to "push" this thing out of me like it's a tiny demon. I'm glad I took Tylenol and i.b. profen when I did the treatment, It might be the only reason I'm even remotely sane. I have eczema and I'm now worried that I have fried my insides with this...thing. I'm not going to be able to sleep, not possible. They need to make saline vagina popsicle for post treatment pain. Its only hour 4, we will see if it was worth it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dom | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/10/2021
Condition: Yeast Infection of Vagina and Vulva
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was lost at the beginning. Once I applied the cream, Immediately I felt the burning and itchiness. Then started reading the reviews. I'm glad I didn't read the reviews first. Overall it wasn't that bad to where I couldn't handle it. I applied it before bed and slep threw the burning and itchiness. Woke up itchiness was gone just a minor burning. Didn't burn when I used bathroom and not alot of leaking. I would definitely use it again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kimoz | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/31/2021
Condition: Yeast Infection of Vagina and Vulva
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Horrific experience with this medication - I ended up in the ER of our city's Women's Hospital in excruciating agony. After about an hour I started experiencing severe burning inside, I couldn't sit, urinate, I tried showering to douche & wash it out & ended up screaming & crying down the phone to my partner who rushed home from work & took me to the ER where they had to flush it out of me. Never would I recommend this. I've used Canesten since with no issues.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
OWIE | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/28/2021
Condition: Yeast Infection of Vagina and Vulva
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Holy moly, just go for the Diflucan if you are able to! I tried this little devil egg from hell out to avoid a dr. appt. and regretted it so hard! I read the reviews after inserting and prayed that I wouldn't have a negative experience such as the many I read. Wow, I have never wanted to shove an ice cube up my vajay-jay so bad in my life. Inserted around 11:00pm, awake at 1:00am for an hour of what can only be described as some sort of sick torture. I literally felt like a fire breathing dragon took residence in my lady bits after eating a carolina reaper pepper, followed by flaming hot cheetos. I literally spent an hour trying to wash this nightmare out. AVOID AT ALL COSTS!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Elaine | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/19/2021
Condition: Yeast Infection of Vagina and Vulva
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Seen many bad reviews of this product before I used it and was debating on getting a different brand but I decided to try it and I’m glad I did I had no burning from this product and only the itching I already had from the yeast infection woke up the next day and have not had itching since! Of course everybody’s body will react differently but I will for sure use this again if needed! Just make sure to wear a pad once you’ve inserted it

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sampagnello | 19-24 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/8/2021
Condition: Yeast Infection of Vagina and Vulva
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

okay so i read the horror stories of this product unfortunately after i took it. but this was my first severe yeast infection. and i went with monistat 1. my symptoms seemed to not be lessened or worsened. there was slight â??burningâ? felt more like it was warm down there. nothing that was unbearable. that was in the first 3 hours of taking it. the itching was still very prominent, even with the itching cream. iâ??m now about 12 hours in and it does burn when i pee (didnâ??t have this symptom before taking this product) but i think itâ??s from itching and it irritating it, which is making it burn while peeing. my swelling and redness has went down A LOT. i suggest taking it during the day (thatâ??s when i had the most leakage and discharge) and not wearing underwear to bed so your kitty can breathe (which will help your yeast infection a ton from what i read) the itching only makes it self known... when i wipe. but other than that, if i donâ??t touch down there, i have no itching. i recommend this product! and iâ??m almost into my second day with it! my yeast infection has improved! fingers crossed for the remaining 6 days! good luck! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ema | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/29/2020
Condition: Yeast Infection of Vagina and Vulva
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Horrible. Zero effect, waste of money. I do not recommend this product at all.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
batgirl | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/10/2020
Condition: Yeast Infection of Vagina and Vulva
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

DO NOT USE...It made my yeast infection SO much worse. Had to visit OBGYN who told me that this product should not be on the market...it is advertised as easy to use when in reality is a terrible product and does not effectively treat yeast infections. STAY AWAY

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
letsbakealoaf | 25-34 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/15/2020
Condition: Yeast Infection of Vagina and Vulva
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

