Show ratings & reviews for

3.3 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

12 People found this comment helpful

My son takes 10mgs in morning,and 2.5 at lunch.He is a straight A student and his focus on school has only gotten better! without the meds, he is uncontrollable!

Shared reviews and ratings

cskelton1984 | 25-34 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/15/2018
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm on a combo of Bupropion for ADHD, anxiety, and depression. The Bupropion was somewhat ineffective for ADHD, but helped with the anxiety and depression, so we added focalin/dexmethylphenidate. I am still taking 300mg Bupropion XL and added 10mg dexmethylphenidate er. I am very happy with the results. I feel more focused, have a much greater attention to detail, I am more aware of my surroundings (due to less daydreaming), just overall almost off my ADHD symptoms are significantly reduced. I experienced a very mild headache the first couple of days as well as extreme sleepiness in the afternoon, but a week later, those side effects have subsided. The first couple of days I also felt like I was at a loss of words, like I couldn't form coherent sentences and spoke sort of robotic, that also went away. My only issue is that it's going to be a pain to refill, since it's a controlled drug. It's also not in stock at most pharmacies, so I either have to ask around before my doctor fills it, or wait. Kind of a pain, but worth it in the end.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bobby64 | 25-34 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/19/2016
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My psychiatrist gave this to me for my depression to work in tandem with the medicine Brintellix and Lamotrigine. Although those medicines have given me genuine emotion back, I still feel tired most of the time even with a healthy diet, regular exercise, and consistent sleep schedule. We hoped this would give me energy. It did give me a little more energy for working, but I felt emotionless, thus negating the positive effects of my antidepressants, so it wasn’t right for me. Also, the vivid dreams I had while on the medication were sometimes unpleasant.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dee1974 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Caregiver
11/23/2015
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Mother of 2 boys on Focolin XR ages 11 & 8. This med has helped both boys focus and seems to be very effective.Both boys began on brand name focolin and had few side effects, 8 yo seemed to chew on things alot such as bottle tops etc, the 11 yo had bouts of loss of appetite. No other side effects boys only took meds during school hours, no weekends or summer and breaks from school. Teachers saw drastic improvement in both. Our family moved to another state and was prescribed the generic form both boys had severe side effects had to discontinue med. Will request ONLY brand name from now on, no generic substitutes. My rating above is based on focolin xr NOT generic form of dexmethyphenidate hcl, I rate generic as 0.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
NEBeachBum | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/16/2015
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am a 19 year old female that has been prescribed every ADHD med there is on the market, I am not kidding. Focalin/dexmethylphenidate is really the last one we hadn't tried. It's potentcy is double the strength of Ritalin and Methylin. Which was the last med I was prescribed before making the switch to the generic Focalin. The FDA suggested max dose is 20mg daily, due to the severity of my ADHD, my doctor has me on 35mg a day. I do not feel anxious and get headaches as other users have noticed from when they take it. I can't say the medicine makes me feel depressed because I also have a mood disorder, in which I take medication for as well. I am very please with how Focalin has helped me, in the classroom, at my job, and just in my everyday life. I notice that I am able to sit and focus on one task for as long as I need to and can sit still in my classes without feeling jittery or the need to talk to others around me. At work, I noticed that I can sit at my cubicle all shift and my mind doesn't wander off to "la la land" as my mom calls it. Overall, I am pleased with Focalin. The 2 side effects I notice are loss of appetite and loss of sleep, but those 2 side effects have effected me with literally EVERY other ADHD med as well. I've been taking Focalin for almost 3 years, and will mostly have to be on the medication the rest of my life. Focalin has been the most effective med for treating my case of ADHDRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kmc1968 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/2/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have Multiple Sclerosis which cause EXTREME FATIGUE-I was put on this medication to give me energy-I was supposed to take 2.5mg twice a day. Day 1 I took a pill early in the am and I felt like I was flying high on speed and my heart/chest felt "stressed" so I did not take the 2nd does-in fact by 2pm I had to take a valium to "come down"! Day 2 I took 1/2 a pill early in the am yet still had the side effects of day one. Needless to say I stopped taking it!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
AmazingMed | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Caregiver
4/24/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My 10 year old daughter started taking Focalin in 2nd grade when she was 7. Her ADD had gotten so bad that her teacher & I couldn't get her to do anything. We were both at wits end. The moment she started taking Focalin she was like a different person. Ever since then she has been a straight A student & voracious reader. It made me realize that a lot of what seemed like willful behavior was not. We tried Ritalin, Adderall, & Vyvanse in an effort to get the best results & fewest side effects. Focalin was the only thing that worked miracles. She was virtually comatose on Vyvanse. Between 2nd & 5th grade she went from 5mg XR to 30mg XR. By 5th grade she was at the maximum dose for her size but still had trouble getting homework done & sleeping & eating. Over Spring Break, in an effort to get her to eat, I gave her 10mg short acting Focalin instead of the 30mg XR. When she started back to school we changed her to 10mg in the morning & 10mg after lunch. WOW, what a difference! Now she sleeps better, eats better & comes home with virtually no no homework. Best of all, she is so much happier. School is no longer a burden. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
4/23/2012
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am able to focus a lot better in school, however the side effects really suck. On this drug I have gone from C's to A's and B's. The side effects that suck personally for me are the stomach cramps and mood swings. When I take the pill I feel like a zombie all day and I'm not very nice to be around. But perhaps results vary from person to person.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
9/1/2009
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My son started taking this medication when he was 7 years old for ADD, his phycologist said he wasn't focusing on anything that they would talk about and she also said he was bipolar and had mild depression. She put him on the generic Focalin, he took this medication for a few weeks and he slowed down everything he did like he was in slow motion. It would take him longer to do simple things, like when eating he would still be setting at the table and the rest of the family had finished eating and it looked like he just started eating and we started like 20 minutes earlier. To eat a regular size bowl of cereal it would take him 30 to 40 minutes. It was like he was so high off the meds he couldn't do anything the way he did before taking the medicine. They also put him on bipolar pills (Abifly, don't know correct spelling) which made him high also. My son is now 9 years old and hasn't taken the meds in 2 years and is back to his old self, this drug may work well for others but not my child. I don't thing that my son id depressed or bipolar, but yes he does have ADD.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dj | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/31/2008
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i have been taking focalin for a few years and liked it. i changed to the generic brand to save money, but it does not do a thing for me, but give me headaches.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mom of two | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
10/21/2008
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My daughter was prescribed this drug. She took it for two weeks and had two massive seizures, requiring CAT scans, an MRI and EEG. She is 20 years old.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Caregiver
8/8/2008
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My son takes 10mgs in morning,and 2.5 at lunch.He is a straight A student and his focus on school has only gotten better! without the meds, he is uncontrollable!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mcc2tnc | 13-18 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/16/2007
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More