Show ratings & reviews for

3.2 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

7 People found this comment helpful

I have asthma and chronic brinchitis. Allergic to many antibiotics and often have trouble finding antibiotic that will work. This drug was new, Im not allergic to it, and within 2 doses I felt so much better it was like "waking up." Highly recommend if you tend to have chronic infections.

Most voted negative review

1 People found this comment helpful

Within a few days I broke out into hives and itchiness all over. No relief, never have been allergic to anything with penicillin. Be Careful, unable to sleep due to the rash-just awful ever after I stopped taking it!!!

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | Patient
3/3/2014
Condition: Bacterial Infection with Chronic Bronchitis
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Still running fever and can not tell anything is getting better.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
tex | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/21/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had a sinus infection and was given this medication in 2009. Within 3 days I was in the hospital with colitis. The colitis was caused by this medication killing all my good bacteria. A year later the ulcerative colits turned into Pancolitis. This is effects my whole colon area now. I will be on my medication for the rest of my life for this and required to have colonoscopy ever 2-3 yrs. It's a very extreme case.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lenny | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/18/2013
Condition: Bacterial Infection with Chronic Bronchitis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've used Spectracef 3 times for Sinus and Ear Infections and couldn't be happier with my results. No side effects and felt great 3 days after starting. I highly recommend this medication.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
roccodh | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/5/2012
Condition: Pneumonia caused by Bacteria
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Doctor prescribed to treat strep/community acquired pneumonia.400 mg 1/a day for two weeks Nasty headaches all the way to my back and Face flushing and warmth which is annoying. Looks like it worked though.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kim | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/16/2010
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed Spectracef for 30 days for a persistent sinus infection that other antibiotics couldn't cure. I took it for 12 days then started to have the most horrific diarrhea I've ever had. Turns out I had clostridium difficile. Unless you know for a fact that you don't have c. diff, this should be a drug of last resort - as it was for me. It improved my sinuses but I wouldn't say they are cured.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous |
3/7/2010
Condition: Strep Throat and Tonsillitis
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

it works fine for what i have. it's hard to get "reviews' for drugs since everyone's health is different. works for me tho

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Clyde | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/23/2010
Condition: Bacterial Infection with Chronic Bronchitis
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Dr. prescribed Spectracef for acute bacterial bronchitis. On the 3rd day broke out in severe rash all over my body. Dr. said stop taking Spectracef immediately. Switched to Livaquin.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/13/2009
Condition: Bacterial Infection with Chronic Bronchitis
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have asthma and chronic brinchitis. Allergic to many antibiotics and often have trouble finding antibiotic that will work. This drug was new, Im not allergic to it, and within 2 doses I felt so much better it was like "waking up." Highly recommend if you tend to have chronic infections.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/20/2009
Condition: Strep Throat and Tonsillitis
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

it kills all bacteria in your body so expect some diarrhea or a yeast infection

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/9/2009
Condition: Bacterial Infection with Chronic Bronchitis
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication upset my stomach very badly. It worked as far as the infection goes but I could not stay out of the bathroom.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jt676 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/2/2009
Condition: Bacterial Infection with Chronic Bronchitis
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

this medication did not work for me and i had awful side effects, i stayed flushed everytime i took it!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anne Seymour | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/21/2009
Condition: Pneumonia caused by Bacteria
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Very easy to use and started feeling better within three doses. Very strong though...make sure you eat something with it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous |
12/9/2008
Condition: Bacterial Infection with Chronic Bronchitis
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/19/2008
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Within a few days I broke out into hives and itchiness all over. No relief, never have been allergic to anything with penicillin. Be Careful, unable to sleep due to the rash-just awful ever after I stopped taking it!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/8/2008
Condition: Strep Throat
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sensitivity | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/28/2008
Condition: Strep Throat
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

When prescribed this drug, I experienced severe stomache ache/pains and severe vomiting. I also broke out 1 day later in a tramatic case of hives all over my body. Do not recommend!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
gemthing | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/28/2008
Condition: Bacterial Infection with Chronic Bronchitis
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More