So, there I laid half naked on the bed with my cuca out, freshly egged and creamed. Thatâ??s when I decided to read the reviews. As I began to panic believing I had just inserted a hot lava egg, I started to prepare myself for the worst. Being that Iâ??m a busy individual, I had to work 2 hours after I had taken the treatment. Nothing some old undies and a panty liner couldnâ??t handle for the leakage. And as far a burning? Well nothing happened. I felt great the next day. I will say that my infection had been caused by taking an antibiotic, and I had originally taken AZO to treat what I thought had been a UTI. I had also been taking probiotics daily throughout the course of my treatment. Not sure if that may have helped with the Monistat. But overall Iâ??m satisfied. I think reading the reviews was the scariest part of my experience. Clearly not everyone has had good luck with this, but I am genuinely happy with the product. Good luck everyone! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/9/2019
Condition: Yeast Infection of Vagina and Vulva
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm really, really surprised that the Monistat 1 treatment actually worked so well for me. Usually I'm the one writing reviews about my skin burning (my skin and--ahem--delicate parts are incredibly sensitive to just about everything). I know if I'd read the reviews before I bought it, I'd never have tried it. My symptoms started Friday evening (after my doctor's office had closed for the weekend! Horrible timing!), and I was kind of excited that an OTC option was available. The itching and burning was awful, and I couldn't stand the yeasty smell. When I got home, I read and followed the instructions and was surprised at how easy it was (I'm usually a bit clumsy and half expected that I'd somehow manage to shoot the weird mini egg shaped thing across the room with the applicator). After disposing of the applicator, I applied the cream and sat back to see if there would be any difference or discomfort. It didn't take long for the insert to dissolve (and there's only one direction for it to come out so be prepared for a flushing feeling), and once it did, I actually felt less itchy and uncomfortable. A few hours later when I went to the bathroom, I was way too ecstatic that the yeast smell had gone almost completely (seriously, it's embarrassing how excited I was). By the next day, I didn't have any discharge or yeast smell, and over the next two days my symptoms continued to improve. By the fourth day the burning was gone, and (though I wish it went away a little faster!) the itching stopped a day or so after that. The cream was definitely helpful throughout, but it didn't always take all of the itching away. Again, it's kind of a surprise for me that it actually worked and didn't hurt, which I think is why I wanted to share my experience. Even though I'm very happy with the product, I think every woman's body is different. If you have any doubts, definitely talk to your doctor first! :)Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
monistat-1st-time | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/14/2019
Condition: Yeast Infection of Vagina and Vulva
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took about 36 hours (1.5 days) before I felt any healing start, but it worked great in the end! By 2.5 days in, I was feeling 90% better, but still needed to use cream for minor symptoms like sensitivity and mild itch. Fast forward to the 6-day mark, I no longer have discharge. So, the instructions say 3-7 days: that’s true to what I experienced. If you want to read more of a breakdown, here it is. On the first day, I put the ovule in before bed and used the external cream; slept fine; the next morning was difficult. Almost felt like I couldn’t go to work, the irritated, raw, sometimes burning feeling was so uncomfortable. I wanted to whimper every time I shifted in my chair. However, I had enough to manage the symptoms. I used pads and pantyliners, cotton brief undies (put away my thongs!), and plenty of cream to help the external irritation. I “changed” myself each time I used the bathroom (washed my hands like crazy) and made it through one tough day at work. Continued to see a lot of discharge until almost 3 days in, and then it decreased steadily until going away around the 6-day mark. Also, I don’t recommend anything sexual until you’ve gone at least a full week; your area is still sensitive and could easily get reinfected. Just a caution!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
greensarah | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/29/2017
Condition: Yeast Infection of Vagina and Vulva
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm going to give it to your straight! Due to this being a one day treatment, the medicine is MUCH stronger than the three-seven day creams. Therefore, you will experience some major burning sensation, mild itching and some serious leakage. I inserted the oval four hours ago and i'm experience mild burning and the leakage is something serious, so ensure you're wearing some old panties and conformable bottoms. If you're able to sustain the burning you'll be fine.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
justme | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/7/2016
Condition: Yeast Infection of Vagina and Vulva
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have not experienced any burning as others stated. However The first few hours itch seemed worst but by the next day a lot better. Problem is - three days later and I am still having symptoms of yeast infecton. yes I an sure that is what I have - 3 rounds of antibiotics and bam!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
1/18/2016
Condition: Yeast Infection of Vagina and Vulva
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I HAVE USED M0NISTAT1 COMBO PACK 3 TIMES IN THE LAST 5 YEARS FOR YEAST INFECTIONS AND HAVE ALWAYS HAD IMMEDIATE RELIEF. MUCH MORE CONVENIENT THAN THE 3 AND 7 DAY APPLICATIONS.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Abuck | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/29/2014
Condition: Yeast Infection of Vagina and Vulva
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I did not have the initial reactions many others have had. I had relief- but here I am about 3 days later and headed back to the store for gynelotrimin. I will NOT use this product again as it is ineffective.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/17/2014
Condition: Yeast Infection of Vagina and Vulva
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Choosing the 1 day treatment for convenience turned out to be a BIG MISTAKE! At first the YI seemed to clear up but on day 3 I started feeling sick (sore throat, generally malaise) and the burning seemed to have come back. On day 5 I woke with my heart racing and found that I had a full on rash on my arms, chest, face, and some on my stomach. Immediately took some Benadryl which helped but I had to continue taking for the next two days. Full on diarrhea also started on day 5 and today, on day 7, is still holding on along with occasional mild cramps. Rash and burning down there has cleared. This is clearly too strong. I used the 7 day version many years ago with no problems.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Avery | 13-18 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/22/2014
Condition: Yeast Infection of Vagina and Vulva
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I found that I had ALL the symptoms of a yeast infection and went over to the store to grab a monistat 1, after inserting it I felt absolutely nothing. I currently have a small stinging sensation down there but nothing as major as some if the other reviews. still waiting to see how this all turns out but the cream doesn't seem to work to well.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DEE | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/14/2014
Condition: Yeast Infection of Vagina and Vulva
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

OMG, I WISH I WOULD HAVE THESE REVIEWS FIRST. MY VAGINA FEEL LIKE FIREWORKS ARE EXPLODING IN THE INSIDE. I DO NOT RECOMMEND THE USE OF THIS PRODUCT. I AM USING COLD TOWEL NOW TO CUT DOWN ON THE ITCHING. I WIPED AS MUCH OF IT OUT AS I COULD, BUT A COOL BATH IS ON THE WAY. I CAN ATTEST THAT THIS PRODUCT MADE ME WORST.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | Patient
1/26/2014
Condition: Yeast Infection of Vagina and Vulva
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

after taking 10 days of antibiotics I came up with a yeast infection. sigh! Tried the monistat 1, had more horrible symptoms than I had before. calling doctor in the am.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
follow ur 1st mind | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month |
12/21/2013
Condition: Yeast Infection of Vagina and Vulva
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Monistat 1made it WORST. It burned my vagina and clitoris..my 1st mind told me to use the 7 day treatment..as u c I didnt. I ended up using the 7 day the 3rd day after the 1 day treatment. .1st day of using the 7 day treatment, vagina feels terrific. .6 days left..going to Dr. for a follow up after treatment. Lady's use the 7 day for full treatment. Had I read the reviews for Mon 1, I would have NEVER use it. Nothing that is sold OCT can clear anything in one day, it will take several treatments not oneRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More