Show ratings & reviews for

4.7 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

27 People found this comment helpful

MSM is a wonderful natural supplement that has changed my life. I have arthritis in my knees and back and recently developed arthritis in my hands. I take 2 1000mg 3 times a day and do not have to take any other pain medications. I am an artist and was starting to get depressed about my condition and after taking this on a regular basis my condition improved dramatically. I recommend this over...

Most voted negative review

9 People found this comment helpful

My mother has a rare blood disease, ITP. She took this drug and it almost killed her. It poisoned her liver and she dropped to a palatelet count of 0. If anyone has a weakened liver, blood disorder, etc.. DO NOT USE THIS DRUG. Please note the allergic reactions chart on Web MD. Severe means death. PLEASE PLEASE do not take this treatment. The promise of pain relief vs eternal rest is not worth i...

Shared reviews and ratings

Kel | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
8/26/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have sarcoidosis of the lungs. My previous doctor recommended steroids to reduce the inflammation. I did my research and decided to try msm. Within weeks I felt better and was breathing a lot better. Due to the msm I've been in remission for over 5 years. This is a miracle supplement.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JUNGER | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/21/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

BEEN TAKING MSM BULK FOR ABOUT 6 MONTHS FOR ARTHRITIS AND I AM 75 IT IS A MIRACLE!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
LynnBOSTON | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/2/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have both osteo and rheumatoid arthritis and my rheumatologist is VERY careful with my meds (take RX Methatrexete, prednisone, folic acid) and "approved" supplements and MSM was a no-brainer for him. I take 9-12 grams/day and please disregard the woman who commented on liver dangers. My liver phosphates are tested monthly and they are fine.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
soycoffee | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
10/14/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have pain due to an asymmetrical pelvic fracture -- which put everything else "out of joint." About 1 1/2 years ago, I tried MSM capsules from Jarrow. I researched the use of MSM -- there's not much information -- and found that there is no apparent upper limit to dosage. Right now I take six capsules at bedtime, and sometimes six in the morning. If for some reason the pain is greater, I will take increases of four to six capsules a day. It leaves me clear-headed and not dopey, a little calmer, and it's easier to dose if I want, but for a very short time. No apparent side effects. My blood pressure is low, heart arrhythmias under control with Diltiazem (Cardizem). I do have neuropathy from Sjögren's syndrome, and take massive amounts of Vitamin B-12 as sublingual tablets, which controls the neuropathy and pain from neuropathy.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
BostonBill | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/3/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm a 46 year old man with no history of aches and pains. But 2-1/2 months ago, I started having nearly constant and shifting pain in neck / shoulders / upper back. I wasn't sure if it was joint, muscle, or both. After starting MSM (first 1500 mg), the pain has gone away, and has stayed away for weeks. I find 3 grams a day, over 2 doses, works best. I'm amazed at the difference MSM makes.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/3/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been working for a major supplement co. for nearly 18 year. I have been recommending MSM for my customers with joint and back pain for most of that time. I get a lot of good feedback and I use it myself. I highly recommend you try it if you have joint pain or inflammation. Be sure and take enough to make it work. I usually take 2000mgs at a time and you could do that 3 times a day without any side effects. MSM is also good for your immune system and stomach.....Good Stuff.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/27/2010
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had moderate rheumatoid arthritis for 18 months. In addition to several other prescription drugs, I've tried various combinations of methotrexate, prednisone and naproxen. I'm now, with my doctor's knowledge, weaning myself off of all medications. I've been able to eliminate almost all effects of RA including joint pain and fatigue and return to a 98% normal life as the result of MSM. There appear to be no side effects. I take 1 teaspoon of MSM powder in a beverage 3x per day. This is 12 grams. This is an amazing nutritional supplement that's inexpensive and very effective for me. I learned about this from a family member not by doctor. I've gone from having difficulty walking and dressing to biking 10 to 15 miles per day.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
delta lima charlie | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/8/2009
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have used MSM alone and with Glucosamine intermittently for the last 22 years without any adverse reaction. It has provided me with relief from knee, back and hip pain on three separate occasions. When the pain subsides completely I discontinue use of the supplement. I purchase the supplement only from reputable providers who have been in business for a long period of time.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
6/8/2009
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My mother has a rare blood disease, ITP. She took this drug and it almost killed her. It poisoned her liver and she dropped to a palatelet count of 0. If anyone has a weakened liver, blood disorder, etc.. DO NOT USE THIS DRUG. Please note the allergic reactions chart on Web MD. Severe means death. PLEASE PLEASE do not take this treatment. The promise of pain relief vs eternal rest is not worth it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
philaphlash | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
2/3/2009
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am a woman over 60 yrs old. I have worked all my life and for the past 20 years have suffered from fibromyaligia and severe joint pain. My doc prescdribed vioxx, celebrex and aleve, which left me with nasty side effects. Since finding MSM and using it for the past six months, I have had none to very little joint paint and the fibromyalgia is GONE.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/24/2009
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had horrible pain in my knee due to a torn miniscus. Walking, driving, even laying down caused me great pain. I tried physical therapy, iceing my knee and constant use of Tylenol to no avail. I am allergic to aspirin and got no relief from Glucosamine/Chondroitin. I started taking 1500mg 2X day and got total and blessed relief from my pain. After a year I cut back to taking only one capsule in the morning and I am still pain free. I find this a miracle supplement given my limited choice of pain killers.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
LaMissa | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/15/2008
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

MSM is a wonderful natural supplement that has changed my life. I have arthritis in my knees and back and recently developed arthritis in my hands. I take 2 1000mg 3 times a day and do not have to take any other pain medications. I am an artist and was starting to get depressed about my condition and after taking this on a regular basis my condition improved dramatically. I recommend this over Celebrex, tylenol, advil, aspirin any day.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More